Customer Reviews for

Serpent's Kiss (Beauchamp Family Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This book is as addicting as the first one. Readers will get a g

This book is as addicting as the first one. Readers will get a glimpse into the rest of the Beauchamp family, as well as gleaning a bit more info about the ins and outs of Norse mythology. The story is great fun and deals with some relevant issues, despite the witchy se...
This book is as addicting as the first one. Readers will get a glimpse into the rest of the Beauchamp family, as well as gleaning a bit more info about the ins and outs of Norse mythology. The story is great fun and deals with some relevant issues, despite the witchy setting. Even though these women are centuries old, they still have things to learn about life, love, and family. Cruz uses her gift of the paranormal to charm readers and ignite their imagination. This is a series that any paranormal fan can adore.

posted by Bwitchd3 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What I Liked: 1) I still like the setting of this one. The tiny

What I Liked: 1) I still like the setting of this one. The tiny hamlet of North Hampton makes me think of Stars Hollow (Gilmore Girls fans, anyone?) and I like the intimacy of it all. The small library where Ingrid works, and the local watering hole that Freya has made ...
What I Liked: 1) I still like the setting of this one. The tiny hamlet of North Hampton makes me think of Stars Hollow (Gilmore Girls fans, anyone?) and I like the intimacy of it all. The small library where Ingrid works, and the local watering hole that Freya has made her own. It was comforting to go back to this setting. 2) Freddie was a neat addition to the mix. Because he's been in Limbo for a while he doesn't really know how to handle himself in their world anymore. There is a huge different between his maturity level and Freya's even though they are twins. But he brings some more chaos to their lives, and made the story interesting. 3) New humor. There was a lot of humor injected into this book with the addition of the pixies. They brought some much needed warmth to the rest of the story.

What I Didn't Like: Unfortunately, this book fell into the Book 2 trappings that I've warned against before. It seemed like the whole book was just to get us from book one to book three, without much substance. I'm afraid had it not been for watching Freddie's character develop, and the pixies, there wouldn't have been much of anything. The other characters didn't really pull me in very much, and the plot was a little stagnated.

Overall Thoughts: Serpent's Kiss struck me as more of a transition than anything. The plot was a little stale, and character development came to a near halt, other than the new character of Freddie. There was a lot of redeeming bits of humor though, and I absolutely love this setting, so I'm not giving up on this series. I'll be hoping for more from the next book, The Winds of Salem, set to release in June 2013.

posted by FuzzyCoffeeBooks on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    This book is as addicting as the first one. Readers will get a g

    This book is as addicting as the first one. Readers will get a glimpse into the rest of the Beauchamp family, as well as gleaning a bit more info about the ins and outs of Norse mythology. The story is great fun and deals with some relevant issues, despite the witchy setting. Even though these women are centuries old, they still have things to learn about life, love, and family. Cruz uses her gift of the paranormal to charm readers and ignite their imagination. This is a series that any paranormal fan can adore.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This novel, Serpent's Kiss, was a great example of a sequel that

    This novel, Serpent's Kiss, was a great example of a sequel that pays homage to it's predecessor by being an additional piece of great work. I enjoyed the expansion of De La Cruz's universe that this novel gave, and the host of new characters that were brought into the picture and meat of the story. I felt ready for the third installation of this series before I even hit the last page, and by the final word I was sorry to have to put it down and wait till next June when 'Winds of Salem' is released. It was an engaging read, being told in the spirit of the first, from several different perspectives, all in the third person. I did feel like this book needed another two to three hundred pages to really satisfy my curiosity, and love of detail. Some things felt too rushed, or too brief, but the novel itself was considerably longer than the original, so I can only hope that the third will progress in page numbers also. I very much enjoyed all aspects of this book, and can recommend it and it's predecessor to anyone eighteen and up. While not explicit enough to be categorized as 'erotica', there are moments in these particular novels that I would withhold from younger readers. This series should be read in order, and for more light reading with great imagination in the De la Cruz style, one should read the Blue Bloods series, whose characters sometimes bump into our three new favorite Witches.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Melissa De La Cruz does it again !!!! This second book is as ama

    Melissa De La Cruz does it again !!!! This second book is as amazing as the first. With its mystery, magic and touch of romance and sex, you get sucked into this amazing story from the first page to the last page. There are so many twists and turns in this book and the Beauchamp's learn where there loyalty and love lie but finding the balance of staying true to theirselves and their hearts desires. This book is a must read and will keep any kind of reader interested. I absolutely cannot wait for the next book to come out !!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Fun read

    Great sequel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great fun read

    I waited for this second novel to be published and it was worth the wait. It was a fascinating read with mythical overtones involving the ever ongoing battle between the supernatural forces of Good and Evil with Norse overtones. I cannot wait to read the third book! Good character and plot development

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    What I Liked: 1) I still like the setting of this one. The tiny

    What I Liked: 1) I still like the setting of this one. The tiny hamlet of North Hampton makes me think of Stars Hollow (Gilmore Girls fans, anyone?) and I like the intimacy of it all. The small library where Ingrid works, and the local watering hole that Freya has made her own. It was comforting to go back to this setting. 2) Freddie was a neat addition to the mix. Because he's been in Limbo for a while he doesn't really know how to handle himself in their world anymore. There is a huge different between his maturity level and Freya's even though they are twins. But he brings some more chaos to their lives, and made the story interesting. 3) New humor. There was a lot of humor injected into this book with the addition of the pixies. They brought some much needed warmth to the rest of the story.

