Customer Reviews for

The Shapeshifters: The Kiesha'ra of the Den of Shadows

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic series from my favorite author!

I've been a Rhodes fan for 10 years now, and she has never disapointed me. I must start by saying some of the criticism I've read here is bogus. Most people agree that Hawksong and Snakecharm were the best two of the series, yes I must agree, where I dont agree is that ...
I've been a Rhodes fan for 10 years now, and she has never disapointed me. I must start by saying some of the criticism I've read here is bogus. Most people agree that Hawksong and Snakecharm were the best two of the series, yes I must agree, where I dont agree is that the other books were bad by any means, they were all amazing and keep you wondering whats next almost constantly! Love the anticipation here in each novel. People say falcondance was not necessary to the series?? WRONG! Falcondance delves into the history if everything, you learn the roots of the avian serpiente war, why the falcons are feared so much and it has you fearing throughout the remainder of the series if the falcons will simply kill everyone you grew to love. Wolfcry had even wose criticism... again wolfcry was a major part of the series, Oliza falling in love with a woman, especially one who wasnt avian or serpiente was certainly the safest case scenario here, it was a blessing, we learn that if oliza bears a child its magic would make the child go mad and kill her.. is that what you critics would have preferred? Oliza to have a child that destroys all of wyverns court? Even if oliza didnt bear children with her male mate she could never choose an avian or serpiente, it would have started the war from hawksong all over again. The only part of wolfcry I can critic is that zane and danica, beloved from the first two seem to have a lack of understanding of their daughter, this seems due to the fact oliza never explained to them in detail the reasons her actions were so necessary. Wyvernhail was great, full of twists and turns, I did not appreciate that in the end oliza the wyvern of the courts namesake was unwelcome in her own land, but I understand the feeling of abandonment from their would be queen left them uneasy. Really the only problem with the series is the fact there wasnt a 6th book.

posted by 16735719 on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Torn

The first two books, Hawksong and Snakecharm, were amazing. They captured my interest and my heart and kept me actively involved in the stories. I couldn't put the book down! The third book, Falcondance, was information overload and was drawn out a little bit, but overa...
The first two books, Hawksong and Snakecharm, were amazing. They captured my interest and my heart and kept me actively involved in the stories. I couldn't put the book down! The third book, Falcondance, was information overload and was drawn out a little bit, but overall it was still good. The remaining books, however, were a disappointment. These books seemed inconsistent with the happenings in the previous books, leaving the story lacking.

posted by ADLewis on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Torn

    The first two books, Hawksong and Snakecharm, were amazing. They captured my interest and my heart and kept me actively involved in the stories. I couldn't put the book down! The third book, Falcondance, was information overload and was drawn out a little bit, but overall it was still good. The remaining books, however, were a disappointment. These books seemed inconsistent with the happenings in the previous books, leaving the story lacking.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A fantastic series from my favorite author!

    I've been a Rhodes fan for 10 years now, and she has never disapointed me. I must start by saying some of the criticism I've read here is bogus. Most people agree that Hawksong and Snakecharm were the best two of the series, yes I must agree, where I dont agree is that the other books were bad by any means, they were all amazing and keep you wondering whats next almost constantly! Love the anticipation here in each novel. People say falcondance was not necessary to the series?? WRONG! Falcondance delves into the history if everything, you learn the roots of the avian serpiente war, why the falcons are feared so much and it has you fearing throughout the remainder of the series if the falcons will simply kill everyone you grew to love. Wolfcry had even wose criticism... again wolfcry was a major part of the series, Oliza falling in love with a woman, especially one who wasnt avian or serpiente was certainly the safest case scenario here, it was a blessing, we learn that if oliza bears a child its magic would make the child go mad and kill her.. is that what you critics would have preferred? Oliza to have a child that destroys all of wyverns court? Even if oliza didnt bear children with her male mate she could never choose an avian or serpiente, it would have started the war from hawksong all over again. The only part of wolfcry I can critic is that zane and danica, beloved from the first two seem to have a lack of understanding of their daughter, this seems due to the fact oliza never explained to them in detail the reasons her actions were so necessary. Wyvernhail was great, full of twists and turns, I did not appreciate that in the end oliza the wyvern of the courts namesake was unwelcome in her own land, but I understand the feeling of abandonment from their would be queen left them uneasy. Really the only problem with the series is the fact there wasnt a 6th book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    5/5 Stars

    Amelia manages to capture you in a few sentences in this set of novels. I highly recomend anywho who loves the dark side of shape-shifters with the touch of romance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Beginning had me hooked...

    The first two books held more of a connection for me. The relationship had me completely drawn in and hooked, but with the last three books it fell more into just the after effects and kind of closed the story down. While they weren't bad, they just didn't have me staying up too late reading like the first two.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Good book

    a interesting series and yet still good. last part of the book though was a bit confusing and a lil hard to follow. but still a good book and worth reading

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    LOVED IT!!! =)

    this book is absolutely amazing!!! you must read!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprised

    I read the other reviews on this and put off buying this. Finally, I gave in (translation I had read everything on had on the shelf). Obviously, everyone agrees that the first 2 book are awesome. Yes. The third book is drawn out at times because it's scenes of a dark abyss of nothing. Just read those puts to movie soundtracks, and you'll be fine. Like watching the lab tests on CSI to the tech music. Fourth and Fifth book were awesome, especially the fifth. Totally did not see that coming, I should have but I got to caught up in the story.

    Wished I bought this sooner, specifically for that 2 hour long meeting I had to sit through.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    not the best

    the first section in it was the best but then it just started getting bad

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Demonheart

    A female alpha leader of the twilight pack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I loved the first two books I couldn't put the book down until I

    I loved the first two books I couldn't put the book down until I had finshed both Hawksong and Snakecharm, Falcondance I was able to read a little of but lost complete interest by Wolfcry and Wyvernhail. I feel like the last 3 had hardly anything to with the story the first two started.  I wish she could have put Danica and Zane into the stories more or continued the series with them as main characters. I stayed up late for hours until Hakwsong and Snakecharm was complete but sadly never had the interest to finish the last 3 so far. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Love these books!

    Read these several years ago, bought them before the nook age. But i still remembered these. They are truly amazing! :) i really think everyone should read these.. ( big fannnn)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Demonstar

    Goes to the clearing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Definitely worth it

    I own all five books and I say to everyone debating on this, it is worth it. The books are short enough for the not-so-avid readers that it isn't a chore to finish, but interesting enough for the overly-avid readers (like me) to read through the entire series in a day, sleep, eat, go to the bathroom, and pick it up and start over again from the beginning. Now I just need to decide on if I should buy this and have all the books in one or just keep my five separate ones..... :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    romance?

    Does this book have a lot of romance in it? just wondering...

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5