Customer Reviews for

The Song of Achilles

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

This was a wonderful book.. It was impossible to put down. Homer

This was a wonderful book.. It was impossible to put down.
Homer's epic is vividly retold, full of drama, gods and men, triumph and in the
end pity and tragedy.
For anyone interested in the Classics this is essential reading.
It is one of the finest novels I have ev...
This was a wonderful book.. It was impossible to put down.
Homer's epic is vividly retold, full of drama, gods and men, triumph and in the
end pity and tragedy.
For anyone interested in the Classics this is essential reading.
It is one of the finest novels I have ever read.

posted by dearreaderCT on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Average

Although I enjoy Greek mythology I was surprised by the homosexual content and would have been better without some of those details. I would not recommend this for children under the age of 16.

posted by pixiedoodle on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Wonderful

    Fantastically researched, beautifully written, and hauntingly emotional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The first thing I noticed about this book is how rich in emotion

    The first thing I noticed about this book is how rich in emotion it is. More than a story about two warriors who fall in the Trojan War, it is about two boys finding their identity in a time of conflict, heroes, and legends in the making. It is the story about the young man who understood and loved Achilles more than any other mortal of his time. His memories of his childhood days growing up with Achilles reminds us that there is more to the hero than the one who was the greatest warrior of his generation.

    Patroclus does not have a warrior's built, but he knows how to treasure life. Within lies a tender soul that yearns for recognition and love. Despite any qualms he may have, he follows Achilles unconditionally because Achilles is the first to truly acknowledge and accept him for who he is and without judgment. The two of them are soul mates. And each moment of happiness that they find together is all the more precious because we know from Greek mythology that there is going to be a tragedy at Troy, and Achilles and Patroclus's time on Earth is short-lived.

    Though narrated by Patroclus, The Song of Achilles is the poignant story of two Greek warriors, as narrated from their childhood days to their fall in the Trojan War. It is about how the events of their era shaped their lives and resulted in the legends that we remember today; it is about the people behind the legends. I recommend this story to those looking for a story with deep roots in Greek Mythology, emotion-rich books, and a tale of friendship and love.

    This book is going on my Keeper shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Wow

    This is one of my favorite books. If you liked the character Patroclus or Achilles while reading the Iliad, this definitely a book for you. It's beautifully written. I usually take at least a week to finish any book, but this one took me three days- I just couldn't put it down for the life of me. I always say if a book doesn't make you cry, it isn't worth it. This one was definitely worth it.
    It's enjoyable, quick paced, and an interesting interpretations o the events of the Iliad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Let's start off with the simple fact that I really enjoyed this

    Let's start off with the simple fact that I really enjoyed this book, and to be frank I'm not big on reading. Sure there are flaws, some have criticized that Patroclus narrates with the same language when hes 10 as he does when he's 28 (but seriously guys, what did you expect? For her to write half a dozen chapters the way a 10-12 year old really talks?). It's definitely an easy read (I read it in a day) but it has many different angles and events that keeps the reader on its toes and has great balance. Having Patroclus narrate their lives and relationship from childhood till their deaths definitely made me form an emotional attachment to this couple that I never thought I would for a story based on The Iliad. I found myself rooting for them, in vain of course, even though I knew how the story would end. Sad as the ending is, Miller completes the story leaving the reader somewhat happy, knowing the couple gets to spend eternity together. It has beautiful descriptions of their love, but don't worry, it's not overly sappy. In fact, I can only think of two parts of the book that are, uhhh, descriptive (but not graphic and it she keeps it rather short). Other than that, Miller leaves it to simple implications of them laying in bed together, touching each others faces, or just a kiss, etc. This book gives us a view of their physical/emotional love that is surprising and pleasing, without ever losing site of the setting and its violence and politics. I've already recommended this book to friends and feel that I definitely got my time and money's worth out of it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Stunning

    This story of Achilles from Patroclus's view is precious, heartwrenching, and beautiful. It is a return to the epic, The Iliad, but as Odysseus cleverly tells the great Achilles' son, that which we call heroic in one age may not be valued in another. Thus is Patroclus the real hero--for his devotion, his kindness, his sense of right.

    It was a fabulous read, and even at the very end where so many writers fall short, here it is complete and satisfies the reader's sense of story.

    Knowing the Iliad creates a nice foreshadowing effect, but it is not necessary. It is a love story in its purist form developed even amid the ravages of a ten-year war. This is the best read I've had this summer.

    (The enhanced version is worth it, having background on the characters, the gods, and interviews with the author. The audo clips did not add to the story, though, because they were excerpts from the coming chapter but placed at the very beginning. Don't bother with them.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great for history buffs

    Great book,loved the way the characters developed as well as the story. Even though you know the end it was very well done. Hope she continues to write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Is this a good book for a young teen?

    I hear this is a great book but is it for young teens????????

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    How can I tell? I can't read it.

    Evidently "enhanced" means that it won't open on a first edition Nook. I will say that B&N was cheerful and prompt about a refund. But what kind of technology strategy are they trying to work here?

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2015

    Excellent

    Easy to read, engrossing version of an ancient tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    Songs:

    Gloriana: Trouble <br> Blake Shelton: Sangria(?) <br> Luke Bryan: Games

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    Luke bio

    Big pentitonix fan.very good at it.male.awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Hooked on a felaling

    Duh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2015

    Hooked on a Feeling

    ~ Simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    hooked on a feeling by....

    Blue Suede

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    Lark ♞

    Hooked On A Feeling by...........errr.....Idk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    To below

    You gave the answer... Hooked on a feeling from gaurdians of the galaxy but it was there before the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2015

    Guess that song! No. 2

    "I cant stop this feeling, deep inside of me. Girl you just dont realize, what you do to me. <p> When you hold me in your arms so tight, you let me know, everythings all right. <p> Hooked on a feeling! Im high on believing, that your in love with meeeee....." <p> can you guess that song?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    Mary Renault would be proud!

    The POV storytelling of Patroclus was inspired. Emotionally intense without being salacious. The reader is transformed into an observer of the Trojan War. Money and time well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Beautiful

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6