BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Silent Girl (Rizzoli and Isles Series #9) (with bonus short story Freaks)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Tess Gerritsen is one of the best thriller authors writing today and this book proves it.

Forensic pathologist Dr. Maura Isles testifies against a police officer who is on trial for killing a suspect who allegedly murdered a cop. She broke the blue line and has made enemies of the Boston Police Department. Boston homicide detective Jane Rizzoli remains Mau...
Forensic pathologist Dr. Maura Isles testifies against a police officer who is on trial for killing a suspect who allegedly murdered a cop. She broke the blue line and has made enemies of the Boston Police Department. Boston homicide detective Jane Rizzoli remains Maura's friend but even she wishes the pathologist held the line. Jane and her partner Frank cannot help her, but they are determined to solve an unusual case.

A man who shows the tourists a glimpse into all the haunted places in Chinatown is shocked when one of the children on his tour finds a severed hand. They find the rest of the body on top of a roof near the hand. Jane and Frank have no idea who the Jane Doe is, but the evidence points towards the victim being an assassin for hire. Their investigation leads to Iris Fang who owns the Dragon and Stars Academy of Martial Arts who was widowed nineteen years ago during the massacre at the Red Phoenix Restaurant.. A couple of years later, Iris's daughter disappeared as did the daughter of another victim. There are various people who prefer certain secrets to remain buried about the massacre and disappearances and they are willing to kill to insure this occurs.

Tess Gerritsen is one of the best thriller authors writing today as affirmed by her series going to TV. The action starts immediately on page one and never takes a respite until the finale. Maura plays a minor role as she has enough on her plate with the blue backlash and the emphasis on the police investigation. Readers get glimpses as to what is happening in Jane's personal life while much of the support cast adds complexity to the prime whodunit. The Silent Girl showcases the author at the top of her game with this certain bestseller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

80 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tess Gerritsen is one of the best thriller authors writing today and this book proves it.

    Forensic pathologist Dr. Maura Isles testifies against a police officer who is on trial for killing a suspect who allegedly murdered a cop. She broke the blue line and has made enemies of the Boston Police Department. Boston homicide detective Jane Rizzoli remains Maura's friend but even she wishes the pathologist held the line. Jane and her partner Frank cannot help her, but they are determined to solve an unusual case.

    A man who shows the tourists a glimpse into all the haunted places in Chinatown is shocked when one of the children on his tour finds a severed hand. They find the rest of the body on top of a roof near the hand. Jane and Frank have no idea who the Jane Doe is, but the evidence points towards the victim being an assassin for hire. Their investigation leads to Iris Fang who owns the Dragon and Stars Academy of Martial Arts who was widowed nineteen years ago during the massacre at the Red Phoenix Restaurant.. A couple of years later, Iris's daughter disappeared as did the daughter of another victim. There are various people who prefer certain secrets to remain buried about the massacre and disappearances and they are willing to kill to insure this occurs.

    Tess Gerritsen is one of the best thriller authors writing today as affirmed by her series going to TV. The action starts immediately on page one and never takes a respite until the finale. Maura plays a minor role as she has enough on her plate with the blue backlash and the emphasis on the police investigation. Readers get glimpses as to what is happening in Jane's personal life while much of the support cast adds complexity to the prime whodunit. The Silent Girl showcases the author at the top of her game with this certain bestseller.

    Harriet Klausner

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Read

    I loved reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for a few hours.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    ELECTRIFYING!

    "The Silent Girl" is beautifully written, engrossing, fast-paced, and suspenseful. The story begins with the discovery of the body of a young woman on a roof, a deep slash to her throat and a hand severed that certainly reveals murder. Rizzoli discovers the possible connections to a mass murder at a Chinatown restaurant nineteen years earlier. A 60ish martial arts master and her young associate are the interesting suspects that keep the reader entertained throughout the book. When a retired police officer who was investigating the case got too close and was murdered, Jane, her partner, Barry Frost, and new-to-the-team Officer Tam were led to information about two missing teenagers who had each lost parents in the Chinatown murder. Rizzoli's final discovery at the hands of the killer leaves the reader desperate to get to the electrifying conclusion. Tess Gerritsen, as always, kept me mystified and thoroughly entertained with The Silent Girl. I will buy every book she puts on the market. Madison Pridgen, A member of Between the Lines book club

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    What? Does noone understand the concept of a library any more?

