Customer Reviews for

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears in Paris at the World's Most Famous Cooking School

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    "Live your life the way it's meant to be lived."

    The author closes her book with this line and it's true, and a lesson she learned along the way. Her story is one I can relate to since I went back to culinary school a few years after being out of college and found I hated being stuck behind a desk all day. The book is just a fun read about love, finding yourself and achieving your dream. It is hard working in a professional kitchen, as she learned it school, but it certainly is rewarding. Great recipes too!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    A 'life change' with food....what a yummy book!

    So far, besides me, my husband, our 20-something daughter, and one of my husband's male buddies have read this book, and we ALL loved it! I should note first that we all love to cook complex recipes and eat fabulous food. And, because of that, it may be that we all loved the book for it's lessons on better cooking steps, intriguing preparations and great recipes. (We highly recommend that readers read the recipes completely as they appear in the book---don't leave them until the end. They help you understand what is happening in the cooking classes as you go along.) The story about a 30-something business woman chucking it all to go to school at Le Cordon Bleu cooking school in Paris is a tantalizing fantasy for anyone who loves to cook. We're all jealous! But her telling of the story is more than just a recount of her experiences at the school. It's about changing, learning, growing, accepting and embracing life---and all while describing the making and devouring of delicious foods! There's a very sweet love story, tales of friendship, competition among students, mean and harassing instructor/chefs, fear of failure, and achieving success all wrapped up in the writer's lively telling of her diversion from 'real life' into her life's fantasy. We have decided that this book will not reside in our library, but will stand on our kitchen cookbook shelf so we can pull it out often to try the many incredible-sounding recipes found within. What a yummy little book this is!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed this book. It is a quick and easy read. It describes her struggles and joys while attending the Cordon Bleu cooking school in Paris. I would recommend this book if you love reading about Paris and cooking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    A true culinary adventure--full of fun

    I loved the telling of this culinary experience at Le Cordon Bleu. It was funny, romantic, enlightening, and I love having some of the recipes included. I love Paris, and this is a great way to "take yourself there," especially if you like to cook. Enjoyable to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    I am a chef, graduate of a Le Cordon Bleu school in America. I

    I am a chef, graduate of a Le Cordon Bleu school in America. I was given a copy of this book a few years ago by an employee who worked under me. I laughed and cried and sighed my way through this book. It brought back a lot of memories. In looking at the dates, we were in school about the same time. I'm now getting a copy for a niece who is in culinary school realizing her dreams. I thought about sending her my worn out falling apart book but can't bear to part with it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    A great read and a great lesson about pursuing your passions in

    A great read and a great lesson about pursuing your passions in life. I am a foodie and love to cook, but I'm pretty sure Le Cordon Bleu is way beyond me!! Kudos to Kathleen Flinn for following her dream and sticking with it. She's an excellent storyteller who has woven a wonderful tale of love, adventure, laughter, and tears. Have recommended it to all my "reader friends!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Really enjoyable reading, well written and humorous.

    A great book for anyone who has ever considered attending the famous Cordon Bleau cooking school in Paris. The book is well written and enjoyable to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read

    This book is great for anyone who has a passion for cooking or just a passion that they have yet to pursue. It is filled with recipes and culinary information. It also tells a sweet love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    for the aspiring chef!

    This was an excellent and absorbing book, expecially for a self taught gourmet cook with aspirations to learn more. It was also poignant, funny, and entertaining at different moments. I have given several copies to friends already. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    I loved this book

    This book is one my favorites from the past couple of years. I have now read it twice. The story starts when the author came back from vacation to find that she had lost her job -- one that she was unhappy in but could not find the resolve the quit. Almost on a whim, she cashes in her savings to attend Le Cordon Bleu, the famous culinary school in Paris. Her new boyfriend quits his job in Seattle to go with her and the result is a romantic, inspirational story about what can happen when you follow your passions. <BR/><BR/>The author is a great storyteller and draws a reader into her daily life in Paris, the difficulties and the joy of studying French cuisine at a high level and the many intriging characters that she meets along the way. She also weaves in about three dozen recipes, mostly French. In the paperback, she has a menu guide for book clubs. My book club read this title in October and the guide was very useful. <BR/><BR/>I have given this book to several people, and they have all loved it. It's sort of got it all -- Paris, food, love -- but at the heart of the story is the issue of what's important in life, and how we all keep thinking that we'll do something "one day." It's truly inspirational.<BR/> <BR/>I read recently that it is being turned into a movie. when you read it, you'll see why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Fun Read

    I enjoyed this book start to finish. As a bonus, there are recipes throughout.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Funny and touching

    Has some very funny parts. An enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2