Customer Reviews for

The Spider (Elemental Assassin Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    This book is soooo good

    It is a flash back of Gin when she is starting out. You see so much of how this got started and you meet everyone in the early stages. It was wonderful. You also get to see another side of Gin. Don't skip this one. You will love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Another great book on the Spider by Jennifer Estep

    This series is awesome! The characters are interesting, vivid, and there's a good mix of action, humor, emotion, etc. It's a story you can follow without feeling like there's any gratuitous scenes thrown in to keep you "hooked." You're hooked because the charactors are easy to love and the story line is exciting and keeps you interested all the way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Spider is the 10th book in the Elemental Assassins series by

    The Spider is the 10th book in the Elemental Assassins series by Jennifer Estep.  I have been a huge fan of this series since the first book and was thrilled to get the book through Netgalley. Ms Estep has kept me on the edge of my seat through out the series and though many series would be slowing down at this point, that is not the case here. 

    I will be honest and say that when I saw that this book wasn't really going to be furthering the plot line along, I wasn't expecting much.  Of course I thought, 'Yeah! Another Gin book!' But who seriously wants to read a retrospect at book 10? I figured it to be a filler book, something to give us some background and hold us over until the next installment.  Hoo Boy was I wrong.

    This book started out slow, but eventually built into a massive moment of "OMG! I can't believe she did it." My respect for Ms. Estep as an author and storyteller continues to grow. The 10th book is a milestone, and the way that the story is presented, showcasing the the intricacies of the intertwining plots and foreshadowing that went all the way back to book one, blew my mind. 

    If you haven't had a chance to check out this series, this is NOT the book to start at.  Go start with Spider's Bite, book one, and read the entire series.  You won't be sorry you did. I gave this a solid 5 stars on Goodreads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Great book

    Jennifer Estep is a wonderful writter. I can't wait until her next book. I don' t have it on nook yet, but I have it in paperback. Excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Another Thriller from Jennifer Estep

    An origins novel gives us more insight into the training and motivations that created the Spider, assassin extraordinaire and much enjoyed main character in Ms. Estep's Elemental Assassin series. Prepare to be hooked in to the early days of Gin Blanco's career and life as told by our heroine. Definitely worth the money and time to read this offering from Jennifer Estep.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Fantastic

    I have read all of the Elemental Assassin Series and I love them. If you like a woman who can kick butt and stand on her own, then these books are for you. If you want to read some more good books, check out all of the other books by Jennifer Estep. There great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    FINALLY! The story that we have all been waiting for, Gin¿s! I

    FINALLY! The story that we have all been waiting for, Gin’s! I have been wondering how and why Gin became the way she was. Now the reader sees the young, naïve Gin during her training with the Fletcher Lane, aka The Tin Man. Another great part about this installment is the reader gets to enjoy having Fletcher there all the time instead of the brief flashbacks that normally is interjected into each book.

    The Spider takes place 10 years before Spider’s Bite and is Gin’s first solo mission. I don’t want to give any spoilers but Gin learns the hard way that mixing business with pleasure will only lead to complications. Fletcher lets her learn on her own even though it might mean she will end up hurt or worse, dead. An interesting aspect in this book is how Gin comes across several secondary characters, including a few characters that become more prominent as the series goes on, not knowing that their paths will cross again.

    I really want to go back and re-read this series now that I am armed with all this information. It helped me understand a lot of frustrating traits about Gin. This is a must read for all Elemental Assassin fans and for those that are new to this series, this would be the perfect starting point.

    (Book provided by publisher for an honest review)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book. I don't know how Jennifer Estep does it, but she

    Excellent book. I don't know how Jennifer Estep does it, but she makes an assassin completely relatable to the common person/reader. I think it is because Gin is not goodie goodie, nor is she all evil -- she's just a woman with a talent for killing who only wants to do what is right.

    At first I didn't know if I wanted to read this book as it is a prequel, but let me assure those who usually don't like a prequel that you should give this book a chance.

    Often prequels show the character as a whiny or ditzy unformed character because it's before they have "come into their own". Ms Estep does not follow that failed formulae. Gin Blanco (aka the Spider) is relating the story of who essentially she is as a person in this book. She's not weak and she's not stupid -- overconfident and impatient, yes. In this story you can see how she learned to be so patient and what it cost her before she learned her lessons. You can also see why she had so many hard layers protecting her heart. Another important aspect to the overall Elemental Assassin series is seeing Gin as a touchstone for all of the people who are slowly introduced throughout the series in the various stories.

    This book as well as the previous one really demonstrate Gin realizing her dream of a family and all of the things that go along with being a family. Gin's relationship with her foster brother, Finn, is explored a little bit more in this book taking what was shown in Web of Deceit and expanding it. One thing I have liked about the series is Gin is kicka$$ but through the help of friends and family, she prevails. In this book, she prevails on her own because it is what she needs to grow as a character and as a person. It leads to the confident, uncocky heroine we have grown to love in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Minecraft

    Who here knows about Skyarmy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gin Blanco is ten years older now but as she looks back at one o

    Gin Blanco is ten years older now but as she looks back at one of the defining moments in her life, we get to relive the haroing experience right along with her.




    The Spider is a flash from the past, giving us insight into the now 30 something Gin Blanco AKA the spider. We see the younger Gin, and now understand more thoroughly why she's made some of her life decisions. While meeting or re-meeting characters from her past that come to play pivotal or can play pivotal roles in her future.




    Jennifer Estep once again takes us into the world of an assassin and has us routing for Gin till the end. I'm not a big flash back fan but have to admit The Spider is a nail biting, action packed adventure that will keep you clinging to the pages. As a prequel, it also can stand alone and carries the exciting story on its own. This is a must read for Elemental Assassin fans and wetting your appetite for what might come next in this marvelous series.




    I received this ARC copy of The Spider from Pocket Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication December 24, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Awesome Series

    Really amazing storyline. Loved this whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1