Customer Reviews for

The Silver Sphere

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the concept and I'm a major fan of fantasy. The story wa

    I loved the concept and I'm a major fan of fantasy. The story was original, and I found imagery superb. You really feel as if you are walking among the Kin and that always makes for an awesome read.




    What you can't tell from the cover or blurb, is that this is a multi-person point of view novel. They are a personal favorite of mine because you see so many different angles, and when they finally come together it's akin to watching fireworks.




    With that being said, I think the blurb doesn't do this story enough justice. Written for YA, but I think this book can span multiple ages too. It combines and crosses urban fantasy with what felt like a more medieval setting that really brought an interesting feel to the story. As a kid I always wondered what it would be like for the current me to go back in time, that is where Silver Sphere takes you, except you visit a whole nother world instead :) I look forward to future works from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Reviewed by Maria Beltran for Readers' Favorite Orphaned from h

    Reviewed by Maria Beltran for Readers' Favorite

    Orphaned from her mother at a young age, Shelby Pardon does not have a happy childhood. She gets away from her abusive father by frequenting the library, where she is one day teleported to the planet Azimuth together with Mr. Dempsey. There, she discovers herself to be a Kin to one of the six Aulic Assembly members and this is the start of her extraordinary adventure. The villain in the story is Malefic Cacoethes who wants to rule the world. Biskara, his evil father, commands the Nightlanders and the cruel Malefic and it looks as though they are going to succeed in their mission. However, Biskara is being followed by the Assembly with an armillary device called the silver sphere. And Shelby may well succeed in finding the other Kin and learn the art of combat that could turn the tide around. 

    "The Silver Sphere" by Michael Dadich is a science fiction and fantasy novel that is quite entertaining. Although the plot has some similarity to other fantasy novels like "Twilight", "Harry Potter" and others, it still comes out as original because Dadich has a very fertile imagination. The story happens fast and there is enough action to entertain the most discriminating of science fiction novel readers. The strength of "The Silver Sphere" is in the originality of its characters and the vivid description of the universe where they live in.  Inventive and creative, the author also comes up with interesting creatures. Reading this book will bring you to strange lands and make you feel the urgency and danger of the situation at hand. In spite of myself, I find myself cheering for the heroes of "The Silver Sphere" as if my life depends on it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Reviewed by Gayani Hathurusingha for Readers' Favorite In the n

    Reviewed by Gayani Hathurusingha for Readers' Favorite

    In the novel "The Silver Sphere", Michael Dadich transports the reader to a marvelous fantasy world. The inhabitants of the planet Azimuth seek the assistance of their 'kin' on Earth to defeat an ancient evil. The selected individuals are picked up from Earth and are taken away to an unknown world through a mobile portal. Unaware of what awaits them, these people are thrown together to form a team of warriors to fight for an alien planet.

    Author Michael Dadich knows the way to a fantasy reader's heart, and that is by successfully combining fantasy with reality, and he has done just that in "The Silver Sphere". It is not a story of machines or computers, but of humans who had to deal with unexpected situations and crisis. The plot is fast-paced and quite riveting at times. The dramatic presentation arrests the attention of the reader throughout the story. "The Silver Sphere" is a must-read for any lover of taut, suspenseful fantasy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Reviewed by Mina Rivera for Readers' Favorite A story of 6 teen

    Reviewed by Mina Rivera for Readers' Favorite

    A story of 6 teens brought together to save a planet from total destruction. This is how "The Silver Sphere" may be summarized in one sentence. It might sound so simple and cliche-like, but that is because you have not looked into the details or read the book in its entirety. These teens were originally from the planet Azimuth. They were born to be Kin: counterparts of the 6 Aulic Assembly members protecting the Silver Sphere. The Silver Sphere is the one object stopping the evil Biskara from ruling Azimuth and it must be protected at all costs. The 6 teens, Shelby, Zach, Max, Stuart, and two others thought they were ordinary teens on Earth. But all that changed when they received a private message saying "You are needed!" 

