Customer Reviews for

The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    William and Darcy met and fell immediately in love.  When Dancy

    William and Darcy met and fell immediately in love.  When Dancy ends up pregnant they quickly head to a Justice of the Peace and get married.   Their life was perfect until, on William’s birthday, he was shot and killed.  A pregnant Dancy grieves so completely that it affected her unborn baby, Bonaventure.




    Bonaventure is born a healthy baby, except he made no sound.  No crying, no fussing.  He was born special and those closest to him knew it.  He has superb hearing, not just hearing but the ability to listen.  Using the talent he helps his family heal, releasing the dark secrets and their hold on his family.




    When I read the description of this novel I was intrigued and hopeful for what I would be reading.  Rita Leganski did not let me down.  This was a slow read for me, not that I didn’t want to keep reading, but I was pulled so deeply into the story I found myself slowing down and savoring every word.  The descriptions of every character made them seem so real.  The sounds Bonaventure hears made everyday items, that I never stop to think about, come alive. 




    What really won me is over is the relationship Bonaventure has with his mother and father.  His mother, Dancy, never doubts that her son is perfect, exactly as he was suppose to be.  His father, who has passed away, comes back as a ghost and manages to connect and share all the valuable lessons a child needs to learn from their father.




    This has to be one of my favorite reads of 2013 so far.  I can already hear my book club discussing and loving this novel.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Different kind of story! Great!

    This is a story about a mute child who has extra super hearing. Hee feels and senses things about people, rocks, everything in his world. There are family secrets, voodoo, the spirit of a dead father interacting with his son. This could have been a bummer of a book, but instead it has a special spark. I read a LOT, but never have read such an unusual but riveting story. So, just suspend reality for a bit and sit down with this really very special book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    One of the most original stories I have read in a long time....

    One of the most original stories I have read in a long time.... I was completely enthralled from the first chapter all the way until the last page.  A must read!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    a gift

    ME: An avid reader, a conscious reading snob. For me to review a book at all everything has to be there; plot, characters, pacing, and (mostly) good writing.
    THE BOOK: Nails it. An enthusiastic 5 stars.
    From the first I was drawn in with the rich and languorous writing style. The word I kept finding myself using to describe it was "delicious". The plot unfolded nicely in a setting that was captivating in and of itself. The characters developed in such a way that I really cared about them. The pacing of the conflict kept me reading without sacrificing writing style (per typical best-sellers) and made the resolution immensely satisfying.
    Apparently this is the author's first book. I encourage you to support her by buying her book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Magical

    I loved the style of writing in this book. The characters were well-developed, and the writing was lyrical, so much so that I found myself re-reading sentences over and over because of the charm of the words.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Special story

    This book is captivating, extraordinary, and special in ways that will delight your senses and touch your heart. Anyone who has ever glimpsed the wonder of a child making a discovery or taken joy in the simplest elements of nature will be swept away by this incredible novel. I loved every minute spent in the company of Bonaventure Arrow!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    Where myth meets the everyday world

    The myth portion of the title refers to some of the high concept aspects of Bonaventure's mute world. Everyday world is self-explanatory. What makes these two aspects such a masterful story is Leganski's skillful storytelling and our resultant willingness to suspend disbelief. She also combines both showing and telling so that we get adequate information at the same time as being able to form our own opinions based on what we observe.

    I think this is an excellent book for someone with a book club circle, but I don't (have a club) and found myself wishing I had someone to discuss it with. To me, that is a sign that it has made me explore ideas as well as enjoy a story. I would read other books by this writer and thoroughly enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2015

    The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow - Wonderful novel.

    I fell in love with this book and with Bonaventure from the beginning and was thoroughly entranced by the end. We meet Bonaventure Arrow while he is still in his mother’s womb. By the time he is born, his father (William) is already dead (murdered by the Wanderer) and his mother (Dancy) lives in a fog of sadness and guilt in her mother-in-law’s home. The world Bonaventure enters is filled with sadness, regrets and secrets - of his mother, his paternal grandmother (Leticia), and his maternal grandmother (Adelaide). From birth, Bonaventure is mute. Silence not due to physical cause but the effect of a gift of extraordinary hearing. Because of his silence, he is able to hear sounds from the world around him. He hears colors, objects, the voice of his father's spirit and whispers from the unknown - the Wanderer and Trinidad. These sounds guide him to understandings that ultimately help his family heal. The story is told alternately from the perspectives of all characters. The writing is not told with a modern voice but with voices from the 1950’s South, specifically of New Orleans and the Bayou. For me, this added to the richness of the novel. I would highly recommend this book to those who appreciate rich characters and thought over action. (I happen to appreciate both!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2015

    This was everything I love in a good book.  A good story told ex

    This was everything I love in a good book.  A good story told extremely well with characters you really care about (except one).  This is one book I will probably
      read again. The writing is poetic. The story is magical and at times sad. But it is a story about love and faith and forgiveness and you'll cry with joy at the end. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    Unforgettable

    Having just finished this book, I'm finding it very difficult to go on to another. Bonaventure may not can speak, but his words and the characters in this tale will be in my heart and soul forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    An excellent story

    Truly a remarkable and inventive story that grabs you and pulls you along on a magical journey! Highly recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Kysten silverkings bio

    Name: kyrsten age: 20 years looks: short red hair, blue eyes,and pale skin spirit animal: a male barn owl named sarly other: im the leader.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Great book

    I really enjoyed reading the silence of Bonaventure Arrow. The storyline flowed very well and there was enough suspense to want to stay up all night to finish.. The developement of all the characters was done in a way that you wanted to keep reading. The ending provided an excellent closure for the book. An excellent read .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Great Story!

    Finished the book with a huge smile on my face. Loved it and sad for the story to be over...yeah its one of those books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Magical

    This was the most refreshing read I've had in a while. The author captures the magical realism perfectly. Highly recommend .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Great read!

    A very touching and powerful story full of beautiful imagery and things to ponder. A truly beautiful and engaging book to read! Would be a great one for book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    WOW!!!

    This is absolutely beautifully written. I've read a lot of books that make me think, but this one made me feel and appreciate the littlest things in the world around me. You will smile, you will laugh, you will tear up and you will cry (just a little). I'm so glad I found this little gem of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    What a pleasant and entertaining book!

    What a pleasant and entertaining book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    enjoyed this one a lot,

    I especially liked the setting .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Beautiful

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3