Customer Reviews for

The Shadow of Your Smile

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Shadow of Your Smile is the fifth book in the Deep Haven Ser

The Shadow of Your Smile is the fifth book in the Deep Haven Series by Susan May Warren. It’s a great inspiring story that readers will love. You don’t have to read the series in order… But it’s nice if you do!

posted by hannah97 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Story and Quick Read

As a prolific reader, I am at the disadvantage of being thoroughly familiar with the plot line of an amnesiac wife who re-falls in love with her husband. Off the top of my head, I can think of two other books I have read in the past three months which covered the same ...
As a prolific reader, I am at the disadvantage of being thoroughly familiar with the plot line of an amnesiac wife who re-falls in love with her husband. Off the top of my head, I can think of two other books I have read in the past three months which covered the same territory.

This book has little to distinguish it from the others I have read. It is Christian, fairly clean, deals with adult themes (divorce, death of a child, infidelity, financial issues, etc.), throws in an emotional risk or two, and provided me with about three hours of entertainment.

I enjoyed it as something new to read. The story did not really speak to me, but I'd recommend it to someone else looking for something interesting enough to wile away the time and clean enough to avoid blushing.

posted by Thursday4 on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    The Shadow of Your Smile is the fifth book in the Deep Haven Ser

    The Shadow of Your Smile is the fifth book in the Deep Haven Series by Susan May Warren. It’s a great inspiring story that readers will love. You don’t have to read the series in order… But it’s nice if you do!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    A great story about a marriage that is going through difficultie

    A great story about a marriage that is going through difficulties. They deal very well with how a couple can drift apart without realizing it. A must read about love and God’s amazing Grace.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What would it be like to not remember how you got to where you w

    What would it be like to not remember how you got to where you were? That is what Noelle is about to discover when she is in a bad accident that on the outside leaves very few injuries but on the inside she can not remember the last twenty five years of her life. Her husband Eli, their children and the tragedy from three years ago are gone from her mind and now she needs to figure out who she is, who they are and what happened. Secrets will be uncovered and in the end trust and faith is what they need for healing to begin.

    The Shadow of Your Smile is book five in Susan May Warren's popular Deep Haven series and while I have not read the others (which now I can not wait to do so) I was able to enjoy this story. It was have been nice to have read the others so I would know all the back stories and would get that feeling like I was visiting with dear friends. Susan May Warren is a very gifted storyteller and draws the reader in with an intriguing plot filled with characters that will make you both laugh and cry. This book is filled with hope, rediscovery, love, faithfulness and trust. So many lessons can be learned by reading this book. As much as I loved this book it is not for everyone. This is not a light and fluffy book, it deals with some tough issues: loss of a child, divorce, amnesia and more. I give this book a solid 5 stars!

    *I received this book through Litfuse for the purpose of this review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Another great book from Susan May Warren

    I love coming back to Deep Haven, and I don't even like snow! :)

    Noelle & Eli Hueston have been married for many years, but the last few have been, well, worse than routine. Struggling already, things were compounded by the death of their only daughter, and at the point we meet them, they have genuinely lost their way. The book begins with Noelle attempting to evade a robbery when she slips and falls on a patch of ice and suffers a head injury, which in turn causes some pretty serious amnesia. She doesn't remember being married or her children, she definitely doesn't remember her daughter Kelsey, and she thinks she is in college -she is very upset that her (deceased) parents won't come visit her in the hospital! You can imagine the confusion this causes, as the amnesia lasts for some time.

    There are also several great "sub"-story, one that includes her oldest son & Kelsey's best friend, and I really enjoyed how they were all tied together in the end. This book deals with a number of serious issues and still manages to retain a sense of humor and emotional pull, all without being overdone. Well played, Susan May Warren!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Help

    How was kelsey brutally murdered?

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Wonderful Story Although this is one of several amnesia stories

    Wonderful Story
    Although this is one of several amnesia stories I have read recently, The Shadow of Your Smile was worth it. I loved the characters, Eli and Noelle, and the way they developed throughout the story. Grief can destroy a marriage and these two were at the point of giving up when an accident steals Noelle's memories. Eli isn't sure how to handle it all and goes from surly to compassionte where his wife is concerned. The story explores many different aspects of Noelle's and Eli's journey and is well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2014

    There are very few contemporary authors I like, but Susan May Wa

    There are very few contemporary authors I like, but Susan May Warren is one of them. Her characters seem so genuine, they deal with real issues, and the storylines are believable. This is the second book I've read in the Deep Haven series and I loved it! It was one of those books that made me feel good, even though the characters were really going through tough things--truly, their situations seemed impossible to get through in human terms, but with God all things are possible (which seemed to be the theme of the book, though it wasn't stated). I really liked the secondary storyline which was that the main character began to have feelings for the families best friend, and she for him. They were both Christians, yet they struggled with something I think is more common than people admit. I thought it was interesting that Susan May Warren chose to include that in this book and I like that she treated the issue with such grace. I've gone through something similar so I was just as eager to find out what would happen in that situation and how the characters would deal with that. In sum, I highly recommend this book and the others by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I liked this book a lot! It kept me interested and was a good st

    I liked this book a lot! It kept me interested and was a good story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Barkcloudws story part 16

    Lumpykit looked at Bronzekit and Poisenkit.Redkit and Bluekit danced around. The web that never falls was plotting to tear EarthClan appart, and Amberstar said the Clans must move. EmberClan and Fluffclan agreed,and Mousestar did,too. Soon,The kits parents came out.Lumpykit gazed at her mother,Monkeytail,and her father,Bignose. Lumpykit could not believe a quarter moon ago they were Bigpaw and Monkeypaw. They were so big! Redkit and Bluekit pranced around thier parents,Spikytail and Webfur. Butterflypaw was gone,and grief flew over the Clan. Horntooth,Cherryblossompelt's son, was in love with her, and he had changed. "Fluffclan! A warrior,Giantthorn,is speaking to Iciclelion! The rest of the Clan is with him!" (Sorry this is short)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    To the girl wntin a bf

    Hey i am max how are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great read!

    Wonderful story and loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    GOOD ONE

    I ENJOYED THIS. THANKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    Surprised i could't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Twilightstar is locked out!!some how she got a message to me

    She sent a message saying your camp is moving to smiley face res 1,
    ~Treestar~
    Also after i went to shop her mesage disapered??????????
    I DONT KNOW HOW I GOT HER MESSAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A kit

    She whimpered

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Frost and Snow

    How did she die?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Gentlekit to Sheerpath

    Gentlekit lifted her head to look sightlessly at Sheerpath's face "But, how can I be a warrior with my 'symtoms'? What if the apprentices bully me?" she asked, worry in her sightless eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Brightkit

    ((Am I save?)) --B-K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    River and Bramble

    They say i know a cat named angelwing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Leopardfern

    "What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2