    Although the concept in the story is not entirely original, I still felt that the way Michael Dadich weaves the concepts together is  original. I was a bit reluctant in reading "The Silver Sphere" since I was not familiar with the author. But, the cover of this book was really urging me to read the book. I do not regret giving in to that urge. "The Silver Sphere" is an enjoyable read, one that can successfully transport the reader to another world along with its characters. Michael Dadich's characters are well thought of. His writing is exceptional and magnetic. From the way the story ends, I could easily surmise that this is a series. And I can't wait to read the rest of it. Just like "Harry Potter" and "Wheel of Time", this is one of those series that I'd definitely follow. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Reviewed by Stephanie Dagg for Readers' Favorite "The Silv

    Reviewed by Stephanie Dagg for Readers' Favorite

    "The Silver Sphere: The Kin Chronicles" by Michael Dadich is an exciting YA fantasy. Shelby, Zach and four other youngsters are unexpectedly called to help the planet Azimuth and are transported to Meridia, one of its countries. They discover that each of them is Kin to a member of Azimuth’s Aulic Assembly all of whom have been captured by the wicked Malefic of the Nightlanders, who personify the ancient evil Biskara. The humans – the Kin who are linked to the assembly by psychic links - inherit the special abilities of the assembly member they replace and have to lead the battle to keep Azimuth, and ultimately also Earth, out of the hands of the enemy. They need the help of the Silver Sphere to do this, an armillary sphere, an old astronomical device, that gives the co-ordinates of where to find Biskara, so it is crucial to them. But only the Assembly members can operate it. 

    This is a very interesting and entertaining story. The Kin, none of them particularly special or promising to begin with, rise to the challenge they are suddenly faced with quickly and develop strengths and qualities they never knew they had. They prove to have been good choices. Azimuth is a fascinating new world for us to discover, with much that is good as well as much that is truly evil in the form of the Nightlanders. We meet witches and demons too. The story is gripping and has depth to it. Fantasy and science fiction intermingle to create a complex plot that moves at a sharp pace and grabs your attention from the very beginning. There is more to come in this series which is already a very impressive addition to this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Shelby and Zach are two seemingly average kids with less than gr

    Shelby and Zach are two seemingly average kids with less than great home/school lives. During yet another day of bullies and abusive fathers, the two are contacted by mysterious people who claim to need their help. Shelby, Zach, and several other kids are transported to another world, called Azimuth. Upon their arrival to Azimuth, the children assume their position as Kin, and physically age and gain new clothes. The kids are understandably confused, but after some exposition their mission is made clear. Their foremost goal is to defeat the Malefec and Biskara by locating The Silver Sphere, an ancient artifact.

    The Silver Sphere has elements of the good-old-fashioned rise to adulthood tales, as each child learns more about their destiny, character, and worth as an individual as they surmount each new trial. I also liked that not all the kids were together from the start. They are summoned to different parts of Azimuth, and Zach spends a good portion of the story wandering the land when he doesn't meet up with the people sent to pick him up. It gives more variety to the adventure.

    The perspective of the story is third person, but attached itself to different characters with each chapter. The editing and formatting was pretty well done. The writing style was a bit plain, but it was easy to understand and there were some nice word choices here and there. A few chapters in I think the author found their footing and the prose was spiced up a bit. So, while the writing wasn't too polished it seems to be about level with a lot of other YA offerings. I liked the premise and the ending, which wraps up several plot threads while leaving things open for a sequel, so I'd suggest this book to anyone in need of an engaging fantasy tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    The Silver Sphere¿ starts with intrigue and accelerates quickly

    The Silver Sphere” starts with intrigue and accelerates quickly into almost non-stop action. While there are a multitude of characters (honestly, so many I had trouble keeping track of them), the main focus is on a group of teenagers who are magically transported from Earth to an alternate realm called Azimuth—where they are somehow stronger, faster, and older than they were back at home. Most of the characters are introduced in the first few chapters; the highlights include Shelby, whose relationship with her alcoholic father lends realism and poignancy to the book, and Zach, a bullied teen whose bravery and pluck will resonate with readers. The group of six soon learns that they are “Kin”—and they can connect psychically with their counterparts in the Aulic Assembly, who operate the Silver Sphere. The Silver Sphere is used to track the celestial coordinates of Biskara, an ancient evil who has made the Assembly disappear and who will destroy Azimuth (and ultimately Earth) if he is not stopped.

    Thus the Kin start off on their journey to save Azimuth, forming close bonds amongst themselves and those they meet in their new world. Azimuth is vividly drawn, and the author has put a lot of work into making the world come alive with attention to detail in regard to both the people/species that live there and the actual physical environment. The various characters each get their turn in the spotlight, allowing the reader to get to know each of them and their individual traits, strengths, and weaknesses. For readers who like a little romance, there is a light sprinkling of it and signs that more may come in Dadich’s future entries in the series (I especially liked Zach and Morgana and would love to see more of that in a future novel!). There’s also plenty of action for those who like their books packed with it—the Kin meet various formidable foes on their journey, and the battle sequences are described cleanly but clearly, keeping the novel moving along at a fast clip.

