Customer Reviews for

The Skin Type Solution

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    I'm so glad that I did buy this book!

    Since stopping my contraceptive pill I had suffered with considerable acne and patches of dry skin for 2 years which had greatly impacted my self confidence. . until I found this book. I had spent a fortune on trying expensive skin care products, many recommended to me by skin care experts but I saw little to no improvement. I was sceptical initially, thinking that after reading the guidance on your skin type you would have a 'Dr Baumann's skin care range' thrust upon you as the only way to improved skin, however, I was pleasantly surprised. I found the questionnaire simple to complete and my skin type result was spot on (providing you give honest answers- especially in the wrinkle section as painful as admitting it is!). As a result I bought the cheapest products from the comprehensive list provided for my skin type(ranging in price and most available from supermarkets or the high street)and after 3 months there has been a marked improvement in my skin- I even have people commenting on my skin which has never happened before! You may have to read your chapter a few times to get your head around it as Dr Baumann provides often up to 3 different regimens for your skin type depending on the nature of your problems, but once you have got your head around this, your away! I have recommended this book to numerous friends and although some have had to try a few products before finding their favourites most have persisted and seen improvements too. After all, there is no point in giving up after a couple of weeks, it can take a considerable while before you will see improvements. If your skin is getting you down- it has to be worth a try!?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Finally!!!

    This book is what I have waited for! This book has helped me pick the products that actually do what I want. I am one of the lucky ones that is still battling acne in my 30's, with ugly dark spots left after the pimples heal. Dr. Baumann's guidance has helped clear the acne, fade the spots, and give me skin I am proud of, finally!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Well worth the effort

    I have struggled for years trying to find the proper products for my skin. I seemed to switch between oily, dry, normal and combination. Dr. Baumann's book helped me understand the many other factors that make up MY skin. Suddenly all of the money I spent on programs that didn't work made sense. Her book is simple to understand AND lists products at all prices that can work for you. My skin is finally happy with products that can made a difference for me! Well worth the read AND following the Dr's orders!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Loved it!! A simple solution!!

    I loved this book! Besides having an incredibly busy schedule and no time to get to the doctor, I have a limited budget. This book made it simple for me to review my skin and design a regimen that suited me and my budget!! I look fantastic!!! I am recommending it to all my girlfriends!! Get your skin perfect for the holidays!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Practical For Any Budget

    This was a great read - easy to understand as well as great tips for anyone's budget. Thank goodness someone finally put this together! I recommend it for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    A must have guide to great skin!

    I can't believe how my skin looks now! I have the first edition of the book and it helped to tame my unruly and unpredictable skin. I used to have brown spots, acne, and irritation but compliments I receive on my skin When the new edition came out, I ran out to see what the changes were. This new edition is awesome! All of the products have been revised and the new procedures and treatments are included in this book as well. I changed my cleanser and my skin is clearer only 2 days later. Thank you Dr. Leslie Baumann!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Great Products, Amazing advice- Must Buy!

    This has been the best book I have purchased in a long time. There are products for every budget, and the expert advice from Dr. Leslie Baumann is unparalleled. I'm looking forward to making my skin look radiant with the guidance of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Eye Opening!!!!!

    Before reading this book I was of the mindset that the more expensive a cosmetic product was the "better" is would be for my skin. Wow was I wrong! I always thought I had oily skin but after taking the questionnaire I found out I really had dry skin. Such a waste of money all these years of by oil free products and using toners and they were completely wrong for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    This Skin Typing System has SAVED my skin!

    I have ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS had blackheads and clogged pores! I have gotten facials, exfoliated, extracted them, covered them with makeup- You name it- I've done it all! I then heard about this book through a friend. It was my type of book- All I had to do was take a questionnaire (A little long, but TOTALLY worth it) and go to my chapter. I then realized that I was doing EVERYTHING wrong for my skin- I was using oily sunscreen, I was using foundation with oil, etc. (I am an OSPW). I am now happy to say that my skin is looking better than EVER! This book is like having a dermatologist at your reach 24/7! I recommend this book to all people seeking more youthful and healthy looking skin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Cant Wait To Get This Book !

    I first bought this book in 2005 and have been following Dr Baumann ever since on her website.I WAS an OSPW and now because of this book and how easy and simple it is to follow a LOW cost skin regimen , my skin is even toned and ready to take on anything age has to give. Great Gift Idea for any of your friends . I cant wait to read the updates !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    I'm so glad that I didn't buy this book.

    After I read all these reviews, I was excited & eager to buy this book. However, I checked out the book from the public library in my town. I'm so glad that I DIDN'T buy this book. First of all, skin type questions are very general and choosing answers could be bias or no answer is there for you at all. My Original skin condition: I have occasionally 2 or 3 acne on my chin area and very minimum small red bumps on my forehead. My nose area and cheeks are completely clean with no ance or no red bumps. Overall, my skin is not that bad acutally. When I read the reviews, I was hoping this book could help me clean up those minimum acne on my chin. So I started reading. I took all the tests twice so that it can be sure. According to this book, my skin turned out being OSPW which means oily, sensitive, pigmented and wrinkle prone skin. So I read carefully the section that I was being related to. Some of application rules are confusing and un-consistent. For example, first, she said lightener should be the first to apply after cleaning and toning. In next 2 or 3 pages, she said acne treatment should be the fist one to apply after cleaning and toning and before all of the other applications. She also said OSPW skin needs both lightner and acne treatment. I got confused. But I followed carefully her recommendations and directions for skin care. I bought whole bunch of skin care lotions and cleanser that she recommended. I gave it a try up to 3 weeks. The thing is now, I have all the red bumps all over my face. Yup, it includes my once-clear checks and nose area. I have more red bumps on my forehead. Her recommended skin lightener and ance treatment don't work at all. I don't recommend this book to anyone. If you want to give it a try, don't buy the book. Try to check out at your nearby public library or borrow from the friend who recommends it to you. Overall, it may gives you slight ideas of what you should avoid for your skin care routine. Besides that it's not that great and she is not that helpful after all. It may even make your skin worse than before.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    A Must Have For Your Skin

