Customer Reviews for

The Son

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Crime book fan

Great read with well developed characters and story line coouldnt stop reading

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Aquamarine bioooooooooooo! :3

((Don't worry about me using that many "o"'s and the ":3". I have much better grammer than that.))

Name: Aquamarine

Gender: &female

Age: Errrrr....in her teens.

Appearance: She has short, light blue hair with curled ends. Her skin is a light aquamarine blue. Aqu...

((Don't worry about me using that many "o"'s and the ":3". I have much better grammer than that.))

Name: Aquamarine

Gender: &female

Age: Errrrr....in her teens.

Appearance: She has short, light blue hair with curled ends. Her skin is a light aquamarine blue. Aquamarine has two aquamarine, one located on each hip, hence the fact it is rarely seen. She normally wears a black T-shirt with khaki pants.

Personality: Aquamarine is a lone-wolf, though she occasionally likes to have fun. She is normally calm, unless in battle or you bother her while she is reading. I can't describe her any further, since she is me in real life.

Weapon: A sword that looks as if it is made of aquamarine.

Other: I created an aquamarine Gem because that's my birthstone in real life.

posted by 17333611 on May 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Crime book fan

    Great read with well developed characters and story line coouldnt stop reading

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Once again, Jo Nesbo does not disappoint. Amazing book start to

    Once again, Jo Nesbo does not disappoint. Amazing book start to finish.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Amazing!

    A must must read. Very intense, highly suspenseful....moves fast.

    Jo Nesbo is my favorite writer! His Harry Hole Series is a must must read also.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Gre Good read

    This is my second Nesbo.
    Now I am truly hooked

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Diamond's Bio

    Name: Diamond


    Age: Diamond is still a young gem, only seven, yet she has great power.


    Weapon: A battle axe :3


    Personality: Meet her.


    Looks: She is a bit tall for her age but isn't Pearl skinny. She wears a pale pink summer dress with white stars. She wears white sandals, which have a circle big enough for her gem to show. She has long blond hair which she lets floow freely. She has one black eye and one pale rose eye.


    Gem Location: The top of her feet


    Summoning Technique: Puts her foot up very high and does a swift kick to the ground. A ray of light trails behind her foot, which solidfies into her axe. Can be done with both feet.

    1 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Really good book!

    I have read and enjoyed all of the Harry Hole novels by Jo Nesbo. This was the first non-Harry Hole story I've read. Wasn't sure what to expect. It was an excellent story. Sonny is an unusual character. You had to like him. Fast paced and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    I couldn't get past the first 20 pages. 

    I couldn't get past the first 20 pages. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    Great Read

    Harry Hole is one of my favorites and I was wondering how a new Nesbo novel without him would be (I didn't care so much for his other novel without Harry), but this was totally up to Nesbo's standards. He seems to be getting better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jo Nesbo, the Norwegian author best known for the Harry Hole ser

    Jo Nesbo, the Norwegian author best known for the Harry Hole series, has written a standalone, proving he is adept at writing a complicated thriller of epic proportions. It is a story of criminal and police corruption, and centers on Sonny Lofthus, son of a policeman who committed suicide, accused of being a mole for a gangster known as the Twin.

    After his father’s death, Sonny took to heroin, and confessed to a couple of murders he didn’t commit in exchange for a guarantee of an endless supply of the drug while in prison. While incarcerated, Sonny gains Buddha-like status among the prisoners, granting salvation and peace to the inmates. Then comes the twist: Sonny goes cold turkey after learning that his father may have been framed, escapes and embarks on a plan of revenge against those he believes responsible for his father’s death.

    If the reader can suspend disbelief that a hardcore addict can quit after an addiction of 12 years, then the plot can move forward with some degree of rationality; even with Sonny hiding from a massive man-hunt by both the police and criminal element in plain sight and not being caught, while, ninja-like, exacting retribution on a series of victims. Other than these criticisms, this is one excellent novel, exciting, well-written, and deeply plotted, although overly long. But greatly enjoyable, and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    Great

    Another winner for Nesbo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Not the author's best

    I found this book readable, and I did finish it. However, it did not match the author's level of writing in HEADHUNTERS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    YES. READ THIS BOOK!!!

    In a word, riveting. I don't know how Nesbo does it, but thank god he does. You will NOT be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Jo Nesbo can write a good story without Harry Hole! This story kept me involved through the whole book. One kept wondering whether or not the son was as spaced out as he appeared to be and it was not obvious until the end. He's a crafty one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Interesting

    This was not a Harry Hole novel, but the police force still seems the same, just different names. But I did enjoy the book and would recommend it to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Recommended

    This is a typical Jo Nesbo book. Dark and mysterious. I enjoyed reading it. I have read many other of his books and this one ranks with the best of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Very good read! Loved the whole plot line and couldn't put it do

    Very good read! Loved the whole plot line and couldn't put it down. Highly recommend this for crime fiction fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    Excellent...as usual

    Like all of Jo Nesbo's books, you can't put this one down and you don't know exactly who is guilty of what until the very end. The plot is as convoluted and intricate as the plots in most of his books. I just wish he would write faster! Need more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Loved this book.

    The best ever from Jo Nesbo. I reread the last 50 pages 3 times so
    that I would fully understand how everything came together! Keep it up
    Jo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    A different look from Jo Nesbo but still must read

    Jo Nesbo does not dissapoint in this not Harry Hole book I loved it.
    Cound not put it dowsn. Character development is true Nesbo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2