    I am sorry to say I haven't read the book yet because there are others ahead of this on my "must be read list" but I am a bit disgruntled by all the individuals griping about the cost of books....whether they are hardbound, paperback or ebook. I haven't purchased a book in years and definitely read all the goodies that come out. Use your local library. Get on their mailing list. See when the next books of your favorite authors will be out. You too can be first on the list to get the next book. Instead of complaining about something over which you have no control, try doing something where you do have control.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    You spend 5 to 8 dollars for a coffee!!!!

    I'd rather spend 12.99 for a book that 7 dollars for a coffee drink. It is all a matter of priorities. A good read lasts for several days. Two coffees go right through you. Tess Gerritsen is always a good read. I am looking forward to her new book. It is cheaper than the hardback, which I would have bought, and I don't have to find a place to store it.
    Get over it.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Thrilling

    Although I have yet to read the other installments in Tess Gerritsen's Rizzoli & Isles series, I found myself completely captivated by this exciting new thriller. Not only did The Silent Girl pull me into the Rizzoli&Isles bandwagon, but I also couldn't help reading it in one sitting. This new thriller and mystery follows the murder that happens in a Chinatown alley, where Rizzoli discovers a severed hand and later a body. The novel is told through many POVs, adding quite a bit of depth and perspective to the tale. I have to say that I loved Tess' characters and writing. Her characters were realistic, exciting, interesting, and conspicuous; a bunch I'd love to meet. Her writing was smooth and descriptive; very easy to read and a breeze to get through without feeling like you've missed anything important. Tess gives you detail. The detail in her novel is by far my favorite aspect, aside from the wonderful mystery she managed to concoct. The detail and background information she provided for every character and for every event that happened was perfect, which means there was no confusion what so ever on my part. The air of mystery and suspense that Tess brought to the novel was incredibly exciting and captured my attention with an astounding pull. Fair to say that The Silent Girl made me a fan and I'll be sure to check out the other novels very soon. The Silent Girl, Tess Gerritsen's newest installment in her Rizzoli & Isles series is available July 5th in hardcover and is a recommended read for fans of her series and for those who are looking for an edge-of-your-seat exciting thriller.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    WELL.....

    Not the best of the series. I found myself struggling to get through it. Loved the Rizzoli and Isles series though.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Excellent

    As usual Gerritsen doesn't fail to live up to her reputation for fast moving, realistic drama. In this book she is probing a different culture than most of us are familiar with, and she does it well. Too bad the TV show is not as good as these awesome books are, but that's the way it works, I guess. While Angie Harmon is a good actress, she is not Rizzoli. Read the book....you'll understand.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A really good one..........

    I enjoy the Rizzoli and Isles novels -- this one is exceptional! Gripping story and very difficult to put down. Tess Gerritsen is by far the best at suspense and mystery!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Tess Gerritsen is one of the best female authors around. I can hardly wait for her next new book! As with her other books, this book keeps you on your seat and is hard to put down until you are done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Hated it!

    I think all the good reviews are posted by her family and friends.

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Intriging all the way

    Captivating read from beginning to end. Cannot wait for Tess Gerrittsen next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Disappointing...

