Customer Reviews for

The Sound of Broken Glass (Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I only 'discovered' Deborah Crombie last year when I read No Mar

I only 'discovered' Deborah Crombie last year when I read No Mark Upon Her. (my review - I loved it) I have been eagerly awaiting the next entry in her Duncan Kincaid/ Gemma James series. The Sound of Broken Glass (#15) releases today.

Kincaid and James are husband and...
I only 'discovered' Deborah Crombie last year when I read No Mark Upon Her. (my review - I loved it) I have been eagerly awaiting the next entry in her Duncan Kincaid/ Gemma James series. The Sound of Broken Glass (#15) releases today.

Kincaid and James are husband and wife and both work for Scotland Yard. Duncan is staying at home right now with their three year old daughter and Gemma is heading up her first big murder case.

Who has been killed? A prominent lawyer - found in a rundown hotel in Crystal Palace, naked and tied up. Is it a sex game gone wrong? Or a sadistic killer? But then a second lawyer is found killed the same way - and there's evidence to link the two cases. As Gemma digs deeps deeper, she finds unexpected connections to her life. In flashback chapters, we also slowly learn of a young man's past and his upbringing in the Crystal Palace neighbourhood. What connection does he have to the present day?

Crombie is a master of plotting. There was no dearth of suspects and I was kept guessing until the end. The investigation is solid police work and I enjoyed solving the crime along with Gemma and her team. But woven through this main storyline is a running secondary storyline - that of Duncan and Gemma's personal life. And it is this 'personal' touch that has cemented Crombie on my must read list. Although others may complain that domestic details of characters may detract from a good mystery, I find quite the opposite. I feel they gave the story much more depth and make the characters 'real' and all the more believable. This same attention to detail is given to the secondary players as well. The result is a well rounded cast, all with their own tale to tell. I've become invested in each of their lives and want to see where Crombie takes everyone from here.

There's a third thread also wound about the story - that of The Crystal Palace itself. Although the name now denotes an area of South London, the history behind this plate-glass building originally erected to house the Great Exhibition of 1851 is truly fascinating. Every chapter starts out with a quote or a paragraph chronicling the history of the building. And again, Crombie is very clever with her choices. Read carefully, they mirror what is happening in the book.

The Sound of Broken Glass was a satisfying read on so many levels - one I would definitely recommend. Crombie ends the book with a cliff hanger - I will be again eagerly awaiting the next in this wonderful series.

posted by Twink on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

?

Another possible good book ruined by excessive plot spoilers. Bn, just lost another sale to these plot spoilers. Are you ever going to put a stop to them???

posted by 8888649 on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    I only 'discovered' Deborah Crombie last year when I read No Mar

    I only 'discovered' Deborah Crombie last year when I read No Mark Upon Her. (my review - I loved it) I have been eagerly awaiting the next entry in her Duncan Kincaid/ Gemma James series. The Sound of Broken Glass (#15) releases today.

    Kincaid and James are husband and wife and both work for Scotland Yard. Duncan is staying at home right now with their three year old daughter and Gemma is heading up her first big murder case.

    Who has been killed? A prominent lawyer - found in a rundown hotel in Crystal Palace, naked and tied up. Is it a sex game gone wrong? Or a sadistic killer? But then a second lawyer is found killed the same way - and there's evidence to link the two cases. As Gemma digs deeps deeper, she finds unexpected connections to her life. In flashback chapters, we also slowly learn of a young man's past and his upbringing in the Crystal Palace neighbourhood. What connection does he have to the present day?

    Crombie is a master of plotting. There was no dearth of suspects and I was kept guessing until the end. The investigation is solid police work and I enjoyed solving the crime along with Gemma and her team. But woven through this main storyline is a running secondary storyline - that of Duncan and Gemma's personal life. And it is this 'personal' touch that has cemented Crombie on my must read list. Although others may complain that domestic details of characters may detract from a good mystery, I find quite the opposite. I feel they gave the story much more depth and make the characters 'real' and all the more believable. This same attention to detail is given to the secondary players as well. The result is a well rounded cast, all with their own tale to tell. I've become invested in each of their lives and want to see where Crombie takes everyone from here.

    There's a third thread also wound about the story - that of The Crystal Palace itself. Although the name now denotes an area of South London, the history behind this plate-glass building originally erected to house the Great Exhibition of 1851 is truly fascinating. Every chapter starts out with a quote or a paragraph chronicling the history of the building. And again, Crombie is very clever with her choices. Read carefully, they mirror what is happening in the book.

    The Sound of Broken Glass was a satisfying read on so many levels - one I would definitely recommend. Crombie ends the book with a cliff hanger - I will be again eagerly awaiting the next in this wonderful series.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The central geographical theme in this newest book from Deborah


    The central geographical theme in this newest book from Deborah Crombie is the area of South London known as Crystal Palace and its environs, with each chapter preceded by some fascinating information. It certainly has historical importance, originally known for the site of The Great Exhibition, a great iron and glass building moved to Crystal Palace Park in 1854 and destroyed by fire on November 30, 1936. Its importance in the present-day tale spun so wonderfully here, however, is as a crime scene, when DI Gemma James is called to investigate the murder of a well-respected barrister found in a seedy hotel in the district, naked, trussed, and apparently strangled.

    At irregular intervals, there are flashback scenes in the same geographical area taking place fifteen years in the past, when a 13-year-old boy is befriended by his next-door neighbor, a young widow, providing a lifeline of sorts for the lonely youngster, whose alcoholic mother has little time for him. The connection with present-day events becomes clear much later in the book.

