Customer Reviews for

The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    William and Darcy met and fell immediately in love.  When Dancy

    William and Darcy met and fell immediately in love.  When Dancy ends up pregnant they quickly head to a Justice of the Peace and get married.   Their life was perfect until, on William’s birthday, he was shot and killed.  A pregnant Dancy grieves so completely that it affected her unborn baby, Bonaventure.




    Bonaventure is born a healthy baby, except he made no sound.  No crying, no fussing.  He was born special and those closest to him knew it.  He has superb hearing, not just hearing but the ability to listen.  Using the talent he helps his family heal, releasing the dark secrets and their hold on his family.




    When I read the description of this novel I was intrigued and hopeful for what I would be reading.  Rita Leganski did not let me down.  This was a slow read for me, not that I didn’t want to keep reading, but I was pulled so deeply into the story I found myself slowing down and savoring every word.  The descriptions of every character made them seem so real.  The sounds Bonaventure hears made everyday items, that I never stop to think about, come alive. 




    What really won me is over is the relationship Bonaventure has with his mother and father.  His mother, Dancy, never doubts that her son is perfect, exactly as he was suppose to be.  His father, who has passed away, comes back as a ghost and manages to connect and share all the valuable lessons a child needs to learn from their father.




    This has to be one of my favorite reads of 2013 so far.  I can already hear my book club discussing and loving this novel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    One of the most original stories I have read in a long time....

    One of the most original stories I have read in a long time.... I was completely enthralled from the first chapter all the way until the last page.  A must read!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Special story

    This book is captivating, extraordinary, and special in ways that will delight your senses and touch your heart. Anyone who has ever glimpsed the wonder of a child making a discovery or taken joy in the simplest elements of nature will be swept away by this incredible novel. I loved every minute spent in the company of Bonaventure Arrow!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Great read!

    A very touching and powerful story full of beautiful imagery and things to ponder. A truly beautiful and engaging book to read! Would be a great one for book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    WOW!!!

    This is absolutely beautifully written. I've read a lot of books that make me think, but this one made me feel and appreciate the littlest things in the world around me. You will smile, you will laugh, you will tear up and you will cry (just a little). I'm so glad I found this little gem of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    What a pleasant and entertaining book!

    What a pleasant and entertaining book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    2nd reading

    I loved this book so much I am reading it for a second time. Beautiful descriptive writing and characters that make you want to read on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    a gift

    ME: An avid reader, a conscious reading snob. For me to review a book at all everything has to be there; plot, characters, pacing, and (mostly) good writing.
    THE BOOK: Nails it. An enthusiastic 5 stars.
    From the first I was drawn in with the rich and languorous writing style. The word I kept finding myself using to describe it was "delicious". The plot unfolded nicely in a setting that was captivating in and of itself. The characters developed in such a way that I really cared about them. The pacing of the conflict kept me reading without sacrificing writing style (per typical best-sellers) and made the resolution immensely satisfying.
    Apparently this is the author's first book. I encourage you to support her by buying her book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Outstanding

    This book is superb. At least once in every few pages, the author gives you a smile -- in the beautiful, precise way she may describe something or the human insight one of her characters may provide. You rarely find writing of this quality in the mystery genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    One of my favorite books of the year!

    I loved this book. Rita has a way with words that put you in the scene filled with the wonder of the leading character. I have told many friends about this book and they loved it as well. I knew the author before she wrote this book and was astounded at the talent I was not aware she posessed..Highly enjoyable..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Five stars

    A must read. I connected with the story right from the start. It was beautifully worded all the way throught. Bonadventure is a character that will have a place in my heart for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    WOW

    This book was excellent. The character development was so well done I truly felt like I knew each character. The writing was superb, particularly the descriptions of how things sound to Bonaventure. It is a sad story but ultimately one of healing and most importantly of living- not just existing but truly living. Rarely do I like a book enough to truly recommend it but this one should be read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Wonderful writing

    This author has a wonderful way with words. I can't begin to note the times that the descriptive language took me into a world that was shadowy images and total imagination. It transported me to a place ,where I could almost smell the damp earth and humid nights of the Louisiana countryside. My only criticism of the story was, that I would have liked more detail about what happened to the protagonist as he grew up and overcame his issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Wonderful beyond words!

    I never imagined the sounds this mute little boy could hear. The descriptions were stunningly beautiful. When i read the author's bio I was equally surprised this was her debut novel. Well done! I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    great boook

    I really enjoyed reading this book and highly recommend it. There's no suspense, no surprise ending, just a really sweet and wonderful story about a little boy with special gifts and the women that love him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Enchanting, magical and filled with grace

    A lovely lyrical telling, of a boy who cannot speak, yet can hear both the creation of the universe and the turning of a page several towns away. To a world of seemingly ceaseless chatter, this book tells a story of silence which speaks louder and speaks to the heart.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Excellent!!

    Just finished this book in paperback. Wonderful characters. Well worth the cost. A+++ job.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2