Customer Reviews for

The Shadow of Your Smile (Deep Haven Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Shadow of Your Smile is the fifth book in the Deep Haven Ser

The Shadow of Your Smile is the fifth book in the Deep Haven Series by Susan May Warren. It’s a great inspiring story that readers will love. You don’t have to read the series in order… But it’s nice if you do!

posted by hannah97 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Story and Quick Read

As a prolific reader, I am at the disadvantage of being thoroughly familiar with the plot line of an amnesiac wife who re-falls in love with her husband. Off the top of my head, I can think of two other books I have read in the past three months which covered the same ...
As a prolific reader, I am at the disadvantage of being thoroughly familiar with the plot line of an amnesiac wife who re-falls in love with her husband. Off the top of my head, I can think of two other books I have read in the past three months which covered the same territory.

This book has little to distinguish it from the others I have read. It is Christian, fairly clean, deals with adult themes (divorce, death of a child, infidelity, financial issues, etc.), throws in an emotional risk or two, and provided me with about three hours of entertainment.

I enjoyed it as something new to read. The story did not really speak to me, but I'd recommend it to someone else looking for something interesting enough to wile away the time and clean enough to avoid blushing.

posted by Thursday4 on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Twilightstar is locked out!!some how she got a message to me

    She sent a message saying your camp is moving to smiley face res 1,
    ~Treestar~
    Also after i went to shop her mesage disapered??????????
    I DONT KNOW HOW I GOT HER MESSAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    God is in this book but not in an overpowering way, just as He is in my life! Will read more from this author!

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A kit

    She whimpered

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Frost and Snow

    How did she die?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Gentlekit to Sheerpath

    Gentlekit lifted her head to look sightlessly at Sheerpath's face "But, how can I be a warrior with my 'symtoms'? What if the apprentices bully me?" she asked, worry in her sightless eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Flameborne

    Where is my apprentice?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Brightkit

    ((Am I save?)) --B-K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Nightkit

    Pads in nightkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    River and Bramble

    They say i know a cat named angelwing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Leopardfern

    "What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    To the person that asked if they could be deputy

    To the person who asked if they could be dep:no im the deputy~starryriver*-*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    A

    Lite yawns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Brindlepelt

    Can i be deputy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Shatteredpaw

    What are we gonna do today?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Isabella

    Im sick and tired of people telling the whole story in there reviews. Come on at least let us read it for ourselves, if i see it againg i swear on my dead dogs grave i will report you. Hope you understand its nothing personal i just hate spoilers....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    M

    More excessive plot spoilers bragging how they got the book for free for their honest review. Well, we dont care that you got the book for free....stop revealing every detail of the book!!!!" Just once i would like to see a review without these uber long spoilers that ruin the book. You spoilers should be fined and banned from posting. You are not supposed to reveal the book like you do. It is in the terms of service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Fefrg

    Justin gk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    When Noelle wakes up in the hospital, she can't remember her lif

    When Noelle wakes up in the hospital, she can't remember her life--the accident that caused her memory loss, the man she calls husband, her boys, or her daughter Kelsey who was brutally murdered.

    Emma can do nothing but remember Kelsey--and the guilt she feels for living when her best friend died. Will the two women be able to find a bright future or remain stuck in the memories of yesterday?


    I usually enjoy Susan May Warren's books, and this one was no exception. I like the darker topic of a struggling marriage, an inappropriate friendship that crosses a line, and the forgiveness that lasting love requires. These harder topics may make for a tough read for some, especially those who want a beach happy love story, but they are real issues that Christians face. Warren did a fantastic job with the character of Noelle. She often seemed cold and unfeeling in the book, which was perfect for a woman who didn't even know these people. The depth and honesty of the characters will make this a book readers don't just enjoy but remember.


    My only complaint was it was resolved a little too easily at the end. Each character had so many major issues, the book could have easily been stretched to two books and thus made the ending a little more realistic.


    **I would love to read another book about Emma. I think she has a lot of story left to tell. Hint, hint, Mrs. Warren. :)

    I received this book in exchange for my review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    its a wonderful story of how we should trust God with everythin

    its a wonderful story of how we should trust God with everything and come to him for help and not run from our problems.i wouls recomend it to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was my 5th book by this author! As always, Susan May Warren

    This was my 5th book by this author! As always, Susan May Warren puts out a great suspenseful novel! I really liked this storyline a lot. I was hooked right away. Very sweet but "on-the-edge" story with a strong Christian message.
    I don't know why, but I really like reading about people who loose their memory. I guess it just makes it more mysterious. I thought SMW did an excellent job using this idea! The whole thing was very believable, executed very well.
    SMW, again, always has great character development - as did this book. I really got a feeling for the characters and their personalities. I liked Noelle and felt sorry for her and was also rooting for her to get her memory back (and what felt like her sanity).
    There were some other under-lying storylines going that were just as interesting and important to the story.There was the murder/robbery that caused Noelle's memory loss. Noelle's son, being a cop, was investigating the incident, and swore to his family that he would "find the guy who did this". There was also the new budding relationship of the son and the daughter of a friend of their's. And last there is the failing marriage of Noelle and her estranged husband, Eli (love that name, by the way!). Will they find their way back to each other or are there too many secrets getting in the way. Why does Eli kind of hope that Noelle never gets her memory back?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3