    After years of problems with dry, sensitive skin, I finally found a book that addresses my issues. The skin test is easy and quick, and really helps target specific problems. Not only that, but she offers brand recommendations in every price range, from drugstore to department store products. My husband and I both took the test and were able to make changes to our skin care routine that helped a great deal, and all the products were purchased at the drugstore. I had been using the wrong combination of ingredients for so long. Such a help!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Excellent resource

    I cannot recommend this book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Myers-Brigg for the Skin

    For the insight of labeling skin types the way she does, Dr. Baumann deserves plaudits. Her questionnaire is thorough and easy to complete, the book reads well, and you really only need to read the section that applies to your skin type (one of 16 types, derived from your answers to the questionnaire that is based on four parameters, oily vs. dry, sensitive vs. resistant, pigmented vs. nonpigmented, and wrinkled vs. tight). Brilliant - and very helpful, in terms of matching skin product recommendations to the appropriate skin type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Wonderful!

    What a great book! Very informative and easy! My skin is liking the products she has recommended for my skin type!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Read this book!!!

    I have always had problems with my skin. Acne was a huge issue with me and I'm in my 20s! But after reading this book my whole outlook on skincare changed! Now I have beautiful skin that I love! My acne hardly appears anymore. If you have issues with your skin, this book should help out alot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    The paradigm I've been waiting for.

    As a man, most skin care books written for women don't speak very loudly to me. This one, however, shed light on a chronic, irritating, and often embarassing health issue. I won't be using all the products Dr. Bauman mentions, but the principle of skin typing has given me fresh insight into why my skin has always been difficult to take care of (I've got one of the most troublesome types) and what I can do about it. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    A Welcome Change in My Life

    This superlative book arrived in my life just when I needed it. At forty, I live with the unsettling awareness that my normally clear skin has the ability to erupt into angry, red, blistering allergic rashes at seemingly little provocation. Once, for example, a walk on a windy, cool day caused me to experience a facial rash in the form of dermatitis which lasted for weeks. Another time, a mineral facial powder was to blame. Although I have tried to follow the dictates of sensitive skin care articles, manuals and web sites, little things will still set me off. Ultimately, I have felt in the dark about how to prevent allergic reactions. The more I read and researched, the more confused I became. Trying new skin care products felt a bit like conducting science experiments with unknown outcomes. When I found Dr. Baumann's book, I was in the grips of another painful allergic reaction, and feeling pretty hopeless. I bought the book that afternoon, and by evening, I had pinpointed my 'skin type' (dry/sensitive/non-pigmented/tight). By the following day, I was armed with reassuring solutions and a new awarness of which skin care ingredients to avoid, which to seek out, how to shop for gentle products, and what holistic changes to make (including tips about flying which were new to me). It may seem vain to fret over one's skin, but as a part of the whole of who we are, our skin's condition is capable of contributing or detracting from our quality of life. This is particularly true when our skin is out of balance: conditions such as allergies, eczema, and dermatitis can be painful, embarrassing and unnerving. Dr. Baumann's book, to my thinking, has a rightful place next to other soundly researched health-care books. It need not be viewed simply as a vanity item, but rather, as another piece in the puzzle of how to live healthy and harmonious lives. Thank you, Dr. Baumann, for allowing me the peace of mind to turn my attention away from all of the skin research that I had been doing, and toward some of the other things that matter to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Highly Recommended

    I have slightly dry, very hyper-senstive skin. I cannot tolerate 95% of cosmetics on the market. This book finally gave me a little advice on what I can do to help alleviate it, and what I might be able to use. Everyone is different, so each description may not exactly fit everyone. But it does give good information and recommends products that won't harm your skin. Some are difficult to find in stores, but she has a website that will direct you to a place you can find most of what she recommends. It's refreshing to see that we are moving out of the dry-oily-combo-sensitive ideal into one that can combine more than one skin type, especially since I'm dry AND sensitive. I can attest, her advice has reduced some of my redness and irritation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Very Disappointing

    I find that all this book does is give one a more complicated version of oily/dry/mature skin types. After taking the test and being honest I came out DRPW, when reading the desciption of this skin type I felt like it didn't describe my skin at all, I have 'mature' skin with fine lines but not anything like it sounds like from her description. I went back and retook the W part of the test and still came a W. (5 questions pertain to whether your parents/grandparents looked their age,not all of us have them around to know, and what has that got to do with what I look like today!) I have used enough skincare products to know that most of what she recommends might work fine for some 30/40 year old but not for a person with mature skin. After reading the DRPT section I fall more into that category, however might be a cross between the 2! In other words even though it seems that she has typed your skin in more detail than what has been the norm,she hasn't. Some of the questions are too general and some none of the answers fit. What really made me realize that I wasted my money on this book, was when I saw she recommended Max Factor Pan Stick makeup for DRPW skin! I didn't even know they still made the stuff! I have read many books out there pertaining to skin care none of them worth mentioning and I am beginning to think that some Dermatolgists instead of being doctors are trying to cash in on the money making Cosmetic industry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2