Customer Reviews for

The Solitary House: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Very well written!

    Although the Dickensonian language and subtle plot twists are sometimes challenging to follow, it is worth the effort.Besure to read the author's research information at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Ms Shepherd has done her research well and she has created a Dic

    Ms Shepherd has done her research well and she has created a Dickens Victorian England. The storyline is well developed as are the characters The different narratives keep you guessing up until the end. I love Victorian London stories and this one is going on my favorites list. I would recommend this to all readers.Well done!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So far so good!

    I loved Lynn Shepard's Murder at Mansfield Park so I did not hesitate to purchase this book when it popped up on recommended for me. Like Mansfield Park where I reread Pride and Prejudice before reading Mansfield Park I am reading Bleak House first. Unfortunately I am having difficulties staying into Bleak House. Dickens is a wordy man! His books require stubborn determination! I have yet to be disappointed if I persevere for a third in I am always rewarded. I have read the prologue for the Solitary House. Once again I am drawn entertainingly in to the historical time period, this time of Mr. Dickens'. As an avid reader and true history buff I am already hooked by the prologue alone! Solitary House will be my reward for completing Bleak House. I will complete Bleak House out of respect for Mr. Dickens and a need to have some feel of the past I am about to enter. Historical fiction gives me the the wonders of the authors imagination and a glimpse into a far past I find engrossing. If you are a historical fiction fan read Shepard's books. You will enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads first read

    I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads first reads.

    This book is well-paced, and very well written, with careful attention to historical detail.
    As to historical detail, I particularly noticed the way the author always wrote "bus" with an apostrophe in front: 'bus, because at that time, it was an abbreviation for omnibus. Today, bus is just a word we use, for us it's not short for anything. But at that time in London, the omnibus was a relatively new addition to the streets.

    The writing style is very unique. I was hooked at the prologue where the author spoke directly to the reader as if the two were walking down the streets of London side by side. I was even more excited to see that this particular writing style was not just for introduction. Throughout the story the writer takes the reader on side trips without the characters to give the reader inside information or to make the reader aware of things not yet revealed to the characters. It's a very refreshing style.

    I am eagerly anticipating the sequel that releases later this year!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    A mash-up between ¿Bleak House¿ and ¿The Woman in White¿ that ne

    A mash-up between “Bleak House” and “The Woman in White” that never matches the greatness of either of those novels, but does offer an intriguing book. Charles Maddox is an intriguing protagonist, and the mystery at hand is complex and interesting. The book is a bit pretentious though, with stiff Victorian dialogue that could’ve flowed better. I did enjoy it, and I wouldn’t mind reading more books by this author. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    If Lynn Shepherd cares about writing, she should stop doing it.

    If Lynn Shepherd cares about writing, she should stop doing it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Not my type of "read" But then, I don't like the style.

    I don't like a story told by two different people where a connection is not made until almost the end of the story. Maybe its me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Interesting retro e.g. try at dickens world

    But second narrative pads story with false info and sexual grafuc details regarding children are not acceptible and the iincreasing use in myateries only please those with similar perversions. Grafic details of this era have turned me off of this time period. This was the second book this month about terriers and rats and child pros. Yes the writing is good but not what it describes and deadens so you need more "stimulation" Enough already. Mom

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Get it now

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Charles Maddox is a likeable young man, and we are sympathetic t

    Charles Maddox is a likeable young man, and we are sympathetic to him from the start. We are exposed to the many facets and contrasts of Dickensian London and the equalizing measure of murder. This book is well written, with great characters and a page turner of a whodunit. I. like another reviewer would like to see young Charles Maddox appear in another interesting mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1