Customer Reviews for

The Sex Lives of Cannibals: Adrift in the Equatorial Pacific

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Laugh out loud funny.

This book is one of the funniest books I have ever read. It is about a couple who live on a small island in the South Pacific and how they adjust to a radically different environment, one that the girlfriend's predecessor left before her contract was up because she had ...
This book is one of the funniest books I have ever read. It is about a couple who live on a small island in the South Pacific and how they adjust to a radically different environment, one that the girlfriend's predecessor left before her contract was up because she had just had enough. There is history in the book and it is told in such a humorous fashion that I looked some of it up to make sure it was real and indeed it is. I found old articles about some of the events that Troost describes, including Kiribati's poet laureate. I only wish that Troost had written all my high school and college history textbooks and encourage him to look into that as soon as possible. My favorite thing about the book is that it makes you re-evaluate your thoughts on everyday things Americans are accustomed to- the numerous brands and types of butter, doggie spas, what is considered food, things you really can live without, burning butts, the planes I would fly in are probably safe in comparison, La Macarena and so much more. I cannot even begin to do this book justice in such a short blurb. I am glad someone in the library placed this book on a recommended reading display and that I had a little leisure time to browse on that particular day. I was obviously meant to read this book and if you have actually read this review, I am pretty sure you are too.

posted by Suvorov on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Sex Lives of Cannibals.

I did not think that the story matched with the back cover blurb and was a little disapointed. However, the author has a great sense of humor and has amazing one-lines that kept me interested.

posted by 1059933 on March 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    A hilarious look at life on a far flung island and a lot of the

    A hilarious look at life on a far flung island and a lot of the things we tend to take for granted in the "modern" world. A hard book to put down, usually because I was laughing too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    What a Story!

    The author leads you through the trails and tribulations living in a VERY remote part of the world. This I-Matang gets to know the people, customs, and history of his island.
    The only downside to the book is that it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sex Lives of Cannibals - Not

    But the author makes a good go of he and his wife's time on a South Seas Pacific island. His stories of his time on the island were eye-opening and at times humorus. This would be a fun summer at the beach kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Travel and adventure for the 21st century!

    In the tradition of famous Pacific island chroniclers Robert Louis Stephenson, Somerset Maugham, Jack London, Herman Melville, Paul Theroux, and Tony Horowitz, Maarten Troost updates the genre for the 21 st century. He proves that adventure, romance, danger, disgust, and boredom still abound in Oceania. With a keen eye for the novel and bizarre, his skeptical nature and well - developed sense of irony serves the reader well. He is a genuinely inquisitive and open observer who draws great stories out of the "natives" he encounters.

    Troost chronicles his year as a tropical "house husband" on the infamous isle of Tarawa in Kirabati. While his patient and tolerant spouse labors away in an NGO helping the inhabitants, Troost has free reign to observe and live the island life.

    This is an amusing - you'll often catch yourself laughing out loud for this one - and very entertaining read. This was on our list of preparatory reading for an upcoming Pacific island trip. Troost is never gloomy, moody, or axe grinding as some of the other authors in this canon. A great read. Highly recommended for fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    Hilarious!

    I finished this book November 13th, 2008. I had been reading it on and off for a few weeks, and I am glad I finished it. It was very light reading and made me chuckle at some parts. I like how he used his humor to describe the conditions on Kiribati. I would recommend to everybody, especially people who like travel books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Interesting view of island life

    Simple but good book to read. Provided a vivid view of how western culture has yet again damaged life on this plant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    Funny book -- deserves a read, but...

    This is a very funny book and I enjoyed the author's style - somewhat similar to Dave Barry. The book held my interest right from the start. I can see why Sex Lives of Cannibals won a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award. However, in this book's case I'd probably re-title the award to Discover Good New Writers. He makes some interesting cultural observations about life in Kiribati and the absurdity of the islanders without sounding overly cruel. But I began to tire of the one-liners after a while and yearn for some relevance and poignancy. The lack of structure began to grate on me as I slowly realized that this was going nowhere. And yes, like some of the other reviewers, I felt that the bathroom humor was cheap and overdone. I had just finished reading another book set in the South Pacific, and it was interesting to see the area from two different authors' perspectives who are writing in the first-person about themselves as twenty-somethings. While J. Maarten Troost wrote this book during and shortly after his experiences, Neva Sullaway wrote her book 'Chasing Dreamtime' as a memoir of a woman looking back on her youth in the 1970s. The maturity and wisdom of these later years brought an entirely different focus and purpose to her book that wouldn't have been possible during the tumultuous 70s. If Troost had waited a few years, or maybe decades, before writing Sex Lives of Cannibals, it might have been a great book, and not just a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    A fun and enlightening read

    I learned so much reading this book and I enjoyed every minute of it. It is laugh out loud funny and the title is great. I read it in a mountain lodge during a vacation and got quite a few looks from other guests who wondered what on earth could be so funny about the sex lives of cannibals. I'm sure they also wondered what kind of person would read about such things! You will throughly enjoy this book and all of the author's hilarious predicaments that he gets himself into. Don't let the title scare you. Its not really about cannibals. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    This is a funny book

    This was a really funny, heart-warming book. The author has a very glib sense of humor and I can only hope we'll be reading more from him soon. Well done. Doug

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2