Customer Reviews for

The South Was Right!

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Darn tootin'

I am so tired of Yankees and how rude they are and coming down to the South, taking it over and basically ruining our culture and cities. Therefore, I have an extremely biased opinion on this book. I think it's great, and I think it is about time the truth came out ab...
I am so tired of Yankees and how rude they are and coming down to the South, taking it over and basically ruining our culture and cities. Therefore, I have an extremely biased opinion on this book. I think it's great, and I think it is about time the truth came out about what the Civil War was really about.

posted by 134688 on October 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Specious Claim

The authors, and many on this comment thread, make a specious claim when they vehemntly deny the primary role slavery played in the decision of southern convention of secession to leave the union. The Kennedys try to reestablish the southern hold over the interpretatio...
The authors, and many on this comment thread, make a specious claim when they vehemntly deny the primary role slavery played in the decision of southern convention of secession to leave the union. The Kennedys try to reestablish the southern hold over the interpretation of this event in history. They are even wrong on the account that the north held sway over this interpretation for so long. The historiography just doesn't agree with them. (Please read James Loewen's books concerning US history textbooks.) Moreover, the southern secessionists themselves do not agree with them. The state of Mississippi's secession convention made it clear why they were leaving the union in the face of the anticipation of a fairly elected presidential administration when they wrote their "A Declaration of the Immediate Causes which Induce and Justify the Secession of the State of Mississippi from the Federal Union". In it they convention states, "Our position is thoroughly identified with the institution of slavery-- the greatest material interest of the world". They go on to list grievances that all, every one of them, deal with slavery. I will list just a few key items for you:

"That we do not overstate the dangers to our institution, a reference to a few facts will sufficiently prove.

The hostility to this institution commenced before the adoption of the Constitution, and was manifested in the well-known Ordinance of 1787, in regard to the Northwestern Territory.

It [the hostility of northern abolitionist] has grown until it denies the right of property in slaves, and refuses protection to that right on the high seas, in the Territories, and wherever the government of the United States had jurisdiction.

It [the Union] advocates negro equality, socially and politically, and promotes insurrection and incendiarism in our midst."

History is a dangerous tool left in the hands of propagandists like the Kennedys. Do your research and see how wrong these guys are.

Try Chandra Mannings examination of soldier's letters in her "What This Cruel War Was Over".

I implore you to discover this countries real history of racial hatred and institutionalized racism. It is important. (Yes, the north was just as racist).

posted by DylanVoltaire on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Darn tootin'

    I am so tired of Yankees and how rude they are and coming down to the South, taking it over and basically ruining our culture and cities. Therefore, I have an extremely biased opinion on this book. I think it's great, and I think it is about time the truth came out about what the Civil War was really about.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    it is time to tell the truth the way the south really felt!

    This is a book that you won't put down. Points made on the southern side that were left out by the yankees who wrote the history books.You know what they say to the victor goes the spoils, but finally a truthful version of why the south did what they did. If you love history it is a GREAT read. DEO VINDICE!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    Northerner, Southerner, or wherever you call home, this book is an enjoyable look at America's past, not just the South's history. It gives details you might have missed in school about the Civil War, and will make Southerners even more proud of where they come from.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    Great Book Must Read

    Good book for people starting out reading about the Southern Cause. Keeps you hooked and wanting to know more. I even had a moment when reading about the young boy from TN hanged because he wouldnt tell the yanks who his commander was. Had a bit of a nightmare over it thinking about it so much. Anyhow it sets you up really good for another read which I recommend "The Rise and Fall of The Confederate Goverment" by Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederate States of America. So go get it and read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Two Thumbs Up !

    The book is needed to tell the truth about the great South. The South told the truth about the Federal Government and how they get in to the states business. The Supreme Court Case on Affirmative Action and Homosexuals is just an example on what I'm talking about. The South has morals, Christian Values that our kids need to know about. Salvery was wrong. I've saw the movie Roots and this book is the South's roots. Our kids don't need political correctness, they need the truth. God Bless Dixie & America !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    The Truth Hurts!

    This book is a book that needed to be told. To most southerners we knew by our heritage that we were right and we fought a just and noble war. As far as most northerners, this book must be a shock that people actually feel this way! But the truth of the matter is that as citizens of this age, it is hard to believe that the north would invade the south simply because they needed the souths economy to survive. The 1860 Census shows the GNP from the south at 85%. Thats a stagering number for a small region.It is also curious as to why Lincoln pulled out every federal soldier from its garrisons around the south except for Fort Sumpter in South Carolina. Then went on to lie to the Southern people about not sending arms and ammunition to the Fort when he said he would not, only retrieve his men. This book is a great educational tool to dispute all the lies and myths that have been told. The descendants of our soldiers who spent four hard long years in the field away from their loved ones or died would want their stories told. It is about time that people look at what is there for them, to educate themselves about the truth of an invasion, and an unjust war. And for those that claim that the south was bigoted and racist, I would ask, where was the northern savior between 1865 to 1963, when JFK had to force the doors open in Alabama? By the way, the facts that I've talked about was retrieved from the US Congressional Library. You can also find out about the two only slave ports in the US (New York and Boston Harbor). We Southerners are good citizens of this country and are proud of this country. Gen Lee told us to go back and be good citizens and we have been ever since. From the Spanish American War to Desert Storm, southerners have been there. And we will continue to be good citizens. But while we have those that believe the south hates blacks and the war was for slavery, these people forget about the indentured servants (Anglo-saxons), while they proclaim "Plymouth Rock as thy first step in America, they forget that Souherners where growing corn 12 years before plymouth,MA. at Jamestown, VA." The Truth hurts!! God Bless America and Long live the South!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    Pride in the South