    The personal life of Gemma and her husband, DS Duncan Kincaid, and their blended family, primarily their 3-year-old foster daughter, Charlotte, is once again a major part of the plot. He is now on leave from Scotland Yard to be primary caretaker of Charlotte and the other family members, the boys, Kit and Toby, and their assorted animals: Sid the cat, the terrier Tess, and the cocker spaniel Geordie. Things become complicated when Duncan realizes he has a personal connection with one of the suspects, and a second, similar murder takes place.

    This is a thoroughly enjoyable novel, much like the prior books in the series, which is high praise indeed. The plotting is complex and suspense-filled, the characters wonderfully well-drawn, and the book is recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I love every one of Ms Crombies' Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James series. Mystery, relationships, family...she weaves the reader into the lives of these characters until you feel they are part of your own family--or wish they were. I've read every last one of them and can't wait for the next...hoping there is a next!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I have read all of these books and enjoy Ms Crombie's style of w

    I have read all of these books and enjoy Ms Crombie's style of writing and the continuing characters. This particular book took a bit of getting into before I found it interesting. The intro to all the characters and crime part of the story seemed to take awhile. I have liked some of her others a bit better. That said, i will continue to be her fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Satsfyingv Satisfying Read: Good chracter development Satisfyungb Satisfying Read:: Satsfying Satisfying read; Kincaid as a dtay Satusfyung read Satisfying read; kincaid as stay at home dad

    The mystery is good, and a little raunchy by Crombie standards, but it's the development of the series' cast of characters that drives this book. Kincaid is on leave, a stay-at-home dad, and Melody has a surprising relationship development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Good

    Murder in South London. Gemma's new promotion and Duncan's turn as a stay at home. I did enjoy this addition, but, not as much as some of the other 14 books that preceded this one. I love the series but this wasn't my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Deborah Crombie in her new book, ┬┐The Sound Of Broken Glass┬┐ Boo

    Deborah Crombie in her new book, “The Sound Of Broken Glass” Book Fifteen in the Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James  series published by William Morrow. gives us a new mystery with Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James.




    From the back cover: In the past . . .
    On a blisteringly hot August afternoon in Crystal Palace, once home to the tragically destroyed Great Exhibition, a solitary thirteen-year-old boy meets his next door neighbor, a recently widowed young teacher hoping to make a new start in the tight-knit South London community. Drawn together by loneliness, the unlikely pair form a deep connection that ends in a shattering act of betrayal.




    In the present . . .
    On a cold January morning in London, Detective Inspector Gemma James is back on the job now that her husband, Detective Superintendent Duncan Kincaid, is at home to care for their three-year-old foster daughter. Assigned to lead a Murder Investigation Team in South London, she’s assisted by her trusted colleague, newly promoted Detective Sergeant Melody Talbot. Their first case, a crime scene at a seedy hotel in Crystal Palace. The victim, a well-respected barrister, found naked, trussed, and apparently strangled. Is it an unsavory accident or murder? In either case, he was not alone, and Gemma’s team must find his companion – a search that leads them into unexpected corners and forces them to contemplate unsettling truths about the weaknesses and passions that lead to murder. Ultimately, they will begin to question everything they think they know about their world and those they trust most




    There is nothing like a great mystery at the end of the day to calm the soul and clear the mind of all the days trials and stress.  And Deborah Crombie has given us a great mystery.  So great , in fact, that it takes place in two time periods all connected, somehow, to Crystal Palace.  ”The Sound Of Broken Glass” is a police procedural taking place in London.  Ms. Crombie likes to tell an engaging mystery with wonderful characters.  This is my first Deborah Crombie mystery but it will not be my last.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Partners In Crime.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    The past and the present intermingle in this mystery making for

    The past and the present intermingle in this mystery making for a plot line that will keep you on the edge of your seats! 

    The Sound of Broken Glass is #15 in Deborah Crombie's Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James series and even though I have never
     read any of the other books belonging to this series for about 90% of the book I felt in the loop and would mark this as also a great
     stand alone read but there was that 10% of the book that left me confused particularly about Duncan and Gemma's family situation
     especially in regards to their foster daughter Charlotte. This 10% had me wishing I had read the previous books in the series. 

    Which leads me to let you in on a little tidbit in case you have never read any of the books from this series and that tidbit is that Duncan
     and Gemma are not partners in the police sense they are husband and wife. When I first read "A Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James
     Mystery" at the bottom of the book I assumed and I was wrong but maybe they were originally partners, oh goodness as I am sitting
     hear telling you what I think I am actually intriguing myself about the characters lives before book #15; looks like I will be adding quite a
     few books to my Goodreads list tonight!

    The book had a wonderful fast paced story line and I thoroughly enjoyed this book with the only downside being that 10% of feeling
     a bit confused about some of the characters relationships with one another. 

    I am giving this book a 4-star rating even though for awhile there I was contemplating a 3-star review because of that darn 10%; but the
     weaving of details from the shadows of the past with the dangerous dealings of the present made up for that lousy 10%.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    This was a first read from author Deborah Crombie for me and I


    This was a first read from author Deborah Crombie for me and I certainly did enjoy reading the book.
    The setting is London, the storyline intense, and the characters quite believable.   Paths were crossed for several of the characters, which left the reader reasoning along with the investigators as to who had committed the crimes of passion.




    The writing flowed fluently and the book was a rather fast read which I appreciated having my attention held to the very end.   I would love to read more of the Gemma James and Duncan Kincaid series in the future.   Gemma had quite the tug at heartstrings what with a successful and busy career and the desire to stay with the children at home with their father.   Communication  between characters was often at risk due to the complexities of the business at hand, but teamwork was crucial in solving the case.
    I received a complimentary copy from the author or the author’s representatives in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Love this writer

    Love the characters plots are always a little different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1