Customer Reviews for

The Skin Type Solution

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Finally!!!

    This book is what I have waited for! This book has helped me pick the products that actually do what I want. I am one of the lucky ones that is still battling acne in my 30's, with ugly dark spots left after the pimples heal. Dr. Baumann's guidance has helped clear the acne, fade the spots, and give me skin I am proud of, finally!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Loved it!! A simple solution!!

    I loved this book! Besides having an incredibly busy schedule and no time to get to the doctor, I have a limited budget. This book made it simple for me to review my skin and design a regimen that suited me and my budget!! I look fantastic!!! I am recommending it to all my girlfriends!! Get your skin perfect for the holidays!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Practical For Any Budget

    This was a great read - easy to understand as well as great tips for anyone's budget. Thank goodness someone finally put this together! I recommend it for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    A must have guide to great skin!

    I can't believe how my skin looks now! I have the first edition of the book and it helped to tame my unruly and unpredictable skin. I used to have brown spots, acne, and irritation but compliments I receive on my skin When the new edition came out, I ran out to see what the changes were. This new edition is awesome! All of the products have been revised and the new procedures and treatments are included in this book as well. I changed my cleanser and my skin is clearer only 2 days later. Thank you Dr. Leslie Baumann!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Great Products, Amazing advice- Must Buy!

    This has been the best book I have purchased in a long time. There are products for every budget, and the expert advice from Dr. Leslie Baumann is unparalleled. I'm looking forward to making my skin look radiant with the guidance of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Eye Opening!!!!!

    Before reading this book I was of the mindset that the more expensive a cosmetic product was the "better" is would be for my skin. Wow was I wrong! I always thought I had oily skin but after taking the questionnaire I found out I really had dry skin. Such a waste of money all these years of by oil free products and using toners and they were completely wrong for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    This Skin Typing System has SAVED my skin!

    I have ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS had blackheads and clogged pores! I have gotten facials, exfoliated, extracted them, covered them with makeup- You name it- I've done it all! I then heard about this book through a friend. It was my type of book- All I had to do was take a questionnaire (A little long, but TOTALLY worth it) and go to my chapter. I then realized that I was doing EVERYTHING wrong for my skin- I was using oily sunscreen, I was using foundation with oil, etc. (I am an OSPW). I am now happy to say that my skin is looking better than EVER! This book is like having a dermatologist at your reach 24/7! I recommend this book to all people seeking more youthful and healthy looking skin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Cant Wait To Get This Book !

    I first bought this book in 2005 and have been following Dr Baumann ever since on her website.I WAS an OSPW and now because of this book and how easy and simple it is to follow a LOW cost skin regimen , my skin is even toned and ready to take on anything age has to give. Great Gift Idea for any of your friends . I cant wait to read the updates !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    A Must Have For Your Skin

    After years of problems with dry, sensitive skin, I finally found a book that addresses my issues. The skin test is easy and quick, and really helps target specific problems. Not only that, but she offers brand recommendations in every price range, from drugstore to department store products. My husband and I both took the test and were able to make changes to our skin care routine that helped a great deal, and all the products were purchased at the drugstore. I had been using the wrong combination of ingredients for so long. Such a help!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Excellent resource

    I cannot recommend this book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Myers-Brigg for the Skin

    For the insight of labeling skin types the way she does, Dr. Baumann deserves plaudits. Her questionnaire is thorough and easy to complete, the book reads well, and you really only need to read the section that applies to your skin type (one of 16 types, derived from your answers to the questionnaire that is based on four parameters, oily vs. dry, sensitive vs. resistant, pigmented vs. nonpigmented, and wrinkled vs. tight). Brilliant - and very helpful, in terms of matching skin product recommendations to the appropriate skin type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Wonderful!

    What a great book! Very informative and easy! My skin is liking the products she has recommended for my skin type!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Read this book!!!

    I have always had problems with my skin. Acne was a huge issue with me and I'm in my 20s! But after reading this book my whole outlook on skincare changed! Now I have beautiful skin that I love! My acne hardly appears anymore. If you have issues with your skin, this book should help out alot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    The paradigm I've been waiting for.

