Customer Reviews for

The Source of Magic: A Fantasy Romance (Alaia Chronicles)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    An exciting & intriguing magical story

    I love The Source of Magic. I love everything about it - the feisty heroine, Jillian, the to-die-for hero, Prince Alvarr, the otherworldly setting. Cate Rowan has woven an intriguing and engrossing story with enough twists and turns to keep me turning the virtual pages. Jillian is transported to an exotic new world, like Earth, but not like Earth, filled with strange plants and animals. Despite her confusion and her fear, Jillian is strong and fights to get back to her sick mother. Jillian discovers she has magic powers, powers Prince Alvarr and his people need. They have something Jillian needs - the plant that could cure her mother. When Jillian and Alvarr go on a journey to find the rare plant, they find so much more than that. They find love, but that love is tested over and over. They have to fight their growing feelings for each other and fight a very bad villain. Jillian is determined to get home to her mother. But can she bear to leave Alvarr? That question kept me guessing and reading to a very satisfactory ending. Cate Rowan is a terrfic writer. I can't wait to read more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Excellent - Romance and Magic!

    This is a very enjoyable book and the writing is excellent. I was drawn into the hero's world and the conflicting loyalties that threaten the main characters' romance. A surprise twist makes a happy ending doubtful but it works out in the end and is a great read. I'll definitely be looking for more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Very Highly recommended

    Loved it. This is a prequel to Ms. Rowan's other book (Kismet's Kiss), but I think you could read them in either order. The setting of this book is kind of a magical Middle Ages Europe (and a magical old India or Middle East for the other one). I enjoyed seeing Varene again in this, and another talking bird who steals scenes. Plus, Alvarr can show up in my house anytime. =-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Entertaining Fantasy Love Story

    The story was entertaining. Although I would have liked for some of the characters back story to be more developed, it was enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    I really liked it!

    I enjoyed the book a great deal. The characters were intriguing and the environments were colorful. I like the portal between the worlds aspect especially. I also enjoyed the subplot twist near the end as well. I would recommend this book, and I am in fact buying the next in the series so I can follow Varene's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Fun read

    Good fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Spellbinding

    The Source of Magic is a great read for anyone who likes fantasy with a little romance thrown in. A great adventure. I didn't want jilian and Alvarr's story to end. I'm looking forward to reading more by Cate Rowan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    good story

    this book was ok and if they came out with a 2nd book i would read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    A great read

    I really liked this book. It fell slightly short of LOVING it, but not by far. The worldbuilding is wonderful, though I'd like to get a clearer picture of the castle and the town it's in and so on. The back and forth to the mountains and to Earth and back to the bad guy's court got overly convoluted.

    But I loved Jilian and her vulnerabilities. Alvarr jumped to conclusions and I didn't feel as clear on all his motivations for distrusting Jilian and flipping out all the time.

    I also never felt like I could forgive Jilian's Earth father for never seeing her again after her parents split up. Jilian came to some sort of peace over it, but I wasn't really clear on why. I wanted to at least have the mother explain why they split up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!

    I was presently surprized when I read this book! I could not put it down. This great new author has created a believable magical world of Mages that I want to live in. Love the characters- nice change to see plain ol' magic with no vampires and werewolves :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Excellent!

    The Source of Magic is a charming prequel to Kismet's Kiss. You meet Varene the Healer from Kismet's Kiss, I adored her story, so it made this story more interesting for me.

    The world that Cate Rowan creates is fascinating; I especially loved the Fydds (Tegganne's form of a horse). The romance between Jilian and Alvarr was sweet (& hot) although weaved with turmoil from misunderstandings. Interesting twists and turns. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    A wonderful read!

    I was highly enticed by the characters and move of the plot. It was one of those books you can not put down and I highly look forward to more books by Cate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2