    What I Didn't Like: Unfortunately, this book fell into the Book 2 trappings that I've warned against before. It seemed like the whole book was just to get us from book one to book three, without much substance. I'm afraid had it not been for watching Freddie's character develop, and the pixies, there wouldn't have been much of anything. The other characters didn't really pull me in very much, and the plot was a little stagnated.

    Overall Thoughts: Serpent's Kiss struck me as more of a transition than anything. The plot was a little stale, and character development came to a near halt, other than the new character of Freddie. There was a lot of redeeming bits of humor though, and I absolutely love this setting, so I'm not giving up on this series. I'll be hoping for more from the next book, The Winds of Salem, set to release in June 2013.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad

    I enjoyed this book but not as much as the first one in the series. I just felt kind of bored with the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    Not recommended -- TV show is more interesting

    The first book in this series was fairly interesting. This book however, backtracks. For example, all the rekindled/blossoming relationships at the end of the last book go back to square one in this one and have to be rebuilt, so you're basically reading the same storylines over again. And as in the first one, there are obvious clues that immortal witches should be in tune to, and instead they are completely clueless like the mortals in the story. Not that a story about "magic" should be believable, but the actions of the characters do not comply with their supposed past lives, experiences and collective knowledge. I actually almost didn't even finish this book because it became so uninteresting and drawn-out. I came back to it a couple weeks later, and as expected, the book as a whole was still disappointing. I honestly wouldn't recommend reading any of this series. I have a degree in English, and for once, I would say that the TV show is actually better than the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Not that great

    I really liked the first book in this series, this one not so much.....Not sure if I want to read the third one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    I started reading this series because of the tv show, and I'm glad I did. It's completely different. I love that this book has its own rich history. I'm excited to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Great Book Series!

    Love this series! Bought the first one on clearance. Then had to have book 2, which really leaves you hungry for he next book. Had to have it now, couldn't wait for the paperback. I Collect my books. I like them all in one cover or the other, But just couldn't wait on this one. Highly recommend. Looking forward to the television series. I love Karen White novels and The Twilight series, The Outlander by Gil Adamson, The Watchers by Jon Steele Just to nam a few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Sex anyone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars

    Ok so this was a little better than the last book. Nothing too exciting but it was good. The family is growing a little on me. It’s taking longer for the characters to be in my liking circle, but they’re getting there.

    So the long lost brother comes back and they have to prove that he innocent along with Killian. I like that the “who” that caused all this is found out until the end. Great to keep me guessing.

    The whole relationship between Ingrid and Matt drove me crazy. So many ups and downs but it seemed like more downs than ups. She likes him, he likes her so stop with all the silliness and keep things happy between them. That would make me happy.

    So yes, I’m off to read the next book. Fingers crossed that’ll I’ll like it more than these two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    cant wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Dragons

    Icecap creeped into his underground bed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Great book

    Can't wait for the next...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Eerie Events In Long Island

    Strange things are still happening in North Hampton, Long Island and the Beauchamp family is right in the middle of it. Although the centuries-old restriction on practicing magic is gone, that doesn't mean everyone is comfortable with it or even believes in it. The Beauchamp family, made of goddesses/witches, is determined to use their magic to help those around them but fate always seems to interrupt their plans.

    The family matriarch is Joanna, who can give life back when needed and travel to Limbo. Ingrid is the town librarian and cool and reserved. Freya is the wild child, made for all things sensual and has found the perfect job as a bartender where she can throw in love potions. All they want is a calm life, but fate intervenes.

    First, Freddie, who is Freya's twin brother and is the sun god, has escaped from limbo where he has been languishing for five thousand years. The guardians of limbo are searching for him to serve the rest of his punishment for destroying the bridge that separates Earth from the other worlds. Freddie insists he is innocent, and worse, that Freya's lover, Killian, is the true culprit. Who will she believe?

    Ingrid has fallen in love for the first time with an unlikely man. Matt Noble and Ingrid met when he was investigating her family as he is a detective on the police force. Ingrid doesn't know anything about this love stuff, and can't seem to work it out.

    Joanna has her own issues. Her long-long husband whom she hasn't seen in centuries, has reappeared and seems interested in reestablishing their marriage. But, she has just started a relationship with an interesting local man. Then there is the spirit from the other world that insists she has a message Joanna needs to hear, but can't quite make the connection.

    Fans of De La Cruz's Witches of East End will be delighted to read this sequel and follow the further adventures of the Beauchamp family. Those who missed the first book in the series can pick up here with no problem. The characters are interesting and the problems intriguing. This book is recommended for readers of paranormal romance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Love this author, love her books. very entertaining and easy to

    Love this author, love her books. very entertaining and easy to get
    lost in her stories, a world away. Keep them coming please. I am
    looking forward to book 3 of her new Beauchamp Family Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Love this series!

    I love this series! This second installment doesn't disappoint and definitely leaves you wanting more at the end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Awesome

    This writer really writes an excellant story. The characters evoke feelings from the reader, you get to know them like friends. Can't wait to read more, just wish i didn't have to wait until next june for the next in this series! That is my only complaint about this book theres nothing negative to say.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3