Customer Reviews for

The Soul Sessions

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A new Joss Stone fan

    This was a great Cd! Okay, so i listend to it online but still Soul Sessions was great! i LOVED the song "All the King's Horses"! You can really hear the influence of Aretha Franklina and other soul singers. I think i'll run out right now and buy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    My favorite cd by Joss Stone. Loved the album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You need this CD!

    Joss is amazing. Her many influences come through her music and her voice is incredible. A bit of soul, motown, and blues blend to make something perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT

    I bought this cd a while back and was eager for her new one to come out. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THEM BOTH! What an amazing voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great new Talent

    I saw Joss Stone on VH1 and thought i'd give her a try, well i fell in love with her cd, her voice is amazing! I was very suprised, and she is one of my favorite singers now, it's also nice to know songs that i otherwise would never have heard of

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best CD I Have Heard in So Long

    I absolutely loved this CD. I purchased this CD after seeing Joss on MTV news and I hadn't really heard any of her songs. I was just intrigued. I was not disappointed. This was one of the few CD's that I have purchased in months that I can listen to from start to finish and find something to love about every song. Joss' rich, soulful voice is a perfect instrument for all of the songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a great cd

    i had heard "fell in love with a boy" on the radio, and liked it, and so i bought this cd on blind faith. i haven't been disappointed. i think she'd do a great rendition of janis joplin's "me and bobby mcgee." i think she's going to go far. this cd is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    This is an awesome cd. I bought it because i heard one song, after that i just hqad to have the cd. This is the first cd that i have that i can listen to again an again. It will put you in a mellow mood! Cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A voice beyond her years!

    I kept hearing about this new, 16-year-old blonde blues singer from England...WHAT!? After listening to this CD, I am convinced. Joss Stone has been here before...and in this life, she's using what she learned from the last one! Her voice, her phrasing, and voice control are astounding at her age. And she sings about topics she shouldn't even be aware of at such a young age. And what a compliment to her talent that she was able to work with legendary and contemporary artists like Betty Wright, Latimore and ?uestlove from the Roots. And she does great renditions of "All the Kings Horse's", "Some Kind of Wonderful", and the Isley's "For the Love of You." I cannot wait to see her live and in living color!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remakes

    Okay, I admit, I am 40 something. When I saw the titles of the tracks on this cd, I was excited. This would bring back memories. The artist's rendition of "Super Duper" as well as "The Chokin Kind" were outstanding, however, her renditions of "I've Fallen In Love With You", "Dirty Man", and "For The Love of You", had my head screaming...what is this? The songs were unrecognizable, particulary the Isley Brothers "For The Love of You". If you are my age...these renditions are close to blasphemy. Of course we would like the younger generation to be able to appreciate our sounds..to be able to give credit to these gifted artists who were oftentimes underrated...but not with this cd. Ms. Stone has a terrific voice but words cannot describe what a disservice that her terrific voice did to these classics. Listen, if you want to know what good old "chicken frying" soul sounds like, get your hands on the real deal...Laura Lee's "Dirty Man", Barbara Lynn's "Til Then I'll Suffer", Sugar Billy's, "Supa Dupa Love", Wille Clayton's "Tell Me", and by all means check out Carla Thomas' "I've Fallen In Love". They may be very hard to find...these are rare classics...but worth the search. If you must listen to a remake, listen to Whitney Houston's version of "For The Love of You"...not bad...and you will at least recognize the song. Check out the originals...after all...they are the ones that "brought them to town"...often imitated...but never duplicated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Voice like velvety cabernet

    stone's voice is smooth and way beyond her years. her projection is very natural, resulting in a powerful voice that doesnt sound forced. if you molded janis joplin, aretha franklin, whitney houston and anna kournikova the end result would be joss stone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Janis Returns

    So far only heard brief clips on line, but enough to recognise a major talent. Any Janis Joplin fan will instantly recognise an eerie similarity in the timbre of Joss Stone's haunting vocals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Prepare space in your music collection!

    Sometimes all you need is the first note sung, no matter how long it's held. I only needed to hear the 30 second snippet on "For The Love of You". Simply amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievable

    This album is incredible. My friends and I listen to the snippets at school and we got the CD. It was even better than we expected. Congratulations Joss Stone! This is the new refreshing artist that the music scene needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Joss Stone

    Heard her interviewed & singing live on NPR - what a VOICE! She is incredible. and she sang a stanza from songs she's working on for her new album. She's gonna be a hot one to follow -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1