BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Seventh Mountain: Chronicles of a Ma

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Great Start

It intrigued me from the first and I have to say, it¿s a darned good story. I believe some people will say that it¿s a Christian Harry Potter knock off but I can¿t say I agree. True, at first I wondered if it was indeed a re-telling of a Harry Potter type tale with a ...
It intrigued me from the first and I have to say, it¿s a darned good story. I believe some people will say that it¿s a Christian Harry Potter knock off but I can¿t say I agree. True, at first I wondered if it was indeed a re-telling of a Harry Potter type tale with a Christian twist but as I got deeper into the book I found it was something quite different. Curtis does a good job on the magic system in the Magi world, making it understandable and realistic. The setting of Seventh Mountain and it¿s surroundings is also very well developed. To be honest, the characters were a bit wooden at times and the dialog was awkward in places. I often felt that Mark understood concepts and acted far beyond the scope of his 12 years of age. Yet I was still engaged and my interest was held to the very last page. There are enough questions in the book that you want to keep reading, want to find the answers. The bad guy is really bad and the good guys are really good. This work should appeal to a wide audience. It¿s young enough that a child will understand and enjoy it but it¿s got enough depth that an adult will enjoy their time reading it as well. Bravo to Gene Curtis and well done on his first published novel. I look very forward to reading future installments of the Chronicles of a Magi series.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A good book for kids and adults

This book is very much like the Harry Potter books: young man goes off to a school for Magi. There's an antagonist professor. Students are divided into tribes rather than houses, and they have a game they play against one another. If you like the HP books, you'll probab...
This book is very much like the Harry Potter books: young man goes off to a school for Magi. There's an antagonist professor. Students are divided into tribes rather than houses, and they have a game they play against one another. If you like the HP books, you'll probably like this as well. It started a little slow, but the second half of the book was very entertaining. There's religious symbolism along the lines of Narnia, but not preachy. I'll definitely buy book two when it comes out.

posted by Anonymous on November 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Great Start

    It intrigued me from the first and I have to say, it¿s a darned good story. I believe some people will say that it¿s a Christian Harry Potter knock off but I can¿t say I agree. True, at first I wondered if it was indeed a re-telling of a Harry Potter type tale with a Christian twist but as I got deeper into the book I found it was something quite different. Curtis does a good job on the magic system in the Magi world, making it understandable and realistic. The setting of Seventh Mountain and it¿s surroundings is also very well developed. To be honest, the characters were a bit wooden at times and the dialog was awkward in places. I often felt that Mark understood concepts and acted far beyond the scope of his 12 years of age. Yet I was still engaged and my interest was held to the very last page. There are enough questions in the book that you want to keep reading, want to find the answers. The bad guy is really bad and the good guys are really good. This work should appeal to a wide audience. It¿s young enough that a child will understand and enjoy it but it¿s got enough depth that an adult will enjoy their time reading it as well. Bravo to Gene Curtis and well done on his first published novel. I look very forward to reading future installments of the Chronicles of a Magi series.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    A good book for kids and adults

    This book is very much like the Harry Potter books: young man goes off to a school for Magi. There's an antagonist professor. Students are divided into tribes rather than houses, and they have a game they play against one another. If you like the HP books, you'll probably like this as well. It started a little slow, but the second half of the book was very entertaining. There's religious symbolism along the lines of Narnia, but not preachy. I'll definitely buy book two when it comes out.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Read this please

    Ok i read many of the reveiws before getting this book and several people stated it was just like harry potter but its not. Yes this book involves a teenage group of friends going on adventures and getting into trouble at school but that is where the similarity ends. This book was just as new and imaginative as the harry potter books were. It has it own characters its own demons and own flair. I enjoyed this book and have added the others to my wishlist i reccomend you do the same.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Good

    A little choppy but overall a very good idea. It did take me about half the book before i really got into it. Then it was so interesting. Looking forward to more

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Same book for free

    You can get an exact copy of this book for free. It is called "The Senenth Mountain" only. It has a picture of a sword and a staff crossing on the cover. It is the same book by the same author.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Bold and Exciting Read

    Gene Curtis' first novel is a bold and exciting read, a thought-provoking meld of fantasy and reality that will be sure to enchant readers for years to come. Curtis has managed to create something that will appeal to all types of readers. Fans of the genre will certainly find this book to be an enjoyable experience, as will those who are just being introduced to the realm of the fantastic. Bravo!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    2nd review

    I wanted to mention I am not into any religion and almost didn't read this because I did not want to be reading a book that was going to try to stuff it down my throat in the guise of a story. Well I will only say that most stories are about good verses evil. I did not feel that I was being preached to. This book is worth reading for it's entertainment value. So read it. You will be glad you gave it a chance.
    Sanna7125

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Pleasantly Surprised

    Im not sure what I expected of this story, but I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Great story and character building. A great story transcends age and audience. This is another great book intended for youth that captured an adult mind.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    ...

    Awesome world building, but stylistically like it was written by a Harry Potter fan during NaNoWriMo.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Sorry

    I just couldnt get in to the book. The overview (in my opinion) makes it sound better than it is.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Amazing book!!

    I loved this book. It makes me sad that we can't get the 2nd one but Amazon can. I recomend this to anyone who likes Harry Potter or anything related to it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    WOW...Really Good Book!

    This is a really good book! It had me smiling from ear to ear one minute and crying the next. It was packed full of adventure and I loved the characters. I can't wait for the next one to come out!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Very Good!

    At first I thought it was a little Harry Potterish...but then that feeling wore off quickly...this book doesnt have the darkness and despair of HP - a series that I could not finish and frankly wore me out by book 3. I actually liked this book and am looking forward to the sequels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I was not impressed with some of the grammer but the story was nice. I do agree that even with the differences it felt like an attempt to mimic Harry Potter. Not a bad read but didn't leave me anxious for the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Great read

    Reviews liken it to H.P. but this has a flavor all its own. Thought it was written well and to a broader reader base.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Intriguing Plot But Badly Written

    The idea behind the book is very good, but the author needs to organize his thoughts. The writing was confusing, and strayed randomly at times. With a bit more focus, higher-level vocabulary, and more well-rounded characters, the book could have been much better.

    I would hesitate to recommend this novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Awesome story

    I wad actually very surprised. Started slow, but all had a purpose. Book was well thought out, and the characters were very interesting..... cant wait for bk 2

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    G

    The next book is outit is the eith mage

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Fun read. Suitable for youth, engaging enough for adults.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great book. Recommend for tweens or anyone who reads. Concepts

    Great book. Recommend for tweens or anyone who reads. Concepts of good vs evil and just general good manners that anyone can understand. Leaves you wanting more. Waiting for Book 2 to be available in e-form

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10