Customer Reviews for

The Silver Star

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

There is just something about Walls¿s writing that I can¿t defen

There is just something about Walls’s writing that I can’t defend my heart against.  I’m helpless, and I’m forced to say “goodbye” to anything else I was supposed to accomplish while I have her book in my hands.  She writes in a way that’s so intimate yet effortless tha...
There is just something about Walls’s writing that I can’t defend my heart against.  I’m helpless, and I’m forced to say “goodbye” to anything else I was supposed to accomplish while I have her book in my hands.  She writes in a way that’s so intimate yet effortless that it feels as though my best friend since birth is telling me a story over coffee, not that I’m reading a novel on my comfortable couch.  I’ve never read another author that can do this even half as well, and I would love to meet her in person (hint hint: book tour, please make a stop in Phoenix!) and ask her where this quality comes from.
Bean, the character who tells the story in first person, is twelve and is in that precious and frightening time where the entering of adolescence is providing first glimpses into adulthood.  She and her sister are faced with the issues of abandonment, sexism, racism, and politics in the passions of the American South and sometimes it seems as though the rights and wrongs have mixed into such a muddy grey that she doesn’t know what to do.
Even my very minor qualms with the story are truly attributes of the author’s talented writing.  Some of the side characters, other than Bean and Liz, felt under-developed, especially because their mother who was in and out of the story.  But because the story is told from Bean’s perspective and the abandonment by their mother creates such a filter of how they see the world, or possibly even the removal of her inaccurate filter from their vision, I see that Walls was creating the world for the reader that the girls were experience first hand.  Perhaps the development of their mother’s character is a bit latent because that’s the exact role she plays in her daughters’ lives: one of inconsistency.  I’m telling you, she is so impressive that even my small complaints must be turned into raving compliments!
Jeannette Walls’ writing is undeniable, and the complex stories she’s able to tell with the unstoppable voice of an early-adolescent ensures that this book will be a future classic that’s studied in literature classes for years to come.

posted by AmandaListon on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

I enjoyed the beginnng, but the book fell flat. Ending had so much to be desired.

posted by LisatheTeacher on June 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    There is just something about Walls¿s writing that I can¿t defen

    There is just something about Walls’s writing that I can’t defend my heart against.  I’m helpless, and I’m forced to say “goodbye” to anything else I was supposed to accomplish while I have her book in my hands.  She writes in a way that’s so intimate yet effortless that it feels as though my best friend since birth is telling me a story over coffee, not that I’m reading a novel on my comfortable couch.  I’ve never read another author that can do this even half as well, and I would love to meet her in person (hint hint: book tour, please make a stop in Phoenix!) and ask her where this quality comes from.
    Bean, the character who tells the story in first person, is twelve and is in that precious and frightening time where the entering of adolescence is providing first glimpses into adulthood.  She and her sister are faced with the issues of abandonment, sexism, racism, and politics in the passions of the American South and sometimes it seems as though the rights and wrongs have mixed into such a muddy grey that she doesn’t know what to do.
    Even my very minor qualms with the story are truly attributes of the author’s talented writing.  Some of the side characters, other than Bean and Liz, felt under-developed, especially because their mother who was in and out of the story.  But because the story is told from Bean’s perspective and the abandonment by their mother creates such a filter of how they see the world, or possibly even the removal of her inaccurate filter from their vision, I see that Walls was creating the world for the reader that the girls were experience first hand.  Perhaps the development of their mother’s character is a bit latent because that’s the exact role she plays in her daughters’ lives: one of inconsistency.  I’m telling you, she is so impressive that even my small complaints must be turned into raving compliments!
    Jeannette Walls’ writing is undeniable, and the complex stories she’s able to tell with the unstoppable voice of an early-adolescent ensures that this book will be a future classic that’s studied in literature classes for years to come.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    Excellent book ! I could not put it down, read it in two nights

    Excellent book ! I could not put it down, read it in two nights . Would highly recommend. Great characters and story line that had me hooked

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Good Read

    I read a preview in Good Housekeeping Magazine and couldn't get it out of my mind so I bought the book and thoroughly enjoyed reading it. This is the first book I read by Jeannette Walls and I will read more of her books based on other reviewers recommendations as quite a few said her other books were even better.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommended reading!

    Once I started reading The Silver Star I couldn't put it down. The characters were totally authentic. The only reason I gave it four stars is that I think it seems like a YA novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Beautiful, heartbreaking story

    As a fan of Jeannette Walls' writing, the story of these two sisters does not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    The Silver Star

    This is thought provoking and easy to read. It is a good first attempt at a novel for this author of biography. I would give high praise to her other work (Half Broke Horses and Glass Castle). If you enjoy her style you will appreciate this. I would recommend the others first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Quick Read

    Quick fast moving story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Very well seasoned tale

    This book was short and very sweet. It was like indulging in a meal that was perfectly seasoned and filled sstified your literary appetite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Would recommend this book

    This was a good book and followed along the lines of the author's autobiographical book, the Glass Castle. The author spent great time and detail developing her characters as well as the story-line. However, the book ended rather abruptly, in my opinion. I wish that the author would have made the effort to spend more time developing the end of the book as well as she did the beginning and middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Froststorm

    Froststorm bounded into the forest, "going hunting." She called back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Ashpaw

    She stopped and looked back. "Thanks.......dad."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    A heartbreaking story of a brave girl¿s struggle to get hold of

    A heartbreaking story of a brave girl’s struggle to get hold of justice in the harsh adult world, this turned out to be a moving tale of accomplishing triumph against tough conditions with the help of loved ones amidst unfairness and difficulties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    Good reading.

    Not as wonderful as the Glass Castle, but still a fine book about the lives of children with flaky parents. Jeanette Walls truly understands the feeling of children who do not have parents they can count on for support. Heart warming tale of good kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Another great story by Jeannette Walls

    As always I enjoy the unwinding story, Jeannette Walls tells in her books. Easy reading and a story told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Creeksplash

    Fhnkwowksbh bored

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Good easy read!

    I am not a big novel reader but read an preview of this book in the Good Housekeeping mag and then needed to read the rest. Finished the book in 3 days which is sonic speed for me. It was entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Recommended

    A neat story mostly from child's viewpoint but still not a child's story. I enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Captivating storytelling

    I loved the character Bean and the way the story was told from her 12-year old perspective. The storytelling style was reminiscent of Huck Finn to me. The quirky issues just made the small town more up to date and like the eader was in on the small town gossip. It was a truly enjoyable read and I felt sad when ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Loved it!

    This is the third book I've read by Ms. Walls and I am a huge fan. I love how easy it is to fall in love with her stories and the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Recommended if you like Jeanette Walls

    I love Jeanette Walls' other books, so I gave this one a try. It's not her best, but if you like the way she writes, you'll like it. It's a quick read and totally worth your time next to the pool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3