Customer Reviews for

The Silent Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

I agree! Please just give us a review not a darn book report!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

129 out of 181 people found this review helpful.

L

I really wish these plot spoilers would learn how to write a review. A review is simply a few lines telling if you liked the book or not. You do not have to write a book report on it, this is not high school or college, where you have to give away every detail including...
I really wish these plot spoilers would learn how to write a review. A review is simply a few lines telling if you liked the book or not. You do not have to write a book report on it, this is not high school or college, where you have to give away every detail including the ending. You plot spoilers ruin it for other readers. And before some smart aleck says dont read them....i dont. But when you have to scroll past miles of posts where they tell every detail, you will see something that gives away the story, thereby ruining it for you. Please plot spoikers, have the decency to think of other ppl and stop ruining books by telling the entire plot line. Please stop it. Bn, please ban these ppl, please?

posted by 8888649 on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Interesting....

    Very intriguing

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Not Gone Girl

    This was a good read. A quick, page-turner. But to compare it to the masterpiece that is "Gone Girl" is a bit of a stretch.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    A psychological point of view

    This book has been compared extensively to Gone Girl, but it is much more of a psychological thriller. Yes it involves mystery and suspense, but it is all about what psychologically leads to a murder. I have to admit, maybe I enjoyed it because I am a psychology student so I understood all the psychology facts and references. With this said, it may have seemed a bit slow otherwise. Overall it was interesting and I had a hard time putting it down, but unless you are interested in the psychological aspects of humans, it may not appeal to you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    The Silent Wife was entertaining and had a interesting plot but,

    The Silent Wife was entertaining and had a interesting plot but, was a bit slow at times. In my opinion I wouldn't compare to this book to Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl because I feel Gone Girl's plot was more unique and original than The Silent Wife.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    I did read Gone Girl and both endings were unexpected Overall it

    I did read Gone Girl and both endings were unexpected
    Overall it was ok

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Okay, not as good as expected

    Had Avery interesting twist but overall was just okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Good, but not great!

    I had very high expectations for this book, and that might be why I was disappointed. It has a slow beginning and I think it speeded up about half way through. Don't buy if your expecting thrills and chills.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    May

    She goes to result three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Pretty good, but had potential to be so much better

    Good plot but summary gave too much away. Too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Good book

    I don't see a fare compare between gone girl and this one, I thought it was going to be better, more plot and twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Read it

    Starts strong and interesting. Like the format and writing style but got abit drawn out at some points. Would recommend for people who like psych subjects. But not for everyone..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    Pretty good

    Interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Refreshing Writing Style

    It took me a while to get into this book. I didn't care for the characters. However, I found myself really enjoying her writing style. It's very easy reading yet very descriptive of the psychology of the two central characters. The book really picked up toward the end though the ending left me hanging a bit. I would recommend this book simply for the style and keen observations of modern relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Three out of five

    Wordy at times. Entertaining. Good, not great. Gone girl was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Anonymous

    Really really Good. Could not put it down. Finished in two nights. Kept you guessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book, but it is nowhere near as good as "Gone Girl" by Gillian Flynn. It was interesting to show how the relationship deteriorated rather than just depict someone snapping suddenly. Any more praise and I would be in spoiler territory, but if you liked "Gone Girl" then you should check this one out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Silentclan leader?

    I need a clan-Rattlefang
    Formerly Viperstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    It was a quick read and I liked the plot. I did not like either

    It was a quick read and I liked the plot. I did not like either of the characters, so that made it a little difficult to get through. It was interesting to see how each of them actually became more like the parent they never wished to emulate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Adequate

    I enjoyed Gone Girl more but Silent Wife has nothing to hang its head about. Solid story line, interesting twists....moves along a bit slow. Good chaaracter development of primary players.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Read it because it was compared to Gone Girl. I read it quick be

    Read it because it was compared to Gone Girl. I read it quick because I really want to see what would happen next. If you are looking for a fast read, this is your book. I wouldnt say it was as good as Gone Girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3