Customer Reviews for

The Shining Girls: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Different

One of the most different yet intrigueing books that I have read. It is somewhat of a challenge to read and can be easily confused, but in the end I generally enjoyed the book. I wasn't as satisfied with the ending...I just wanted to know what happens next? ...but I t...
One of the most different yet intrigueing books that I have read. It is somewhat of a challenge to read and can be easily confused, but in the end I generally enjoyed the book. I wasn't as satisfied with the ending...I just wanted to know what happens next? ...but I think the book would make a phenominal movie!

posted by 17269473 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Confusing

Slow start, picked up, then got confusing....

posted by 17207641 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Confusing

    Slow start, picked up, then got confusing....

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    This book is terrible. I normally read books in days, its taken

    This book is terrible. I normally read books in days, its taken me over a week to read this book. I had no desire to even finish reading the book. If you decide to read this, I hope you like it but it was def not for me.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    I pre-ordered this book on my nook app earlier this summer befor

    I pre-ordered this book on my nook app earlier this summer before it came out. There was rave reviews before it came out so I was very excited to read it. It is not that the plot is bad, I do not like the style of writing. It was hard for me to keep track of the book. Each chapter went back to a different time. It went from the 1930's one chapter and then to the 70's and 90's. So when you have not read the book for a few days, you really have to recall what you read. I would constantly say "wait, who was that and when did it happen?" I actually have not finished the book. I stopped over halfway through and started a new book because I got fed up. But I may force myself to finish "The Shining Girls" because I want to know how it ends. That is why I am giving this book a mediocre review, I found it hard to keep track. Yet, overall the plot is interesting.  

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Masterfully crafted book

    Master wordsmith and tight plotting make this an immensely satisfying read. I'm not a fan of the overly gruesome scenes, so I skimmed those. Despite the jumping around, it fits together seamlessly like the Escher stairs.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    A good read if you like Time Travel, mystery and serial killers!

    Don't question how it happens, but a serial killer finds a way to travel through time and find victims when they are young girls and then find them once they have grown and kill them in disgusting ways. But one of the girls who "shine" lives and turns the tables on the killer. A fast paced and fun read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Different

    One of the most different yet intrigueing books that I have read. It is somewhat of a challenge to read and can be easily confused, but in the end I generally enjoyed the book. I wasn't as satisfied with the ending...I just wanted to know what happens next? ...but I think the book would make a phenominal movie!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    I thought this book was pretty terrible. It jumps around too muc

    I thought this book was pretty terrible. It jumps around too much, nothing about it felt original. Standard demented serial killer, the main girl in the story could easily be described as Lisbeth Salander from the Girl With The Dragon Tattoo series. It took me over a week to finish this one (normal read time is around 2 to 3 days) and it was grueling the entire time. I would never suggest this book to anyone. I may have been spoiled by Stephen King's book - 11/22/63 when it comes to time travel novels, but I feel like I can honestly say this book has nothing original going for it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite The Shining Gi

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite

    The Shining Girls: A Novel by Lauren Beukes is something for the iron gut, thrill-seeking reader. Harper Curtis is one sick dude whose actions are propelled by the call of The House. It is not just any house. This one enables him to time travel, which really helps when you don't want to be found. A serial killer who finds his prey young then springs forward to snuff them out at an older age; it is the perfect getaway. Who would believe it, anyway? His marks are many and his calling card unique. An item from the future left next to their dead bodies means nothing to detectives and goes unnoticed until somebody discovers the pattern. She is the only survivor of his throat slashing habit and quite intent on finding the man who nearly murdered her. Kirby Mazrachi has enough problems without this guy, but somehow she manages to get through high school, enroll in college, and intern at the Chicago-Sun Times newspaper. She requests to assist former homicide writer Dan Velasquez, who also just happens to have covered her story. What lies ahead for all involved will be something that nobody could see coming. 

    Lauren Beukes takes her readers to a very deep, dark place in the mind of a serial killer. The Shining Girls: A Novel is nowhere near okay for the faint of heart. It is gruesome, graphic, horrific, and gut wrenching. It is a thriller..the kind that causes you to forever lock the door behind you and close the blinds at dusk. If this is what you are into, you will not be disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love!!!

    So glad I checked this book out! Such a good read! Very original! Loved that the author paid such good attention to detail! Also loved how she gave each character, no matter how brief their part in the story was, some depth so they aren't so expendable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    A Page Turner

    This is one of those books that is not easy to put down. From the moment you start reading, you are sucked into the story and wondering how things will turn out. The homeliness does jump quite a bit, but it's pretty easy to follow. I would have given this five stars if the ending was different. The book just sort of ended, I certainly had questions that went unanswered and felt that it didn't tie things up enough. That said, I'm not sure how the ending could have been written to answer every question and tie up every loose end. I'm still thinking about this book 3 weeks after finishing it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Slow pick up.. But once you start to connect the dots it's a gre

    Slow pick up.. But once you start to connect the dots it's a great read. I wouldn't recommend for Young adults or children! Over all a great, twisted, cat and mouse tale filled with mystery, murder and time travel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    An excellent read with a very different twist.

    An excellent read with a very different twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes is a stellar thriller that in

    The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes is a stellar thriller that incorporates time travel and serial murder. The plot unfolds at the perfect pace. The characters are well developed and complex. From start to finish this was a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    Good premise that was poorly executed. I could not finish this b

    Good premise that was poorly executed. I could not finish this book and I tried three times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Mystery Time travel

    This read is interesting in several ways. The main character travels in time to commit and cover up the gruesome murders of women he had met in their childhood. The House calls to him, enticing him with the need to kill.
    Was a tad bit more gruesome then I like to read about.
    It will leave you wondering in the end. All in all interesting fanciful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    This is one of the worst books I ever attempted to read.I'm at p

    This is one of the worst books I ever attempted to read.I'm at page 174 and I'm just giving up,It's very confusing and just isn't any fun to read.The author starts every chapter in a different decade and there are new characters.If you enjoy reading and enjoy a well told tale this is not for you.I'm going to remember this author and never read anything written by her again.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Lena

    She crawled on to thhe bed wait for Rocky her legs spread aprt.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Chris to angel

    Ill be your partner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Angel

    Angel walked in...she wanted a sex partner that would be forcefully and dominant...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Saphire

    Sapphire let him do what he wanted. But was still unimpressed. Even by his eight incher. She groaned as he shoved himself up her pu$$y. "Want some hardcore?" She asked him, thrusting herself back as he thrusted forward, shoving him farther. She let her head roll back as she let out a moan. ((I think im female dominant in rl. Im serious.......its crazy what I can do))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3