Customer Reviews for

The Single Woman: Life, Love, and a Dash of Sass

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    This book is completely life-changing. I just got out of a relat

    This book is completely life-changing. I just got out of a relationship and just happened upon The Single Woman book while browsing and it's like I was meant to read it! Such truth and encouragement and humor! Wherever you're at in your life, this book will meet you there. It's one you'll read time and time again! A must-have for all women, single or married!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    I was curious when I saw the cute pink cover of this book so I o

    I was curious when I saw the cute pink cover of this book so I opened it and started to read. Two hours later, while sitting in a Chapter’s with my coffee I finished the entire book and then had to buy it. It is the kind of book that you just can’t put down. Mandy speaks to our generation – she is real – she says what others are afraid to say or even think.

    This book is completely life-changing. It is comforting and it will be your best friend. It is very inspirational and motivational for all of us who forget those little but important things in and about our lives. It is captivating and thought provoking. You will want to make all those changes you were afraid of before. Let go of what society dictates. Don’t let society define you – define yourself! This book will help you do just that.

    It touches on heartbreak, stories of encouragement, inspirational messages, and amusing anecdotes. It touches EVERY woman out there, single or married. It motivates in ways that we couldn’t think of ourselves. This book is HOT hot HOT!!! A must read for all. [Magyarlanyka]

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    My daughter Jenna and I had the awesome privilege of meeting





    My daughter Jenna and I had the awesome privilege of meeting Mandy recently and it was truly a blessing in both of our lives. What a wonderful woman of God. Jenna(18) enjoyed the book so much that she read it in 2 days, and I know it had a profound impact on her. I would highly recommend this book to any single or married woman, teenage girls and even single men out there. I love Mandy's transparency throughout the book, it's very inspiring, encouraging, she offers great wisdom and that she shows her faith and trusting God. Being a single man I always look as my singleness as a positive,(and never settling for less than God's best) and Mandy stresses that throughout her book and I love how she stated that our worth as a single person is not tied to another person. Again I highly recommend getting a copy of this book and I guarantee you will want to tell someone about it. ¿

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Booklover1

    I purchased this book thinking it was just another self help book that would tell me everything that was wrong with me any how to fix it. I was pleasantly surprised that this book does not judge a woman for being single, it gives you reasons of why being single should be celebrated. I no longer view my being single as being in a prison, but as an opportunity to love and celebrate my uniqueness each and everyday.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Where do I start? Ok...the Barnes N Noble bookstore in Park Slo

    Where do I start? Ok...the Barnes N Noble bookstore in Park Slope Brooklyn last week. I went in there one morning with my kids just to browse around hoping to find some sort of interesting book. Its been a while since I came across anything "exciting" to read. Looking around, I came across this book. The cover caught my eye. I read the title "The Single Woman". Ok... Im a 44 year old married woman with 2 kids. Been married for 17 years, have known my husband since we were 16. The last thing I needed to do was pick up this book and listen to someone whine about why the single gals all over the world don't have husbands, boyfriends and so on. In my head I could hear my voice saying ( in a very Brooklyn accent), "fuggedaboutit". But I couldn't !! I was curious so I opened the book and started to read. I had only read one line in the book... "Whatever youre facing in life, when the rains of fear come down, let your windshield wipers of faith answer". 3 seconds after reading that ,I found myself in front of the cashier, money in hand! You see this isn't just a book for single women. Although it has stories of heartbreak, stories of encouragement, inspirational messages, funny anecdotes, it pertains TO EVERY woman out there, single or married. It motivates in ways that I could never express on paper. There is a chapter on letting friendships go. Although in Miss Hales situation, it was a female friend who was running around with her boyfriend, the message hit home. Sometimes we have people who are toxic in our lives. Whether they have cheated with your boyfriend or don't appreciate your friendship, the message pertains to both single and married woman....get rid of em! I personally had to do that to someone this week. A 30 year friendship. I really believe had I not read the book, Id still be hanging out to that unhealthy relationship. So a big thank you Miss Hale! Also, I wouldn't even write this if I didn't know that my husband would never read this. I caught him reading the book the other day when he thought I was in another room. Maybe he heard me say what a great book it was the night before....na, he was too busy watching the Mets game, he didn't hear a thing. Whatever it was that made him pick it up, it seems like theres been a chain reaction like that all around the world. Ive read other reviews and tweets and stuff...this book is H-O-T!!! Run out and get it. If the bookstore is out, make them order it for you or order online. I hear that there is going to be a second book coming out next year. March 2014 cant come soon enough!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    This book is really good. I think all ladies should read this bo

    This book is really good. I think all ladies should read this book. Ms. Hale hit all the right points in her book. I now have my 19 year old reading it now so we can talk about. We need more author like Ms. Hale.

    Thanks 
    Mrs.Vondee

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    I enjoyed reading this book reminded me of a lot of things I see

    I enjoyed reading this book reminded me of a lot of things I seemed to forget along my journey of being in relationships then to being single...It so encouraging and helped me to embrace my life as a single mother. I told all my girlfriends to pick up a copy or if they wanted to borrow mine, however I think I may just keep it for those reminders when I seem to get off track. Thank You!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Much needed help at a difficult moment!

    This book brought me so much comfort in a time of trial. It made me laugh and cry. I saw so much of myself in Ms. Hale's writings. But most of all, the book made me think and it gave me hope. It made me realize that I HAVE been living an amazing life and I can continue to do so, no matter what gets thrown my way. Highly recommended for anyone going through any kind of life transition. Thank you Mandy Hale!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Must read!