    In sum, Michael Dadich’s “The Silver Sphere” is a good fantasy with a light touch of sci-fi and should please fans of both genres, especially those who love multi-book epics with fully realized and rendered worlds. I would definitely pick up the next book in the series to see how things turn out for the Kin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Rating 4.5 out of 5 The Silver Sphere is a young adult, fantasy-

    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Silver Sphere is a young adult, fantasy-adventure novel about 6 teenagers on Earth that find out they're Kin on a different world, Azimuth. They each received a summons and found themselves transported to the world. Each kin has a special link to a member of the assembly, a political/warrior group that are the only ones able to operate the Silver Sphere. The silver sphere is a device that allows the assembly to track the whereabouts of a dangerous evil, Biskara. He is a celestial being that operates by sending orders to his sons to do his bidding - ultimately to conquer the world.
    The kin were summoned because the assembly is missing. Without the assembly they are no longer able to track the whereabouts of Biskara and if Azimuth falls, so does Earth. The Truthseekers need to know where Biskara is so that they can battle him on the celestial field, and so the kin set out to find the missing members of the assembly and make sure that Malific and his nightlanders do not conquer the world.
    The story revolves mostly around Shelby and Zach, each one of the kin. Shelby finds herself transported to Azimuth and meets up with her interceptors, soldiers that opened the portal for her to enter the world. She is soon united with 4 of the other kin: Stuart, Riley, Emily, and Max. Zach, however, does not meet his interceptors and wanders the dangerous woods on his own. He is saved by legendary beings, Fuegues and sent to Throg who assists him in trying to get to the capital.
    From legendary creatures, witches, demons and so much more, The Silver Sphere is constantly moving from one adventure to the next. It is entertaining, exciting and definitely worth the read.
    The only issue I had with the book is that there are so many characters and so much always going on that you don't get a good feel for some of the characters or some parts feel a little rushed. Shelby and Zack are the two main characters that are developed the best. Emily and Riley feel almost nonexistant. Max has a little more depth added to him due to the romance between him and Shelby. The secondary characters can also get a little confusing to keep straight since there's so many of them that they just sort of muddled together.
    I did enjoy the book and will be looking out for the next in the series. If you enjoy fantasy/magical worlds etc I don't think you'd be disappointed with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Well, I don¿t know about you, but I love fantasy literature and

    Well, I don’t know about you, but I love fantasy literature and this book was right up my alley. I loved the concept of earth children being called to save another world. I especially loved that they were children who had a rough life. I thought it was sweet that the librarian, Mr. Dempsey, didn’t just dismiss Shelby’s words as nonsense like a lot of adults do to kids. And I loved that he ended up going through the portal also.

    That said, I did have a difficult time following the book initially. It jumps around in who it follows as there are several main characters. After the first few chapters I got used to the changing views, but it did confuse me somewhat initially.

    Overall, this is a really good book. I give this book 4 out of 5 clouds.


    This product or book may have been distributed for review; this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Ok, I was trying to judbe a book by its cover when I decided tha

    Ok, I was trying to judbe a book by its cover when I decided that I wanted to read this book. I mean, OMG this book's cover is gorgeous. The second thing that grabbed me were the comparisons to The Hunger Games.




    I'm one of the few people that haven't read that series, but I've not heard much bad about it, so I figured I'd give this book a go, and I'm glad I did.




    Very action packed and a quick read.  Great YA for fantasy lovers or for someone looking for something different to read. I didn't find the comparisons to The Hunger Games to be accurate from what I've heard of the other series, but the story was definitely engaging and the ending left me eagerly wanting the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    A Very Unique Read!!

    This book is unlike any I’ve read before. I literally read this book thinking, “Wow!! This is something new!” Now, granted, there were similarities to other novels, great ones too, like The Chronicles of Narnia. But it was a really fun, original plot! The characters were pretty easy to get into. I say pretty easy because the one thing I didn’t like was some of the dialogue. It was sticky, jerky, didn’t read well. And everyone kept saying each other’s names. I think Mr. Dadich did that so he didn’t need dialogue tags, especially in areas where the people talking weren’t visible. I found it distracting. However, the action just ROCKED! The plot really carried this book! It was phenomenal! Man! This book…it was so great to pick it up and read it. I seriously needed something just different! Should you read it? YES!!! OMW! YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1