Customer Reviews for

The Shining Girls: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Different

One of the most different yet intrigueing books that I have read. It is somewhat of a challenge to read and can be easily confused, but in the end I generally enjoyed the book. I wasn't as satisfied with the ending...I just wanted to know what happens next? ...but I t...
One of the most different yet intrigueing books that I have read. It is somewhat of a challenge to read and can be easily confused, but in the end I generally enjoyed the book. I wasn't as satisfied with the ending...I just wanted to know what happens next? ...but I think the book would make a phenominal movie!

posted by 17269473 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Confusing

Slow start, picked up, then got confusing....

posted by 17207641 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Masterfully crafted book

    Master wordsmith and tight plotting make this an immensely satisfying read. I'm not a fan of the overly gruesome scenes, so I skimmed those. Despite the jumping around, it fits together seamlessly like the Escher stairs.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite The Shining Gi

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite

    The Shining Girls: A Novel by Lauren Beukes is something for the iron gut, thrill-seeking reader. Harper Curtis is one sick dude whose actions are propelled by the call of The House. It is not just any house. This one enables him to time travel, which really helps when you don't want to be found. A serial killer who finds his prey young then springs forward to snuff them out at an older age; it is the perfect getaway. Who would believe it, anyway? His marks are many and his calling card unique. An item from the future left next to their dead bodies means nothing to detectives and goes unnoticed until somebody discovers the pattern. She is the only survivor of his throat slashing habit and quite intent on finding the man who nearly murdered her. Kirby Mazrachi has enough problems without this guy, but somehow she manages to get through high school, enroll in college, and intern at the Chicago-Sun Times newspaper. She requests to assist former homicide writer Dan Velasquez, who also just happens to have covered her story. What lies ahead for all involved will be something that nobody could see coming. 

    Lauren Beukes takes her readers to a very deep, dark place in the mind of a serial killer. The Shining Girls: A Novel is nowhere near okay for the faint of heart. It is gruesome, graphic, horrific, and gut wrenching. It is a thriller..the kind that causes you to forever lock the door behind you and close the blinds at dusk. If this is what you are into, you will not be disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    An excellent read with a very different twist.

    An excellent read with a very different twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes is a stellar thriller that in

    The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes is a stellar thriller that incorporates time travel and serial murder. The plot unfolds at the perfect pace. The characters are well developed and complex. From start to finish this was a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Chris to angel

    Ill be your partner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Angel

    Angel walked in...she wanted a sex partner that would be forcefully and dominant...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Saphire

    Sapphire let him do what he wanted. But was still unimpressed. Even by his eight incher. She groaned as he shoved himself up her pu$$y. "Want some hardcore?" She asked him, thrusting herself back as he thrusted forward, shoving him farther. She let her head roll back as she let out a moan. ((I think im female dominant in rl. Im serious.......its crazy what I can do))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Rocky to leno

    I stuff my eight incher inside slapping your as<_>s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    &#23413 &#24424&#34235&#24133

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    To jay from lexi

    Sorry but you were not responding to me and i di not love you i love noah h. And that is not how you talk to girls '-' have a good life. Be causr i will with out you.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    fdsgdyrtytertret

    fdsgdyrtytertret

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2