BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Silent Girl (Rizzoli and Isles Series #9) (with bonus short story Freaks)

Average Rating 4
( 414 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Tess Gerritsen is one of the best thriller authors writing today and this book proves it.

Forensic pathologist Dr. Maura Isles testifies against a police officer who is on trial for killing a suspect who allegedly murdered a cop. She broke the blue line and has made enemies of the Boston Police Department. Boston homicide detective Jane Rizzoli remains Mau...
Forensic pathologist Dr. Maura Isles testifies against a police officer who is on trial for killing a suspect who allegedly murdered a cop. She broke the blue line and has made enemies of the Boston Police Department. Boston homicide detective Jane Rizzoli remains Maura's friend but even she wishes the pathologist held the line. Jane and her partner Frank cannot help her, but they are determined to solve an unusual case.

A man who shows the tourists a glimpse into all the haunted places in Chinatown is shocked when one of the children on his tour finds a severed hand. They find the rest of the body on top of a roof near the hand. Jane and Frank have no idea who the Jane Doe is, but the evidence points towards the victim being an assassin for hire. Their investigation leads to Iris Fang who owns the Dragon and Stars Academy of Martial Arts who was widowed nineteen years ago during the massacre at the Red Phoenix Restaurant.. A couple of years later, Iris's daughter disappeared as did the daughter of another victim. There are various people who prefer certain secrets to remain buried about the massacre and disappearances and they are willing to kill to insure this occurs.

Tess Gerritsen is one of the best thriller authors writing today as affirmed by her series going to TV. The action starts immediately on page one and never takes a respite until the finale. Maura plays a minor role as she has enough on her plate with the blue backlash and the emphasis on the police investigation. Readers get glimpses as to what is happening in Jane's personal life while much of the support cast adds complexity to the prime whodunit. The Silent Girl showcases the author at the top of her game with this certain bestseller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

80 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Thrilling

    Although I have yet to read the other installments in Tess Gerritsen's Rizzoli & Isles series, I found myself completely captivated by this exciting new thriller. Not only did The Silent Girl pull me into the Rizzoli&Isles bandwagon, but I also couldn't help reading it in one sitting. This new thriller and mystery follows the murder that happens in a Chinatown alley, where Rizzoli discovers a severed hand and later a body. The novel is told through many POVs, adding quite a bit of depth and perspective to the tale. I have to say that I loved Tess' characters and writing. Her characters were realistic, exciting, interesting, and conspicuous; a bunch I'd love to meet. Her writing was smooth and descriptive; very easy to read and a breeze to get through without feeling like you've missed anything important. Tess gives you detail. The detail in her novel is by far my favorite aspect, aside from the wonderful mystery she managed to concoct. The detail and background information she provided for every character and for every event that happened was perfect, which means there was no confusion what so ever on my part. The air of mystery and suspense that Tess brought to the novel was incredibly exciting and captured my attention with an astounding pull. Fair to say that The Silent Girl made me a fan and I'll be sure to check out the other novels very soon. The Silent Girl, Tess Gerritsen's newest installment in her Rizzoli & Isles series is available July 5th in hardcover and is a recommended read for fans of her series and for those who are looking for an edge-of-your-seat exciting thriller.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A really good one..........

    I enjoy the Rizzoli and Isles novels -- this one is exceptional! Gripping story and very difficult to put down. Tess Gerritsen is by far the best at suspense and mystery!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Tess Gerritsen is one of the best female authors around. I can hardly wait for her next new book! As with her other books, this book keeps you on your seat and is hard to put down until you are done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Good plot

    I am a fan of Tess Gerritsen and of the TV show. While there are differences in the portrayal of the characters, I find the books more entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Good

    Enjoyed the story, the mystery, and how it all wrapped up inthe end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    A girl

    A girl with fiery red hair and crystal blue eyes sits at the edge of a pool. She wears a blue bikini. a fence encases the estate and the glass door to the house is open

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Love the author, book serious & tv show

    Great book, suspensful and an amazing ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Kept me guessing

    The characters let the action move the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful Mystery

    Quote from Silent Girl: "Or maybe it's the building. In Chinatown, they consider it haunted. They say when you step inside, evil attaches itself to you." He looked at Jane. "And follows you home."

    First, I have to tell you that I am a huge fan of Tess Gerristen and that I have read all of her work. I think that she is one of the best mystery suspense thriller authors of this decade.

    Silent Girl centers on a homicide that occurs in Chinatown in Boston, MA. A ghost tour guide and his group discover a severed hand. The hand is found outside the building where a grisly murder-suicide massacre occurred 19 years ago. Once Rizzoli, Frost and an eager young Chinese recruit named Tam arrive on the scene they discover the rest of the body. It belongs to a beautiful young woman, whose car contains a GPS with two addresses. One address belongs to a Chinese woman whose husband was murdered in the massacre and the other to the Detective who investigated it. As Detective Jane Rizzoli and Dr. Maura Isles investigate they find clues connecting the massacre to the mysterious disappear of two young girls. The characters in this book are strong, loveable, intelligent and Gerristen gives them depth.

    This story was suspenseful and drew me in from the beginning keeping me on edge. Gerritsen attention to detail and medical knowledge make this book superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Great book

    The death of a mysterious woman whose hands is cut off leads to a interesting, winding investigation that links to a horrible shooting that occurred 19 years ago. This was amazing book whose twists and turns kept me guessing until the end. Just like the Bone Garden, also written by Tess Gerritsen, this book does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Review by someone who's actually read the book!

    I had almost given up on the Rizzoli and Isles series. I did not like the last 3 books in the series at all. This book, however, was a really good read and reminded me more of the earlier books and why I like reading Tess Gerritsen's books. It had a good mystery and good use of all the characters. There was very little of Anthony Sansone and Daniel Brophy, two characters and plot lines I believe are the reasons I didn't enjoy the past 3 books. I think it was kind of easy to see where the storyline was heading and who would be involved, but I still enjoyed the story to get there and it didn't take away from the book. I recommend everyone checking this book out and if you don't like the price, get it at the library! Stop writing non-reviews with 1 stars that don't reflect the quality of the book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6