    I, too, bemoan the high cost of ebooks, especially for those of us on fixed incomes in this dreadful economy. That said, I borrowed the book from my state downloadable library, where I get about 90% of my ebooks. (I've had my nook for more than a year, and only read ebooks.) I know when the new books come in each week, and I lurk on the site at that time... I snagged The Silent Girl the day it became available! It had a double-digit waiting list the next day! Have to say I'm glad I didn't buy it. It was sort of a page turner, but still fairly predictable. But what I really didn't like is the loose ends with Maura. I'm guessing they will be the intro thread to the next installment of Rizzoli and Isles, but it was still very disconcerting. Overall, this was only mediocre in terms of what I expect from Tess Gerritsen. I'll certainly look for the next book in this series, but you can bet I won't rush right out and buy it. Same for the James Patterson books, and a few other same-old, same-old authors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent police work, Chinatown mysteries

    A Rizzoli and Isles story that is very well written and takes the reader to Chinatown where things are done in their own way and in their own time. Where history is a huge part of their lives, both how they act in the present and in the future. Tess Gerritsen had her mothers roots in China to give her inspiration that made her dig deeply for research for this story that takes you to those areas, both past and present, and gives you a feeling that you are living with The Silent Girl. The story begins with a small Chinese girl being followed by two men, all three being observed by an older Chinese woman. The men had one thing in mind and when they trapped the young girl they started to do their evil sexual deed but the observing woman stepped in and creamed the two men making them scatter on their way. The woman knew the young girl and was trying to make a connection to help her. The girl eventually believed that the woman was there to help, not hurt the girl. The story skips ahead seven years when Dr. Maura Isles is testifying in a very controversial trial. Dr. Isles is a medical examiner and was giving evidence detrimental to a Boston Police Department Officer. The officer was a hero but the evidence that Dr. Isles was presenting was turning all in the courtroom against her. A young Chinese boy was giving an unauthorized tour to some tourists he had persuaded to join his tour of Chinatown's dangerous and murderous areas. When he took the group to a Chinese restaurant, The Red Phoenix, some strange "shadows" appeared that scared Billy and his tour members. Detective Jane Rizzoli and her partner, Detective Barry Frost, were called to the scene where the strange things had occurred during Billy's tour. A severed hand was found and a very expensive gun but nothing else at this site. The detectives climbed to the roof of the old apartment house to see if there were any clues there. They did find what was no doubt the rest of the body to which the hand had been attached. Detective Tam was called into the case since in Chinatown little English was spoken. Tam was a good detective and knew quite well the entire area of Chinatown including its past history. He was also aware of the murders that had taken place years earlier in the Red Phoenix when the cook was suspected of killing others and himself creating a mess in Chinatown. The lore of Chinatown, the mystery of the Red Phoenix, the appearance and disappearance of fast moving creatures, the class teaching much of the Chinese hand to hand safety, the many mysteries, some understandable but most not comprehensible to those not Chinese, all combine to create a real page turner. While that is a very much over used phrase, you will find it defiantly describes The Silent Girl. You will fall in love with some of the characters and you will hate others. You will think you have the entire unknown mastered but then you find out you are wrong. That is what this great story does to you. Of course the ending will blow you away once again after you think you have it all figured.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Always a Good Read

    This author never disappoints. On another subject, those of you who are angry about book prices, vent your thoughts somewhere else...not on these book reviews where folks come to see reviews of THE BOOK. Call B&N if you have to, go to their website, go to the stores, but please STOP ranting HERE?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended, but watch for her next one.

    Not one of Tess Gerritsen's best. I was a little disappointed, but it won't stop me from buying her next one. She will undoubtedly make a resounding comeback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2014

    A breath of fresh air.  One of the best I have read in a while.

    A breath of fresh air.  One of the best I have read in a while.  All the elements of a great movie.
    Lots of twists and turns.  Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    hello?!?

    Is anyone here? I need to know what to if my cat is puking up yellow slime!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Good plot

    I am a fan of Tess Gerritsen and of the TV show. While there are differences in the portrayal of the characters, I find the books more entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    EXCELLENT THIS STORY IS ACTION FILLED. . GOOD PLOT AND I LOV

    EXCELLENT
    THIS STORY IS ACTION FILLED.
    . GOOD PLOT AND I LOVED THE ENDING.
    SANDY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21