    This book was the first I have read which truly showed the Confederacy and its objectives clearly and without restriction. Current society teaches us that we should feel shame for the actions of our ancestors and forever suffer the pain of losing. Instead, the south fought for a just and LEGAL right to be free. You cannot deny the amount of non-slave owning, moral, and respected men who led and fought for the southern cause. Men like this did not fight for the preservation of slavery, but for the rebellion of wrong-doing invaders and an end to explotation. It is important that our history is taught to our children, and we learn to honor our ancestors and be proud of our heritage. What kind of nation can we build if we cannot honor our past? We need to stand up for our rights, but not in acts of hatred, for that is not why the cause was launched, but instead for our claim to our respected heritage. This book is a great read for anyone who is really interested in the truths of the war for southern independence.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Controversial, Not Politically Correct, and Totally Accurate

    You don't have to be Southern by birth or a Civil War historian to appreciate the scholarship and unvarnished portrayal of history in this book. As we all know, the history taught in school is incredibly slanted towards the heroism and moral position of the Union. Unfortunately, this is a lie. The war was NOT primarily about slavery, but rather a trampling of the strong state's rights foundation our nation was founded upon. If you are from the North and ever wondered why the Civil War is still relevant and close to the hearts of your Southern friends, then read this book with an open mind. It will open your eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    This book should never rest !

    I read this book and bought 2 more copies to lend out. I already knew that school taught history (not limited to the War for Southern Independence) was Liberal. This book is a well researched wealth of information and should not be allowed any rest. I will see to it that these books that I bought are being constantly read by someone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Eye Opening, Truthful, and highly recommended to History Teachers!!!!

    When I first saw this book on the shelf at my local B&N I didn't think it would be very legitimate. I was wrong. This book has allowed me to understand the true history of the civil war. The authors who wrote this book did their homework and research as well as anyone could possibly do so. My great ancestors fought for the Union during the Civil War and I had always believed what I was taught in school. Now I understand that what I was taught was propaganda tied to myths. This book reveals the TRUTH of the Civil War and has strong proof and evidence to support its contents! If you are a Civil War historian, a history teacher or a history student I strongly recommend this book to you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    The Simple truth finally spoken

    This is a great book that every American can read. Every statement is well defended. Those in America who wish to be blind will remain so even after being presented with the compelling evidence found in 'The South was Right'. It was really amusing reading the third review titled 'Propaganda for Propaganda'. In it the writer states that only undereducated people will be effected by the book. The whole review however reads like its been written by a third grader and thus the writer is seemingly one of the undereducated people. The South fought to defend their homes. So many Southerners would not have fought so hard and so long so that six percent of the population could own slaves. The Yankees were not fighting to free the slaves but to impose their will on the Southerners. You will see this in the Book and their is even more evidence available, that supports the Southern cause, which they did not include in the book. This book allows Southerners to feel pride againd after having been stripped of it for so long. The South will rise again, perhaps not as a nation, but she will rise off her knees where the North has kept her for so long with it powerful propaganda tools. Do not be ashamed any longer South! You loved and still love the black race more than the North ever has. Slavery would have been abolished within a few years of the end of the Civil War if the South had won. You'll see this in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    This was an outstanding book, and gave great perspective to what

    This was an outstanding book, and gave great perspective to what isn't taught in American history. I am a Yankee by birth, but have lived in the South my entire adult life. I learned so much about the War for Southern Independence. The book is very well written and you'll not want to put it down once you begin reading it. I would encourage anyone who wants the Southern (oppressed) perspective on the "Civil War to read the book. You'll never view this time in American history the same again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    This is a great book, I believe all Southern People should read

    This is a great book, I believe all Southern People should read it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ( but be prepared to get upset)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Eye opener

    This book really sets the record straight on several issues dealing with the secession of the Southern states and the rights that were trampled on by the North to 'save' the 'Union'. A great read and reference book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Great Book!!!

    This is a great book that tells the truth behind the War For Southern Indepedence. Be proud of the South and keep our heritage alive!! All Americans need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Northern Apologists

    Northern apologists and Neo-Lincolnites will not appreciate this book nor any that challenges 150 years of victor-generated revisionism of American history. There is a reason "perpetual union" was struck from the language carried over from the Articles of Confederation to the Constitution. But who cares - the victor is ALWAYS right, correct?...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Everything they won't teach you about the Civil War

    An eye opening work that goes beyond the Civil War and makes you think. Well foot noted for the more scholarly, but an easy read. If you are open minded enough to look at the issues presented in this book you will be amazed at the immediacy of many of them till this very day. Highly recommend this to anyone who only received the standard public school version of the Civil War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    THIS BOOK HONORS OUR CONFEDERATE SOLDIERS

    This book of truth about our Confederate Soldiers is worth it's weight in gold. It proves that my Great, Grandfather, his brothers and others like them who did not own slaves, fought to defend their families, homes and Southern way of life and not for the purpose of owning slaves. The book shows that there would not have been a "War for Southern Independence" if the North had not invaded the South and that our Confederate symbols represent Black Southerners as well as White Southerners. Next to the Bible, this is the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    An insightful look into the Civil War.

    This book takes a truthful look at the Confederacy and why secession was necessary. This is not for those who wish to hold onto false beliefs and fallacies about the South and the Civil War. What is taught in many schools about the Cilvil War just proves that the winner of a war is the one who writes its history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    The Truth....

    Solid history from a rare viewpoint, the truth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2