Customer Reviews for

The Skinny: On Losing Weight without Being Hungry-the Ultimate Guide to Weight Loss Success

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A good plan with amazing results.

If you are willing to put this plan into action, the results can be, from what I've read so far, pretty amazing. You don't have to be hungry, as the title says, to lose weight. The trick is to eat foods that make you feel fuller without all the calories. A great concept...
If you are willing to put this plan into action, the results can be, from what I've read so far, pretty amazing. You don't have to be hungry, as the title says, to lose weight. The trick is to eat foods that make you feel fuller without all the calories. A great concept; all that's left to do is put it into action.

posted by readsalot50 on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sorry. Not Quite.

I commend Dr. Lou for explaining that not being able to take off stubborn weight isn't always about willpower and motivation. However, I wish I would have paged through some more of the book before heading to the checkout. I am not obese by any stretch of the word; I si...
I commend Dr. Lou for explaining that not being able to take off stubborn weight isn't always about willpower and motivation. However, I wish I would have paged through some more of the book before heading to the checkout. I am not obese by any stretch of the word; I simply was looking for newer ways of eating to take off the stubborn 10 lbs everyone dreads. Forget about this book. It's basically eating no carbs, no sugar and no starches. Sounds just like South Beach to me. Nothing new here. I thought it would be better considering Dave Letterman uses this doc.

posted by 749053 on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    Sorry. Not Quite.

    I commend Dr. Lou for explaining that not being able to take off stubborn weight isn't always about willpower and motivation. However, I wish I would have paged through some more of the book before heading to the checkout. I am not obese by any stretch of the word; I simply was looking for newer ways of eating to take off the stubborn 10 lbs everyone dreads. Forget about this book. It's basically eating no carbs, no sugar and no starches. Sounds just like South Beach to me. Nothing new here. I thought it would be better considering Dave Letterman uses this doc.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good plan with amazing results.

    If you are willing to put this plan into action, the results can be, from what I've read so far, pretty amazing. You don't have to be hungry, as the title says, to lose weight. The trick is to eat foods that make you feel fuller without all the calories. A great concept; all that's left to do is put it into action.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    A helpful read among diet books.

    Data is interesting. I have no doubt the diet works under supervision, however the diet is not practical on a day to day basis, especially for a single. I think you would miss many foods so much during the strictness of the diet that you would gain the lost weight back as soon as you went off of it. I was disappointed as I thought "Dave's Dr." would have a simpler approach. You would need a sergeant-at-arms to stick to this diet if you were a single.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    The Skinny

    Lots of great weight loss tips written in a high-interest way.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Informative

    I bought this book because it was written by a doctor from the Cornell medical school and because it approached weight loss from the hormonal / body chemistry side of things, which I was interested in learning about. Since I've been reading about different ways of dieting and healthy eating for years, the diet plan wasn't entirely new to me, but I think the way it was presented and the reasoning behind it could be helpful to many people. I recommend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good plan.

    Part of dieting takes willpower and commitment. That's where books like the Skinny come in. It tells you exactly what to do in order to get rid of excess weight. It's not going to be easy, of course, but it will work. I liked the concept and thought it was a really good weight loss book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    Very helpful but buy the hard cover. I made the mistake of getti

    Very helpful but buy the hard cover. I made the mistake of getting the nook version and there are sections of print and food charts that are in a pale gray print that are next to impossible to read, especially the charts where the print is very very small. The content itself is very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    grabs your attention to WANT to pick it up and read

    a good book but a little to "chemistry like" in context.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    The Skinny by Dr. Louis J. Aronne MD

    I have known Dr. Aronne for over twenty (20) years and he is a magnificent physician as well as a magnificent individual.
    When I first started with Dr. Aronne he was a doctor of internal medicine. The most important thing to him was his patients. Even once he decided to devote his time and his career to obesity and helping people who are obese, excellent quality patient care was always his number one priority and it continues to be today.
    When I first became a patient of Dr. Aronne's, my husband David and I were living in New York. However, in February, 1990, we relocated from New York to Lancaster, Pennsylvania. I still kept up my rapport and relationship with Dr. Aronne. We traveled back to New York when we had to see Dr. Aronne. There were many times that we went to New York specifically because we had to see Dr. Aronne. Just a short time after I became Dr. Aronne's patient and even after he had basically closed his practice to any new patients because he knew at that point that he wanted to devote his time and career to helping people who are obese, he still agreed to take my husband on as a patient. Needless to say, both my husband and I were extremely greatful to Dr. Aronne for that.
    I cannot even begin to tell you how many times over the years since we moved from New York that Dr. Aronne saved my life. There were several times where I became ill and the doctors here where I live either couldn't diagnose my illness correctly, or they prescribed the wrong medication. It was very frustrating. I would call Dr. Aronne in a total panic and tell him that the doctors here are misdiagnosing me. He would always tell me to come and see him and he would make sure to take care of me, which he did. One illness in particular started out as a normal "cold". However, once it went down into my chest and I began coughing really badly, I knew that I needed medical attention as I needed an antibiotic for the infection and I needed something to surpress the cough. At that time, I had not yet been established with a "primary" doctor and I called somebody that I had already met and I asked them to please refer me to somebody as I had to be seen by a doctor. I was referred alright and I went to the doctor who was referred to me and it almost cost me my life as he totally misdiagnosed it. By that time, I had gotten progressively worse and I called Dr. Aronne's office and we made the trip to New York the following day and I was in Dr. Aronne's office first thing that following morning and as soon as he examined me he knew immediately what it was and he ordered the appropriate tests and made the proper diagnosis. Due to the fact that I was misdiagnosed by the doctor here, by the time I got to Dr. Aronne, I had a very serious case of Pneumonia. As far as I am concerned, Dr. Aronne saved my life and I was always extremely greatful to him for that.
    Then, back in 1997, I had a gallbladder attack that was misdiagnosed by an ER doctor. Once again, in a panic I called Dr. Aronne. As soon as I described my symptoms to him he immediately knew what it was and he told me that I had a gallbladder attack and he ordered the appropriate tests in order to rule it out or confirm it. It was definitely confirmed and I have since had my gallbladder removed.
    I think the book The Skinny is a fantastic book and is a great tool for anybody who is serious about losing weight. Congratulations, Dr. Aronne! Regina's Pooh Bear

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2