Customer Reviews for

The Silent Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

I agree! Please just give us a review not a darn book report!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

132 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

L

I really wish these plot spoilers would learn how to write a review. A review is simply a few lines telling if you liked the book or not. You do not have to write a book report on it, this is not high school or college, where you have to give away every detail including...
I really wish these plot spoilers would learn how to write a review. A review is simply a few lines telling if you liked the book or not. You do not have to write a book report on it, this is not high school or college, where you have to give away every detail including the ending. You plot spoilers ruin it for other readers. And before some smart aleck says dont read them....i dont. But when you have to scroll past miles of posts where they tell every detail, you will see something that gives away the story, thereby ruining it for you. Please plot spoikers, have the decency to think of other ppl and stop ruining books by telling the entire plot line. Please stop it. Bn, please ban these ppl, please?

posted by 8888649 on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    L

    I really wish these plot spoilers would learn how to write a review. A review is simply a few lines telling if you liked the book or not. You do not have to write a book report on it, this is not high school or college, where you have to give away every detail including the ending. You plot spoilers ruin it for other readers. And before some smart aleck says dont read them....i dont. But when you have to scroll past miles of posts where they tell every detail, you will see something that gives away the story, thereby ruining it for you. Please plot spoikers, have the decency to think of other ppl and stop ruining books by telling the entire plot line. Please stop it. Bn, please ban these ppl, please?

    132 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Thanks for the spoilers!!!

    Well i was all set to read this, until i read the reviews. Please for the love of god, DON'T PUT SPOILERS IN YOUR REVIEW!!! Now I know what happens, stupid jackasses!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No go.

    It was not as good as I hoped it would be. Should NOT be compared to Gone Girl that book was soooooo damn good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Disappointing. Def not the next "Gone Girl".... Kept

    Disappointing. Def not the next "Gone Girl".... Kept waiting on something more dramatic...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Dont do it

    Boring. By the time i reached the end i was skimming just so i could be done with it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    I absolutely hated this book.  

    I absolutely hated this book.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    I agree; please no more Reader Digest version reviews...just how

    I agree; please no more Reader Digest version reviews...just how you liked the book and why. I second the suggestion of BN banning story synopsis reviews. If I know a detailed plot and the ending I don't buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Boring

    I rarely write comments but this book really was not good. It was really a good thing that it was not very long as if it went on anymore i could not have finished it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    A Tom

    Walks in...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    This book was BORING!!!! Skipped through quite a few pages. Sile

    This book was BORING!!!! Skipped through quite a few pages. Silent Wife was a waste of my time. Don't waste your time buying this book. and it is def not Gone Girl. The PLOT was dry….dry…..dry……bunch of psycho babble from the wife. Should of been called DRY GIRL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    A waste of my time

    Pretentious and condescending. I couldn't get past page 27.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Hmmmm.....?

    I only looked at the cover....and my question is......is she really silent? I mean she's got to at least talk sometime. How did she get married? Just kiding!!XD I bet it's a good book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Hard to get into

    Boring and too long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Overrated

    3 1/2 stars? Really? That's 3 stars too many! I found myself struggling to finish this one, by the middle of the book, I just didn't care about either the wife or the husband anymore! Who ever thought to compare this book to "GONE GIRL", was sorely mistaken. Don't waste your time or your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Save your money!!

    To compare this book to Gone Girl is unfair! Silent Wife is not nearly the page turner I was expecting. None of the characters were likable and I found myself just trying to get to the end that was supposedly "unexpected"..............don't buy it, get it from your local library if you still feel compelled to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Not impressed

    I felt like this book was building up to something but the book was stagnant. The characters didn't have much personality. overall I was disappointed with the lack of depth with the characters and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Boooooo.

    Boooooo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Silentclan

    Claimed by Silentclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    The Silent Wife

    When I first heard about this novel I could not wait to get my hands on it. I must admit now that I don't think it possible to have been more disappointed. I usually finish every book I start because I believe that in order to judge something as such you must read it entirely. I could not do that with this one. The writing was boring and slow and the characters had no redeeming qualities whatsoever. There was nothing about it that got me excited. As a matter of fact in as many as a hundred pages there wasn't anything that could even grab and hold my attention. When I would think about reading this book for the sake of being able to write my review I began to dread it, it felt as if it was work I had to get done but didn't want to. I absolutely LOVE to read, it is without question my favorite past time, and should never ever feel like work. With all of that being said I do not recommend wasting valuable reading time on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Firekit URGENT

    Im loked out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2