Customer Reviews for

The Son of Man

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend! You mudt check this out!

I could not put this or the sequel down. I read them almost completely straight through. I can find nothing to capture my interest now....they have spoiled me and my reading list GOOD JOB!!! Now bring on more!

posted by kea208 on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

An utterly flawed notion

I downloaded this book on a knee-jerk reaction thinking it would be an entertaining read. I didn't actually start thinking about the underlying notion until I began reading. Unfortunately, that notion seems so utterly flawed to me that I started enjoying the story less ...
I downloaded this book on a knee-jerk reaction thinking it would be an entertaining read. I didn't actually start thinking about the underlying notion until I began reading. Unfortunately, that notion seems so utterly flawed to me that I started enjoying the story less and less. Finally I just quit reading altogether. In most entertainment situations I can suspend disbelief enough to hang in there with the writer, but this was simply more than I could handle. The notion suggests, for example, that the creative imagination and energy of Steve Jobs is contained in his physical genes and that if we just save some of them we could someday bring that extraordinary genius back to life. I believe most people would agree with me that such an idea is pretty silly. Perhaps we could clone a body that looks like him, but (give me a break!) that body would most certainly not contain the same spiritual being. Why would ANY spirit be so attached to A PARTICULAR physical body? In Steve Jobs' case, for example, that physical body was highly susceptible to cancer. It just makes no sense to me. I apologize if my pragmatism, sense of reality, or bluntness offends anyone. I do believe in the spiritual aspect of life; I even believe in reincarnation; but this book just did not work for me.

posted by dnoblee on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    An utterly flawed notion

    I downloaded this book on a knee-jerk reaction thinking it would be an entertaining read. I didn't actually start thinking about the underlying notion until I began reading. Unfortunately, that notion seems so utterly flawed to me that I started enjoying the story less and less. Finally I just quit reading altogether. In most entertainment situations I can suspend disbelief enough to hang in there with the writer, but this was simply more than I could handle. The notion suggests, for example, that the creative imagination and energy of Steve Jobs is contained in his physical genes and that if we just save some of them we could someday bring that extraordinary genius back to life. I believe most people would agree with me that such an idea is pretty silly. Perhaps we could clone a body that looks like him, but (give me a break!) that body would most certainly not contain the same spiritual being. Why would ANY spirit be so attached to A PARTICULAR physical body? In Steve Jobs' case, for example, that physical body was highly susceptible to cancer. It just makes no sense to me. I apologize if my pragmatism, sense of reality, or bluntness offends anyone. I do believe in the spiritual aspect of life; I even believe in reincarnation; but this book just did not work for me.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    just another serial hook

    This is not an actual novel. It's just another of the new genre of neverending serial stories intended to pull you in and get you to buy the next installment, and the next.....and so on. Very disappointing, and stuffed with superfluous verbiage. Very poor writing, underdeveloped characters, and implausible proceedings. Not a good read.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend! You mudt check this out!

    I could not put this or the sequel down. I read them almost completely straight through. I can find nothing to capture my interest now....they have spoiled me and my reading list GOOD JOB!!! Now bring on more!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    A truly awful book

    The writer has mastered the mechanics of writing, but little else. Implausible premise poorly plotted, bad character development. I really tried to finish this book, but just could not.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    So excited to see this book for my Nook!

    I am excited to see that Barns and Noble has Son of Man for my Nook! I had read this series about 6 months ago, I have all three books in paperback, but love the convenience of my Nook. I am a Christian, and this book was recommended by a friend who said it was like the left behind series only better! When my friend recommended these books I was sort of expecting them to be another series, with a flaccid story line, and vanilla characters, boy was I surprised! The characters in this book were real. It's not full of sex, or violence, but these characters have real world reactions. I was very pleasantly surprised, and I could not put the book down! I must admit, I was hesitant to recommend this book, because there is sexual content (the ugly world of pedophilia), and it is a bit gritty, but then I realized, the Bible is the same way. It's not all Sunday School and sunshine. Christians aught to really pray before dismissing this book. I think God will use it in a big way.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Could not put it down

    I stayed up many nights past my bed time to continue reading this. I enjoyed it that much!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Not your typical romantic novel.

    I could not put this book down. I found myself hurrying through meals so I could get back to "MY" book. I had a kinship with the characters, like "Lylya" she is like one of my kids, or grand kids. I went through every emotions from laughter to tearing up to crying. I will recomend this book and ANYTHING this author writes to everyone. Just finished books #two and #three, and can not WAIT for book #FOUR!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    EPIC Story MUST READ

    I think this book and the two that follow, are EPIC!! I am not sure if the other NEGATIVE Reveiwers are even reading it. This book PULLS you into the story. This is not a typical "ramble" story. I could not put it or the other two down, I WANTED MORE!!! You become "freinds" with all of the characters, you feel as though they family, GREAT BOOK SERIES!!! I hope there is a #FOUR out soon. I'm refering this book to everyone!!! Fantastic, C W Johnson, Thank you for them.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Ok but not ammazing

    Original idea. Decent writing. But characters were not realistic

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Like it

    Good book!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    great story

    What a great book! was pleasantly surprised and am now looking for the next 2 in the series

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Entertaining Read

    It really was an entertaining read. The Jurassic Park concept takes on religion! Good character development and plot, although the ending left something to be desired-until I saw there was a sequel that I just downloaded.

    Stay tuned to this channel!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    The Son of Man

    great read!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    So very amateur

    I read reviews and I was a bit skeptic. So I promised myself to read at least 100 pages from over 900 that my nook says it has.

    50 pages and nothings going on, terrible writing, not interesting characters. 70 pages and the same, characters are acting irrational. This book, I believe, is trying to get something from success of different church conspiracy books, but it's just wrong.

    75 pages - i am giving up.

    I do not recommend to read this book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLECT NOVEL

    Son of Man was such an exciting novel that I've already downloaded Book II and Book III. The author constantly adds new facets and sub-plots that keep you wondering what will happen next as you follow the two main characters. This novel is over 950 pages but moves quickly while it keeps you on the edge of your seat. It's a definite must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Interesting

    Color me as a skeptic when i first began the novel but i trudged through the beginning of the book to find an interesting plot line with some good development of the main characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    INTERESTING CONCEPT

    Considering that the book was free, I feel I got a pretty good deal. SON OF MAN had a story line that attracted me. Once I began reading I had a hard time putting it down. I became irritated at times when certain parts were repeated (as if the author was just trying to fill up space), or with the grammatical & spelling errors that became more frequent towards the last quarter of the book. There are some important unanswered questions, but that's why there are Books Two & Three. Number One was freaky enough for me to purchase the rest of the series, so off I go - Back into the world of cloned Jesus Christ. You have to keep in mind that it's written as a fantasy & not get hung up on hows.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Decent read

    For a free book I can't complain too much. Brother Michael was a relatively poorly developed character; one moment he was a blundering idiot who believed himself to be Jesus, and the next he was a brilliant apostle of sorts. He and his lackeys really had no viable place in the story line, which frustrated me on more than one occasion. I even found myself contemplating his role when I finished the book... It killed some time but I just don't think it was written well enough to warrant my seeking out the second book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Read all 3 so far...

    Interesting concept initially described on nook caught my attention with first book. Altho an easy read, i keep feeling that some thing is missing...perhaps a meatier plot...IDK. some of the characters were rather random and i wondered why author created them at all or even just certainfacets of their character personalities..
    Some characters didnt mesh at all. Read the three books available thus far to see what else developed. If i do not read book 4 of the series, i would be fine with that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    wasnt that interesting

    couldnt get into it. it has to grab me to read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5