    Very motivational! You will not want to stop reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended and enjoyable read

    Ok, this is such an easy and fun read. It makes you think twice about your single status and helps realize it's not the horrible stigma everyone tries to make you feel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    This is just what I needed at this time in my life! It's comfort

    This is just what I needed at this time in my life! It's comforting to know there are so many other single women out there in need of some inspiration, and Mandy Hale delivers! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Okay, so this is NOT just another book on Singleness. It's the k

    Okay, so this is NOT just another book on Singleness. It's the kind of book that you can read in one sitting because you CAN'T put it down, or you can read one chapter every day  because it works like a protein shake and gives you that umph you need! Seriously this book, The Single Woman, is full of GOOD drama! It contains intriguing story lines,  cliffhangers, romance and suspense! Mandy Hale is a voice to this generation for ALL women. Her transparency and humor make you feel like you already know you! Just buy the book. It will stay on your nightstand. Mine is. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Captivating! This book captures you as a reader like no other c

    Captivating! This book captures you as a reader like no other can. It is chocked full of wonderful principles that causes the reader to stop and consider how great life is, or certainly can be. It doesn't stop there, it goes on to inspire you to reach for your better self. What an amazing reading experience full of humor, inspiration, and thought provoking wisdom. It is like you are having a personal conversation with the writer. A very rare and wonderful reading experience that everyone will find beneficial and entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Mandy Hale is this generations' more confident, independent Carr

    Mandy Hale is this generations' more confident, independent Carrie Bradshaw! Smart, sassy, sexy, everything  a woman needs to live a happy independent life! The best part of all of Mandy's writings is that she never allows her or any other woman's relationship status define her level of success! Fabulous comes in all shapes sizes and marital statuses and mandy is beautiful, stylish, confident, smart and fabulous! An amazing role model for young women and teenage girls! -Jacy8907- 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    I found myself searching for Independent Women quotes an came ac

    I found myself searching for Independent Women quotes an came across quite a bit of Mandy Hale's quotes. I then searched her name and found "The Single Woman" book. Without hesitation I drove to the book store, bought it and ended up reading the whole book that night. Everything she said was just...perfect.. and put into words I didn't know how to say to others or tell myself. I was in an out of a crappy relationship for 4 years. And just recently have decided single is better. I am raising my two children on my own because I've discovered it is much easier that way. An I actually enjoy being single. People/friends (who are in relationships or not) look at me like I'm crazy. lol But "The Single Woman" book is amazing and I hope to see more from Mandy Hale. It was funny and kept me feeling positive even after I was done reading it. Definitely life changing!! An with there hardly being anything out there that motivates single woman to be the best person they can be, I was so happy to find a book like this!! Remember, you don't need a man to accomplish your goals and IT'S OKAY TO BE SINGLE, single doesn't mean unhappiness!! This book will empower you, I know it did me!! Bring it on world!! :) An thank you Mandy Hale, I can't wait for your next book in March!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Mandy is Heaven Sent

    I follow her both on Facebook and Twitter and I'm not a Christian. But I am single for just over five years now and I found her at a very discouraging time in my life. In all this time I have learned firsthand how much society and Evangelical churches devalue single women for what they see as God's plan-getting married!!! Hello, if God promised a spouse to everyone who asked, then there would be enough men to go round, right? Obviously, marriage IS NOT GOD's ultimate plan, but THEY or rather Satan wants you to believe if you haven't been chosen you'll be denied entry to Heaven or be excluded from God's blessings. Mandy is the first person I know who debunks this poision and tells the truth!!! Marriage is not the greater blessing nor are married people favored, SINGLE PEOPLE ARE!!! Being married is an easy out, being single is harder, yet brings the greater rewards. God wouldn't have chosen us if we weren't strong enough, and still we feel the sadness and longing when yet another person finds their spouse or we're constantly bombarded in the media and from the pulpit that singleness is a curse!!! Every quote Mandy posts is an encouragement, a blessing, and they have helped literally 1000s of women stay strong, and be grateful for this wonderful gift God has chosen to bestow upon his most special children!!! If you are single or know a woman who is either by choice, circumstance, divorce, or widowhood, please give her a copy of this book, regardless of her religion or spiritual practice. It will heal her heart and nourish her soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    Review

    I thought it was a good book. I did not care for the excessive rhyming of words throughout the whole book. It was very annoying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Upbeat, Empowering, and Sensible - Without Being Self-Righteous

    Upbeat, Empowering, and Sensible - Without Being Self-Righteous or Preachy.
    TSW covers Christian living, independence as a single, dating, friendships, and career. An engaging book to read and re-read. Perfect for making a new beginning in life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Chick flick light fluff

    Hesitate to say it is inspirational as blurb suggests the question of the single life outside marriage by choice or circumstance beyond our control is too complicated for a do it yourself book. It is almost impossible to "seek" friends unless there is a large pool of peers e.g. high school. did you keep those friends? You can not call neighbors friends or acquaintances friends or your church members friends or your employees or fellow workers friends. You will have constant disappointments if you do. sometimes out of the people you have contact with sonething "clicks" but cannot be forced. if you do not have a family and extended family to keep you interested in other people problems actions and reactions you will have a problem in relating to people and mistake good manners and politeness and professionalism for friendship. Get a dog or a cat because you will need contact with the real world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    This book was a quick and fun read. I wouldn't consider it life-

    This book was a quick and fun read. I wouldn't consider it life-changing but she has some great points and it is inspiring. I already gave my copy to another single woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2