BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Smoke at Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This book was purchased as a gift for my husband. He has read every book Jeff Shaara has written (all the historical war books/series) and enjoyed every one of them. He is about three quarters of the way through this one, and when I asked him if he liked this book more or as much as all the others, he said this is an excellent read just like all of Jeff's books. I have also read many of his books and find them very engaging because you really feel like you are there experiencing the times and the real life events with the characters. I highly recommend this book and all of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Sunstar to all

    Can anyone tell me where the leader is ? I need to speak to him/her. And i am a girl so dont call me sir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Sparrowflight

    The brown tabby tom padded into the clearing. "I am looking for Dawnflower." He mewed, his green eyes sweeping around the clearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    To Falconsky

    At 'ginger lily' res 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Bluemoon

    Ok ditch here i will go there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Dawnflower

    See you there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    To Below

    Okay, where can I talk to you at? ((To the other tom lol geez.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    Did Grant Win or Did The South Just Loose ?

    Jeff Shaara's Civil War books bring big and small players together in major events. This approach of going from generals to privates gives the reader unique perspectives.Another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Mosspaw and co.

    Mosspaw touched noses with Peacockfeather <p>

    Vinepaw touched noses with Marblepelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Dawnstar apprentice ceremony

    Mosskit, you will be Mosspaw. And your mentor will be Peacockfeather, if it's OK with her. And Vinekit, you will be Vinepaw. And your mentor will be Marblepelt, if it's OK with her as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Smoke at Dawn

    Another gripping novel by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    Great Book ` highly recommended

    Excellent Reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    Perhaps the best of the triology

    The Smoke at Dawn may be the best work so far from Jeff Shaara. Hard to fault anything about this fine read. A nice touch at the end is the final results of the characters, those in fact and those of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Excellent Shaara novel

    Makes you believe you are there in the middle of history not reading a novel.Well researched and very well presented. This stage of the Civil War sealed the defeat of the Confederacy and severed the South's supply lines. Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Great Book

    Jeff knows how to write a book. I have never been disappointed when reading his books - I have every one that he has written and they all deserve a 5-star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Recommend for the history, and the feel of what battle is like.

    This book conveys a lot of information relating to the generals, soldiers, and politicians behind the American Civil War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Civil war buffs must read!

    yes, it is fiction, but seems to follow the actual history of the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Another success

    Shaara continues to make the Civil War "personal," i.e. you feel like you're "there." Great research and detail, combined with superb creation of characters and conversations brings the action and reality right to your armchair! #3 in his series, this is another excellent effort and I eagerly look forward to the concluding volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Firestar

    Age 23 moons. No family mate or kits. I have trained 3 apprentices and i am a male. I am jet black with two white strips that run body leangth and i am very burly. I would like to be a warrior. Thank you in advance for your consideration

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    if the authors name on the book buy it!!! you can't go wrong

    this book is written as all his works are.Brilliant.He goes to great length in his research and his writing grabs you and you cannot let go until you have reached the end.And then tell yourself this one of finest novels I have ever read.Do not fail to buy any of his books without worrying about anything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2