Customer Reviews for

The Silver Star

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

There is just something about Walls¿s writing that I can¿t defen

There is just something about Walls’s writing that I can’t defend my heart against.  I’m helpless, and I’m forced to say “goodbye” to anything else I was supposed to accomplish while I have her book in my hands.  She writes in a way that’s so intimate yet effortless tha...
There is just something about Walls’s writing that I can’t defend my heart against.  I’m helpless, and I’m forced to say “goodbye” to anything else I was supposed to accomplish while I have her book in my hands.  She writes in a way that’s so intimate yet effortless that it feels as though my best friend since birth is telling me a story over coffee, not that I’m reading a novel on my comfortable couch.  I’ve never read another author that can do this even half as well, and I would love to meet her in person (hint hint: book tour, please make a stop in Phoenix!) and ask her where this quality comes from.
Bean, the character who tells the story in first person, is twelve and is in that precious and frightening time where the entering of adolescence is providing first glimpses into adulthood.  She and her sister are faced with the issues of abandonment, sexism, racism, and politics in the passions of the American South and sometimes it seems as though the rights and wrongs have mixed into such a muddy grey that she doesn’t know what to do.
Even my very minor qualms with the story are truly attributes of the author’s talented writing.  Some of the side characters, other than Bean and Liz, felt under-developed, especially because their mother who was in and out of the story.  But because the story is told from Bean’s perspective and the abandonment by their mother creates such a filter of how they see the world, or possibly even the removal of her inaccurate filter from their vision, I see that Walls was creating the world for the reader that the girls were experience first hand.  Perhaps the development of their mother’s character is a bit latent because that’s the exact role she plays in her daughters’ lives: one of inconsistency.  I’m telling you, she is so impressive that even my small complaints must be turned into raving compliments!
Jeannette Walls’ writing is undeniable, and the complex stories she’s able to tell with the unstoppable voice of an early-adolescent ensures that this book will be a future classic that’s studied in literature classes for years to come.

posted by AmandaListon on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

I enjoyed the beginnng, but the book fell flat. Ending had so much to be desired.

posted by LisatheTeacher on June 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. From the first page on it was impossible to p

    I loved this book. From the first page on it was impossible to put down. The characters are so unique and well crafted it moves the story effortlessly. Two thumbs up.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I'm not understanding the 3 star customer reviews that were give

    I'm not understanding the 3 star customer reviews that were given before the book was even published. Has anyone who actually have read this recommend this? And if purchased from Nook, how many pages is it on e-book? I read this from an excerpt in a magazine and wish to read it so bad but it is pretty costly for me. 

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Wonderful Book

    Like her other books, this one does not dissappoint. Great story and characters. I work full time and am a slow reader....finished it in three days. Highly recommend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    A quick and quirky read in the typical style of Jeanette Walls.

    A quick and quirky read in the typical style of Jeanette Walls. I would definitely recommend this to those who enjoyed her previous books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Loved this book! A great read and was hard to put down.

    Loved this book! A great read and was hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommend this book. Great read.

    Loved this book. Could not put it down and I read it in 2 days. I have read all of Jeannette Walls books and have enjoyed each one very much. Just like her other books this would make a good book club read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    i really enjoyed it!

    very interesting book about families, and how they interact, when life throws them a curve.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A must read

    One of those rare reads you do not want to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Amazing! As to be expected.

    Jeannette Walls has done it again. Another book I just couldn't bear to put down. You will not go wrong with this book. The author always seems to know just what to say to make the reader believe the character could have been written about him or her in another life. Brava, Jeannette. Brava!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    I loved this book from beginning to a wonderful ending. Jeannett

    I loved this book from beginning to a wonderful ending. Jeannette Walls makes each character come to life so that you love some and hate others. A truly wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    I love her books. Once I start reading, I can't stop. Jeanette W

    I love her books. Once I start reading, I can't stop. Jeanette Wall's is an exceptional author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Must read

    Jeannette Walls has a way of writing that will not let you put the book down. I have read other books by Ms. Walls and can not wait for another one to come out. She makes you think about how people live in all walks of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Say no to nook sex!

    If you agree come to star res 12 and talk to us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Beautiful!

    My favorite thing about Mrs. Walls is her vivid imagery. Its nearly impossible to put down any of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Mariah

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Jay

    can u help us make a new csmp? Go to res 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Leaders den

    Leader den -- OwlClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Couldn't put it down andcouldnt stop thinking about it. Captured the different settings in wonderful ways. Showed a newer type of parent-child relationship that I personally relate to. Not a cookie cutter story yet the resolve makes sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    wonderful read

    Wonderful story, i was "in" from the start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    To all urgent

    Shinningmoon is locked out!!!!!!!11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5