Customer Reviews for

The Silent Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

I agree! Please just give us a review not a darn book report!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

124 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

L

I really wish these plot spoilers would learn how to write a review. A review is simply a few lines telling if you liked the book or not. You do not have to write a book report on it, this is not high school or college, where you have to give away every detail including...
I really wish these plot spoilers would learn how to write a review. A review is simply a few lines telling if you liked the book or not. You do not have to write a book report on it, this is not high school or college, where you have to give away every detail including the ending. You plot spoilers ruin it for other readers. And before some smart aleck says dont read them....i dont. But when you have to scroll past miles of posts where they tell every detail, you will see something that gives away the story, thereby ruining it for you. Please plot spoikers, have the decency to think of other ppl and stop ruining books by telling the entire plot line. Please stop it. Bn, please ban these ppl, please?

posted by 8888649 on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Not Gone Girl

    Someone said this is the next "Gone Girl", not even close! Was not surprised or even interested. The characters in this book are not all that interesting or deep for that matter. It was a challenge to finish, but I did hoping for that dramatic twist that never came to light.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Entertaining, the end left much to be desired. Lots of topics br

    Entertaining, the end left much to be desired. Lots of topics brought up but not explored very deeply. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    This book was touted as this years Gone Girl,,,,,not even close.

    This book was touted as this years Gone Girl,,,,,not even close. The characters were all deeply flawed, it was impossible to like any of of them. It was a struggle getting through it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    ?

    I did not see this book as a psychological thriller at all. I see it as a book about a couple of screwed up individuals who think of no one but themselves. Definately not a page turner and i find myself wondering where all the twists were that other reviewers mentioned - at times i wondered if I was even reading the same book that they had.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    the book was a typical summer read if you're someone  looking fo

    the book was a typical summer read if you're someone  looking for something quick, the story line was unique and intriguing but the ending was so awful i wished i had never read it at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Look me in the eye

    It was an ok book.253 pages.if u like reading books on autism then this is a book for you to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Good story, but in no way a "thriller"

    I liked the storyline, but the book never really picked up for me. I couldn't connect with any of the characters. Even the main character, Jodi, was irritating in her willingness to allow her life to happen without ever intervening until the end. I didn't find this comparable to Gone Girl in any way. This book didn't have the thrill or any of the suspense that Gone Girl did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    so, so

    This story was compared to Gone Girl but there is no comparison. It seemed very predictable to me. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Quick and bumpy ride

    Umm, it was okay. The writer was simply boring. I don't feel very invested in the characters. She rambled a LOT about nothing important!!! Too much reflection when she should have moved forward. Otherwise, good bed time story. It always helped me fall asleep. (No pun intended)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    mediocre

    This was not a book I would recommend. It was compared to some really good mysteries like Gone Girl and that is why I purchased it - it was not in the same league. It wasnt a terrible read but certainly not worth the time or money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Gone Girl 2? No.

    This book is being hailed as the next "Gone Girl" -- well to whoever came up with that connection you are sadly wrong. This book follows two pathetic characters who don't know what they want in life through adultery and life after a scandal. I was waiting for something exciting to happen the whole book or for the characters to actually stand up for themselves but honestly, nothing happened the entire time. The only reason it got 2 stars (should be 1.5) is because of the last 30 pages, which frankly were not that awesome. Stick with Gillian Flynn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    I did not enjoy the book. I had to force myself to finish. Read

    I did not enjoy the book. I had to force myself to finish. Read "Gone Girl" or "The Husbands Secret". Same general idea but ten times better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Over-rated! Don't waste you're money!

    Over-rated! Don't waste you're money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Anonymous

    Not even close to Gone Girl. Boring and wordy with two messed up selfish characters. Ending was not exciting at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    I wasn't a huge fan. I've heard this book compared to Gone Girl

    I wasn't a huge fan.

    I've heard this book compared to Gone Girl, but I just don't see that. Though I hated the main characters of Gone Girl for their shallow and disgusting personalities, I enjoyed the complexity of the book. With Silent Wife, I just wanted to shake/slap/wake up the main character. You know from the blurb that Jodi kills Todd and (to me) the strength of the book would be the events leading up to that. However, I was vastly disappointed with it and with Jodi refusing to admit to her actions. She's a psychotherapist but can't seem to recognize her own flaws even when they're pushed right in front of her face. Todd is a despicable character I have no sympathy for, though he at least recognized that he was in the wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Disappointed

    The main characters are neither likable nor respectable. Poor story telling,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Didn't particularly care for the writing style. Finished the book only because I paid for it. Did not know the author was from Toronto before I read the book and I found some of the phrases distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Generic and dull

    Started off fast paced and exciting and became very bland. Utterly predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Disappointed, ending was expecting a better ending.

    Disappointed, ending was expecting a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    This book was pretty good until the end!

    Ending is bad! Enjoyed the book until the end. Harrison really dropped the ball! Almost like he or she got bored and said The End!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2