Customer Reviews for

The Sentinels: Fortunes of War

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

very good

Not the type of book I thought I would like, but it was excellant. Romance, suspension, intrique, history--keeps you going from page 1 Would highlyt recommend this book to anyone who likes a good spy novel

posted by BrutSB on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good for an excelled reader

Good plot and storyline. Zuckerman could have went into a bit more detail and explanation in some areas; as I felt he left it to the reader to fill in the blanks. If you are a good reader, you could make sense of what happened where info was missing, but it would have...
Good plot and storyline. Zuckerman could have went into a bit more detail and explanation in some areas; as I felt he left it to the reader to fill in the blanks. If you are a good reader, you could make sense of what happened where info was missing, but it would have been more enjoyable if the writer provided the information so the reader could stay enthralled rather than trying to find missing pieces. With a bit more organization and expansion in writing, this could have been an excellent war time espionage novel.

posted by Colleen08 on November 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    very good

    Not the type of book I thought I would like, but it was excellant. Romance, suspension, intrique, history--keeps you going from page 1
    Would highlyt recommend this book to anyone who likes a good spy novel

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    interesting

    Another historical novel with a twist: "The Sentinels: Fortunes of War" by Gordon Zuckerman Is set in WWII where six economics doctoral students think they can explain and predict the rise and fall of world powers. What they do discover is that German industrialists are pushing Europe towards war so that they can make millions of dollars in illegal war profits. The Sentinels devise a plan to stop this from happening, and visa versa. A little too detailed in the explanation of the inner workings of banking industry, but truly an interesting concept and thrilling story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Entertaining thriller

    An interesting concept is at the heart of this book; a group of highly intelligent, rich young professionals use their unique skills to bring WWII to an early close. Romance, international intrigue, danger, and insight into world banking make for a story that moves along at a fast pace. The characters were a little 2-dimensional, and the story a little predictable, and a little unbelievable - privilege gets you far, but only so far . . .but the story kept my interest to the conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Very Good

    It was not what I expected. Very good! Never looked at the war from this perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    recommended!

    I thought this was a pretty good book. I don't know how much "truth" there is in the story but it sure made for an interesting viewpoint of how money can influence political events. While this story taked place during WWII some ideas can be carried forward to today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    For those who enjoy WWII and Nazi stories. Timely considering the problems of our govenment today. I would definitely read another of this authors books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    I rarely DNF, but I couldn't read this.

    The plot and perspective sounded good. Very good. But the storytelling is nonexistent. All tell, no show. Characters are cardboard cutouts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Creative concept makes for interesting reading

    The concept of the Sentinels as a protector of humanity is a refreshing and hopeful view of young people of influence. This first book should make for some more enjoyable reading about modern history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1