Customer Reviews for

The Signature of All Things

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A lovely tale spanning beyond a century. Beautifully written, re

A lovely tale spanning beyond a century. Beautifully written, researched with the most unique, in depth characters I've seen in so long.  Wonderful!

posted by 1099594 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I was angry at this book when I was done reading. It hooks you b

I was angry at this book when I was done reading. It hooks you because you keep expecting a transformative, game-changing experience for the main character but instead you get more of the same depressing, meaningless nothing. 

posted by BaltimoreReader on November 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    This book was 520 pages of awesome. Could not put it down. The

    This book was 520 pages of awesome. Could not put it down. The research that went in to this book plus the obvious intelligence of the writer made this a wondrous read from start to finish. I have been a lover of books for greater then 50 years now and am putting this in my top ten of all time favorites.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    beautiful and haunting

    This amazing work stays with you past the very last line
    Beautiful, haunting and satisfying the reader enters the antisceptic world of science and learns of natural selection only to find out that each amazing discovery via Alma's eyes/work is truly a discovery and disection of the human heart! Superb and highly recommended!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    A lovely tale spanning beyond a century. Beautifully written, re

    A lovely tale spanning beyond a century. Beautifully written, researched with the most unique, in depth characters I've seen in so long.  Wonderful!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was angry at this book when I was done reading. It hooks you b

    I was angry at this book when I was done reading. It hooks you because you keep expecting a transformative, game-changing experience for the main character but instead you get more of the same depressing, meaningless nothing. 

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    I have to agree with another review that stated they only got th

    I have to agree with another review that stated they only got through it because they had spent money purchasing it! I had to struggle to get through this book even though I am an avid reader. I found it dull & boring. One of the worst books I've read in a long time.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    I enjoyed this novel very much for several reasons. I enjoy hist

    I enjoyed this novel very much for several reasons. I enjoy historical fiction and also I love horticultural history as well as the period of time which this story took place. I would definitely recommend it to people who enjoy these qualities in a novel. If you are looking for a quick light read-this isn't the book for you.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    I am in awe of anyone who writes a novel, because I know how muc

    I am in awe of anyone who writes a novel, because I know how much work it takes. And I bought this book with great expectations. But I really did not like it. As others have said, most of the interesting part was in the first few chapters. I only finished it because I had spent money on it. I thought the main character was not realistic and that the things she did in the book were not realistic for a person in her time. None of the characters seemed real to me, so I didn't really care much what happened to them. Frankly, in spite of all the research that obviously was done in order to write it, the book didn't seem very smart.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This novel will appeal to readers interested in horticulture, history of science and exploration, women's issues and psychology. The plot is detailed, descriptions exotic and vivid, characters memorable. This is an involving read, excellent for book clubs.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Reading this was a little like watching moss grow. The author w

    Reading this was a little like watching moss grow. The author was very ambitious in the scope of the story, but it would have been more satisfying to have had a bit more dimension to the characters and not quite so many locales. I am an avid reader and was looking forward to this book after reading several good reviews, but it was very tough to slog through and the characters never grabbed me.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Wonderful

    Her best book to date and hard to put down. Her talent is rare and her research of life in the nineteenth centry is remarkable. Buy this and share with someone you care about.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I do not understand how this book is on the best selling list. I

    I do not understand how this book is on the best selling list. I could not decide if it was a science, travel or historical fiction book. One of the strangest books we have ever read.  The characters are so dysfunctional and odd. Many people struggled to get through it because it was so boring.  Don't waste your money. Too bizarre. What was the author thinking when she wrote this?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Loved begining--not so much after

    Begins as 19th century adventure story but altimately becomes a repetitive saga of alma's joyless sexual frustration. I read it because it was on nyt top 100--why?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    I was very disappointed with this book. I found it very interest

    I was very disappointed with this book. I found it very interesting in the beginning, but soon went down hill with the main character's obsession with her body. I

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Not good

    I did not read "Eat,Pray,Love." I did see the movie, and thought I would like this book. I thought wrong. It was very tedious.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    What a waste of time. Only continued to plod through this predi

    What a waste of time. Only continued to plod through this predicable and loathsome tome because I had spent the money and was hopeful something interesting would take place. After 444 pages Alma has a encounter that made no sense. The characters were underdeveloped and uninteresting. My recommendation is to read anything else!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Signature of All Things - 3 stars After starting out with such h

    Signature of All Things - 3 stars
    After starting out with such high expectations, I finished this book with mixed feelings. The scientific writing was great! For those of us who are science geeks, but whose knowledge lies in other fields, the taste of botany was informative! I felt that though there was excessive text about her father, Alma was well-developed as a character. However, there was way too much continuing emphasis on her and her husband’s sexual proclivities, and this detracted from what would otherwise have been a extrraordinary book about a pioneering female scientist. This book was good, but could have been so much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    This books is interesting, boring and very long, all at the same

    This books is interesting, boring and very long, all at the same time. It could have used some strong editing. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Loved it. Recommended it to my friends.

    What a strong woman for her times. I learned so many fascinating things about plants, places, people and an insight into another period of history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Faison278@gmail.com

    Add me plz

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Content alert

    Deleted for sexually explit content. Up until that point i was enjoying the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9