    As a man, most skin care books written for women don't speak very loudly to me. This one, however, shed light on a chronic, irritating, and often embarassing health issue. I won't be using all the products Dr. Bauman mentions, but the principle of skin typing has given me fresh insight into why my skin has always been difficult to take care of (I've got one of the most troublesome types) and what I can do about it. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    A Welcome Change in My Life

    This superlative book arrived in my life just when I needed it. At forty, I live with the unsettling awareness that my normally clear skin has the ability to erupt into angry, red, blistering allergic rashes at seemingly little provocation. Once, for example, a walk on a windy, cool day caused me to experience a facial rash in the form of dermatitis which lasted for weeks. Another time, a mineral facial powder was to blame. Although I have tried to follow the dictates of sensitive skin care articles, manuals and web sites, little things will still set me off. Ultimately, I have felt in the dark about how to prevent allergic reactions. The more I read and researched, the more confused I became. Trying new skin care products felt a bit like conducting science experiments with unknown outcomes. When I found Dr. Baumann's book, I was in the grips of another painful allergic reaction, and feeling pretty hopeless. I bought the book that afternoon, and by evening, I had pinpointed my 'skin type' (dry/sensitive/non-pigmented/tight). By the following day, I was armed with reassuring solutions and a new awarness of which skin care ingredients to avoid, which to seek out, how to shop for gentle products, and what holistic changes to make (including tips about flying which were new to me). It may seem vain to fret over one's skin, but as a part of the whole of who we are, our skin's condition is capable of contributing or detracting from our quality of life. This is particularly true when our skin is out of balance: conditions such as allergies, eczema, and dermatitis can be painful, embarrassing and unnerving. Dr. Baumann's book, to my thinking, has a rightful place next to other soundly researched health-care books. It need not be viewed simply as a vanity item, but rather, as another piece in the puzzle of how to live healthy and harmonious lives. Thank you, Dr. Baumann, for allowing me the peace of mind to turn my attention away from all of the skin research that I had been doing, and toward some of the other things that matter to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Highly Recommended

    I have slightly dry, very hyper-senstive skin. I cannot tolerate 95% of cosmetics on the market. This book finally gave me a little advice on what I can do to help alleviate it, and what I might be able to use. Everyone is different, so each description may not exactly fit everyone. But it does give good information and recommends products that won't harm your skin. Some are difficult to find in stores, but she has a website that will direct you to a place you can find most of what she recommends. It's refreshing to see that we are moving out of the dry-oily-combo-sensitive ideal into one that can combine more than one skin type, especially since I'm dry AND sensitive. I can attest, her advice has reduced some of my redness and irritation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    The only book on skin care you will ever need

    In this book, Dr. Baumann takes all the guess work out of buying beauty products. Once her questionnaire has helped you evaluate and understand your skin's uniqueness, you learn exactly what products you need (and don't need to use) in day and night regimens customized to your unique skin. This is not about selling her own skin care line. Instead this doctor evaluates and rates all the skin care products available. Baumann is both a true scientist, and a woman who cares about beauty-- just like the rest of us. This book is so comprehensive, it's truly the only skin care book you ever need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Teaching an old dog new tricks.

    I'm sixty-six years old and I rarely read a book that surprises me as much as Dr. Baumann's. Many women my age think they know about their own skin when they have lived in it for as long as I have. Boy was I wrong! I did the questionnaire and in the process of answering the questions I began to realize how much I did not know about my own skin, let alone anyone else's. The way the questions are written makes it fun to do and I found myself having an inner giggle at Dr. Baumann's reminders to be honest with myself about how my skin looks. It's as if she were in the room with me not letting me deceive myself. I was completely surprised with the results of the questionnaire. When cosmetic sales people used to ask me if my skin was dry or oily I never knew what to tell them so I relied on the sales persons judgment. Now, with Dr. Baumann's help I am much more confident about what products I should or should not purchase based on my skin type. I find myself much more conscious of my skin and how I can combat the aging process more effectively. This questionnaire was so thorough, thought-provoking and enjoyable that I plan to do it again and again as I add on even more years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Wow!

    I am thrilled to have found The Skin Type Solution. The easy to use quiz pinpoints your skin type and then directs you to the appropriate products that will both treat your current skin issues and prevent signs of aging. Product recommendations encompass a wide price range ensuring that you will be able to find something within your budget constraints. The book also takes care to explain why the products are being recommended and tells consumers which ingredients they should look for if they want to try other products not specifically detailed in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2