BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Skinny Rules: The Simple, Nonnegotiable Principles for Getting to Thin

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

As expected, Bob has the best advice and this book really lets his personality shine through. He takes all the guesswork out of healthy living. He doesnt just tell you what to eat, he also tells you why to eat it, and includes simple recipes that taste great! Thanks Bob...
As expected, Bob has the best advice and this book really lets his personality shine through. He takes all the guesswork out of healthy living. He doesnt just tell you what to eat, he also tells you why to eat it, and includes simple recipes that taste great! Thanks Bob, you are such an inspiration and I have recommended this book to so many of my friends already!

posted by 4657566 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I think its a book for all to read. I bought it on my nook but n

I think its a book for all to read. I bought it on my nook but now might buy it in hard copy.

posted by MvsMK on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Love this book!

    As expected, Bob has the best advice and this book really lets his personality shine through. He takes all the guesswork out of healthy living. He doesnt just tell you what to eat, he also tells you why to eat it, and includes simple recipes that taste great! Thanks Bob, you are such an inspiration and I have recommended this book to so many of my friends already!

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I could not put the book down when I first got it. I have alway

    I could not put the book down when I first got it. I have always been a fan of Bob's and I have been following him on The Biggest Loser and Facebook. A lot of what he tells you in the book is true, I mean I am not fitness expert myself, but about three months ago, I joined his website and tried a lot of the recipes he posted and the pounds started to come off. It's still a working progress, but with the help of this book I look forward to continue losing weight and keeping it off. Thanks Bob!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I loved the book

    I reead the book the first day it came out. It is really good trying to follow it. I think its a book for all to read. I bought it on my nook but now might gi buy it in hard copy.

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Why was it easy to give this book a good review? Because this bo

    Why was it easy to give this book a good review? Because this book is straight to the point. Even if you already know something, Bob reinforces it towards you. The menu is very simple and easy to follow; there is no excuse for not eating healthy. While reading this book it felt as though Bob was sitting right infront of me giving me this advice first hand.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great book! Easy read, full of knowledge!

    I appreciate that Bob gets rightdown to the facts of the does and don'ts. Was a very fast read and plan to read again just to double absorb his information. I can't wait to try his recipes. Absolutely great purchase for my nook! Sometimes health books don't include everything...this one does!!!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome find!! Loved the book!

    This book was just available yesterday and I have already read the entire book. Some of the rules I was already aware of but many of them are new. I love how simple Bob lays out these rules. Many of them are simple if you make it a priority to get healthy. If you have 20 or 200 pounds to lose this is a book for you!

    Thanks Bob for another great book!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Love this book!! Love Bob !! This book is so easy to read and

    Love this book!! Love Bob !! This book is so easy to read and understand. Tons of food options that I can personally say will NOT leave you hungry!!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I love this book! Bob's 20 rules are very clear cut and doable!

    I love this book! Bob's 20 rules are very clear cut and doable! I am already down 5 pounds and I just started following them 6 days ago! Love, love, love Bob Harper!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    LOVE this book! He is NOT kidding around, I like the no nonsense

    LOVE this book! He is NOT kidding around, I like the no nonsense approach to eating right! Not a diet, but an eating plan to change your life! Buy it, you won't regret it!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Good Advice

    This book is very helpful. Cant go wrong with a trainer who shows results. Im a Bob Harper fan.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Finally, something that really makes sense AND WORKS!

    Finally, something that really makes sense AND WORKS!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I read this book last weekend and started the diet on Sunday....

    I read this book last weekend and started the diet on Sunday.....it's now Thursday and I am 5 pounds lighter!....5 lbs in 5 days! I had to look the scale over really good and pinch myself to make sure I wasn't dreaming. I haven't been hungry and I am feeling good. I only had 25 lbs to lose in the first place. Be ready to hit the grocery and cook for yourself, drink your water, etc.....stuff we should be doing anyway. The recipes are easy and taste great!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I think its a book for all to read. I bought it on my nook but n

    I think its a book for all to read. I bought it on my nook but now might buy it in hard copy.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    I think Bob's book is FULL of great tips! It is a very simple fo

    I think Bob's book is FULL of great tips! It is a very simple format which makes it easy to read and to go back and look things up. The rules he mentions are also pretty simple to apply to your own life. I have added quite a few that he talks about in the book. Whether you want to lose 5 pounds or 200 pounds this book has something for everyone!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    This book can change your life!

    I got this MP3 book so I could listen to the rules on my way to and from work and when I went on road trips. I almost have it memorized, but it is so nice having Bob telling me what to do in plain English everywhere I go. Nothing happens overnight, but feeling better and feeling healthier started almost immediately. I've also purchased the book so I can highlight my trouble areas and use the recipes. With Bob coaching you through every rule, the only person in your way is you! So step away from that potato chip, put down your soda, and get ready to change your life!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Loved it...couldn't put it down. That seems like an odd stateme

    Loved it...couldn't put it down. That seems like an odd statement for a weight loss book. As you progress through the book you are thinking 'I can do this', what's next. Rules are clear, concise and reasonable. I intend to put these rules to practice, change the way I eat and think about food. Armed with all the knowledge I need, I can start my journey to permanent weight loss. Thank You Bob Harper for writing this book. I truly believe you will reach many and save many from a life style of obesity.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Straight - simple approach

    I enjoyed reading Bob's The Skinny Rules - he has a no nonsense approach and is very direct. The rules are straightforward - not so easy to follow - as he says this isn't easy but it it is necessary. Looking forward to seeing results!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Loved this book! Can't wait to get started!

    Loved this book! Can't wait to get started!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Simple and amazing

    Great fast read that gives you the basics of what u need to do to succeed. Great job Bob!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    this is a great read alot of information, very easy to follow.

    this is a great read alot of information, very easy to follow.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6