Customer Reviews for

The Sopranos Family Cookbook: As Compiled by Artie Bucco

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

good book

good recipes,easy

posted by patrice-k on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

N o gravy

The authors are trying to make Italian dishes sound like French cuisine. If it is truly "Soprano Italian" everything would be covered in "gravy." Not sauce this or that.

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    Sorpranos cook with and Iron fist!

    Being 100% Italian (thank you GOD)! I will tell you that the dishes in the cook book are A1. Now some of the dishes have been Americanized but hey what's wrong with that right. Buy the book and join the family!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    Not every Italian calls sauce "gravy"!

    This is a fun book, interestingly written, nice recipes and enjoyable to read. Doesn't take itself too seriously. It would make a nice Christmas gift maybe with a bottle of an old fashioned Chianti.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    this book is great

    i cooked up a feast for the family ,then the whole family told me how great the food was .they were really impressed .except for cousin vinny he didnt like the food he said it had way to much garlic .so we had him whacked .now me and the family can enjoy a home cooked meal with out any problems . great book!! one downside it should also have ways to whack people who dont like the food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Great Simple Cookbook

    Easy home cooked meals that all turn out perfect...I have made so many...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Full of personality!

    We're Italian, and our family got such a kick out of this cook book. Some of the recipes reminded me of the simple Italian recipes my parents made when I was a kid. I almost forgot about some of them so it was a walk down memory lane. The stories along with the recipes were hallarious, we laughed and laughed. We loved this book so much I told my co-workers about it and they all purchased the book, some of them purchased two, one for friends. It'a a great buy! Easy to use and very traditional. Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Great Book

    Being married to an italian - it is a very easy book to follow... very funny as well. Love it... food is wonderful also

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love this cookbook!! It is just like my family recipes. They are simple and easy to make and always hit!!! Now, I don't have to keep calling my mother to find out how do you make ''. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys Italian-American cooking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    Nothing Like It

    I love this cookbook. Of course my favorite is Penne ala Vodka! Just like the true Italians make it back in New York. Recommend it to anyone who loves Italian cooking. My family just loves it when I cook from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    A very good cookbook, even for a cheapskate such as myself:)

    I got a little bit of Soprano in my blood line, Of course mine is on the Iowa timber side of the family...My wife bought me this book for Christmas and I must say it's a keeper! If your a Rick Black fan, than I being Rick Black, recommends this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Tour of Italy with the Sopranos

    I got this wonderful cookbook as a Christmas gift and have been cooking ever since. People are amazed at the spectacular recipies and the simplicity of their creation. There is something for everyone in this book. A delightful tour of Italy from top to bottom with recipies from the heart. No 3 hour preparation needed, many things are common in all our kitchens, you can enjoy this book and its recipies right away. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    Just like Mama's!

    I received this cookbook as a gift, and have been delighted with it! Like my mother before me, I learned to cook by being in the kitchen with my mom, and every Sunday and especially on holidays, we'd make macaroni (we never called it pasta) meatballs and sausage, and if it was an occasion, bracciole. Gravy (not sauce) cooked all morning, flavored by the meat. Today I make these recipes but have never had them written down. Reading through the different dishes in the cookbook, I see that they are prepared exactly the way my family has always made them. I can't wait to try some of the other dishes I've always loved but didn't know how to cook. Thank you, Artie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Warm Memories from Grandma and Childhood

    I received this cookbook for Christmas - it was my favorite gift. Many of the recipes are for the tasty, hearty foods that I grew up with - passed down from Grandma, who was born in Italy, to my mother and aunts. Of course, having an actual "recipe" instead of a "handful, or pinch" is priceless, especially when making Ricotta Chesecake, or Biscotti. We also called our sauce "gravy" until it became obsolete by new generations. Thanks for the memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Long Lost Recipes

    There are very few cookbooks that impress me, but this one tops the list. I am a full blooded "Neopolitan". My Father was born in a small town just outside of Naples, near Pompaii. My Mother is First Generation American, but her family came from the same town. This is the food that I grew up on! Many of the recipes died with my parents and I'm delighted beyond words to "rediscover" them, and to recapture the very fond memories of my childhood. Besides the great recipes, the book itself is a delight. It could be used (and I do) as a "Coffee Table" book; it is that entertaining. I bought several of these as Christmas gifts, and I've told everyone I know about it. If there was one phrase to describe it, it would be "JUST WONDERFUL".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Magnifico!!!

    I purchased this cookbook back in September and I have tried almost every recipe in it. The Sunday Gravy is exactly like my great grandfather's recipe. Members of my family have been so impressed, that I purchased this as a Christmas gift for them. When I prepare these recipes, it brings back so many childhood memories. If you love Italian cooking, then this book is a must have. Aside from the great recipes, the stories are entertaining as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Fuhgeddabout eating plain old pasta...

    The Sopranos Family Cookbook is a great way to introduce you to new Italian cuisine, or just to enjoy your favorite dishes with a twist by Vesuvio chef/owner, Artie Bucco.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    easy and delicious recipes

    I did a theme dinner party with recipes only from this book. All were excellent and flavorful. I was impressed with the results which were accomplished without the labor of a gourmet cook book, but with the results of one! Will use it over and over. The saved time can be used to enjoy the text: light and entertaining. A great gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Love the Sopranos

    I have recently rented the 1st series of the Sopranos and love every episode. I was looking around one day on BN.com and saw this book. Of course, I bought it and loved it too. It shares many famous Italian dishes that are easily reproduced because of the excellant descriptions. A step by step easy guide to great Italian cooking. I also have been hearing wonderful things about another book called Dreams: Gateway to the True Self. It is a book of self discovery and exploration. It goes into some psychology too, but is mostly about finding yourself through dreams. If you have gotten a lot out of Tony Sopranos visits to his psychologist, then wait until you read this. Truely it is an interesting and rewarding book. Check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Excellente'

    I found the recipes in this book to be delicious, and the Sopranos theme makes it even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Read this book in one Night!!

    As a Director of Catering I collect a lot of cookbooks. This book, in my opinion, is Beautifully put together. Recipes are easy to read with items that are accesible at most grocery stores. The stories throughout the books and little articles that in reference to the series was a excellent idea. This book had so many different little added extras that it was hard for me to remember that this was a fictional family they were speaking of LOL. I especially like the page of top 10 Famous Food scenes in Mob movies it was interesting. The book has recipes from Appetizers to Desserts. No Fuss to a little Elaborate. Pictures are nice and I had the feeling, after reading this book, that I could do many of these recipes even if I wasn't a Director of Catering. I highly recommend this book for anyone that enjoys Italian Food or the Series, in fact I had an idea to do a Gift Basket for Christmas with the DVD's (from the series), this Cookbook, a Sinatra CD and a bottle of Ruffino Chiante what a perfect evening. Respectfully Reviewed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Great Recipes.

    I made the Ziti Al Forde (Baked ziti with little meatballs) and it was wonderful. Had everybody over for the football game and had this with a salad and garlic bread and ummmmmm it was soooo good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2