Customer Reviews for

The Silvered

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    For an exciting adventure fantasy, read The Silvered!

    I loved The Silvered. I've enjoyed most of Tanya Huff's science fiction & fantasy both. I only say most because I haven't yet read all of them. I especially enjoyed the Confederation books, but I loved The Silvered for its exciting adventure as well as her superb handling of the various characters. I used to teach middle school English, and as the School Improvement Coordinator, I purchased thousands of paperbacks for the school. I would definitely have purchased copies of The Silvered for some of the gifted students (One memorized entire passages from Tolkien's Trilogy). All of the Various characters grew and changed, and although I had to cheer for Mirian, I enjoyed seeing Captain Reiter evolve. It's a great stand alone, but I hope these characters get another chance in another novel for another adventure and more self-discovery.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Hands down the best fantasy book i've read all year. Werewolves and mages can be so overdone but Huff creates a unique world and great complicated characters...she also shows instead of tells which i don't always realize i miss until i read an author who does it well. Don't pass this one up!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    The best book with werewolves I've read in several years! Fast p

    The best book with werewolves I've read in several years! Fast paced, and makes you care about the characters.  Lets you see the conflict of some of those working for a government doing evil.  Even some of the enemy grow and change,

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Excellent. If you liked The Fire's Stone, I think you will very

    Excellent. If you liked The Fire's Stone, I think you will very much like this one as well. Strong, endearing characters, a plot that keeps moving, but not at a breakneck pace, and story threads that weave in and out of the main story is such a way as to enhance it, rather than make it overly complex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Zach

    Gets up ad stuffs my hands in my pockets. "Bye Megs"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Megs

    I meant to say wasnt!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Alyssa

    Shes telling the truth..it was me not her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    HUNTING GROUND

    SilverClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Seemed to start out a little slow, but picked up and WOW, an exc

    Seemed to start out a little slow, but picked up and WOW, an excellent read. Anyone new to Fantasy, would do well to start with thisexciting new series, I hope this is at minimum a trilogy, I'd love to see more, these character seem to have endless possibilites .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    One of the best fantasy books I've read in a very long while.  T

    One of the best fantasy books I've read in a very long while.  The characters were well-realized, with wonderful world-building.  Highly, highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Could not put it down!

    My only mistake in choosing this book was to do so on a week night! I loved it! I believe I have read most of Huffs books and this was by far the best. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Mental ther. Or psychologist or friend.

    Say which one u need and ill see what i can do...~Brad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Huff delivers!

    Excellent delivery of characters and how conflict/ war changes your perspective of society and personal perception. All characters develop throughout the storyline. Interesting weaving of how science, shapeshifting, and magery might impact a society's dynamics.

    Initial introduction slow but a part of character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    TRAINING HOLLOW

    Starflight

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Mistkit

    A kit covered with sweat dirt and makeshift leaf bandages tumbles in. She collapses from exhaustion and groans of pain and fear of the future and the pain of her powers(to see the future and to feel everyone elses pain all at once).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Heathershine

    Grabs some herbs.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Med cat den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Good book!

    Some foul language by the soldiers, but character development and the story line in all are very good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Silverstar's legacy

    Silverstar sat with brownclaw in her den smiling and then walked to the nursery her adopted kits and her one biological kit were jumping about playing. "One day we might have kits of our own" brownclaw smiled "maybe" the walked back and silverstar layed down her honey colored fur glistening and smiled "oh brownclaw we have a great clan here" brownclaw nestled into her tiredly yawned and fell asleep silverstar lay awake listening to the sounds of the night and purring fell asleep she awoke to a loud noise and peered outside there was a giant yellow monster with sharp teeth she shook brownclaw "wake up we have to get out!" Brownclaw woke and ran to grab the kits but missed one when he went back in to get her the other kits followed him it was too late the yellow thing crashed with the kits and brownclaw in there "NOOO"

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2