BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Spirit of Steamboat: A Walt Longmire Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm not sure why this oneisn't getting better reviews. Yes its s

I'm not sure why this oneisn't getting better reviews. Yes its short but mthats why there is product details. Fits right in with the rest of the Longmires. 5 stars all the way!!

posted by Duells on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This 'booklet' is NOT 160 pages, but 146. And if it were a full

This 'booklet' is NOT 160 pages, but 146. And if it were a full size formate it wold be only 70 page - maybe. Last one in this series I'll be buying.

posted by joleneb3 on October 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    If you love mysteries that are intriguing but you also find yourself laughing out loud...Spirit of Steamboat is a MUST!!!!

    My family has been enthralled with Craig Johnson since the beginning of his writing career & many books & yrs later he still doesn't disappoint! I bought this novel for my parents ( dad mainly) for their 66th wedding anniversary. Craig was initially worried the book wouldn't be out by Oct. 24th but they were able to deliver & my parents couldn't have been more surprised & thrilled. My 87yr old Dad read it in a day ...asan added bonus...my Dad used to fly B 26 & 29's & loved Craig's attention to detail of the planes,etc. Not to mention the colorful characters that he continues to make lovable and alive. He always takes my breath away with a sublime character being the killer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I'm not sure why this oneisn't getting better reviews. Yes its s

    I'm not sure why this oneisn't getting better reviews. Yes its short but mthats why there is product details. Fits right in with the rest of the Longmires. 5 stars all the way!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    This 'booklet' is NOT 160 pages, but 146. And if it were a full

    This 'booklet' is NOT 160 pages, but 146. And if it were a full size formate it wold be only 70 page - maybe.

    Last one in this series I'll be buying.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    What I expected but in a smaller size.

    I have been buying the Longmire series as I could. These were always the A&E series tie in paperbacks and the first 9 were all uniform in size and appearance. Until #10, Spirit of Steamboat. This one is smaller by about a quarter to a half an inch in height and width. Bummer! So much for my piecemeal, matched Longmire Mystery series set.

    Four stars for content as, as usual, Longmire and his associates are too good to be true but tied into an interesting story and 2 stars for goofing up the matched series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    This novella, told as a 25-year-old memory, is not a mystery but

    This novella, told as a 25-year-old memory, is not a mystery but a how-are-they-getting-out-of-this adventure with young-er Lucian Connelly and Walt Longmire. It was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Spirit of Steamboat - A wonderful story

    This was a terrific story from beginning to end. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    An excellent Christmas tale about a WWII aircraft that is rarely written about.

    I enjoyed this tight tale about a vintage aircraft that served in World War II and is usually discussed only with respect to the Doolittle Raid of that fame. In fact, the aircraft served in many theaters of the War with distinction. I had an uncle that served in North Africa and southern Europe as a bombardier and was shot down over Austria late in the War.
    He never discussed his involvement to the best of my memory or his wounds, but he did love flying all of his life.
    The story appears to be well researched and the improvising seems authentic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    A nice little holiday read.

    But way too expensive in original hardcover. Look for a used copy or wait for a market paperback version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    This story begins on a Christmas Eve with Sheriff Walt Longmire

    This story begins on a Christmas Eve with Sheriff Walt Longmire starting to read his annual reading of A CHRISTMAS CAROL. Scattered amongst the story to follow, are pieces of this Dickens's story that have become meaningful to Walt. 




    A terrible snow storm has resulted in a car crash that kills everyone but one small girl.  Her only chance of survival is getting to better medical facilities in Denver's Hospital. Roads are closed and flying is all but forbidden.  Her only chance is the courageous, or perhaps stupid team led by the crotchety former Sheriff Lucian Connelly.  One legged, and living in an assisted living center, Lucian agrees to help Walt try to save this small girl's life.    




    Their mode of transportation becomes the old relic antique B-25 named "Steamboat" after the bucking horse on the Wyoming license plates. Many people try to dissuade them taking this flight into the treacherous storm, but the comatose child and her tiny Japanese grandmother.  This story is the thrilling adventure as the plane rattles and sputters to Denver under the expert flying of ex-Marine pilot,  Lucian. 




    As always, Craig Johnson knows how to write an exciting and often humorous story.  The connections between the horse, "Steamboa", this airplane, and the injured young girl is fascinating.  We also learn more about Sheriff Longmire when he first became Sheriff.  Excellent story of bravery and courage for all the right reasons!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Fascinating! A new twist on Longmire

    I'm addicted to the Longmire series, and this was an excellent example of why. It's not typical, but I think those who love the snowy "frontier" areas this guy frequents will really love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Great story

    Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    A short Story posing as a novel

    Enjoyed this latest episode on the Sherrif Longmire series, however feel like I was conned. This is a short story that was posing as a full length book and was disappointed
    by the short length.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Ok read

    If you like the TV series you might like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Wonderful story!

    One of his best. I've already passed it on to three people and they all loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended for Longmire fans

    The only trouble with this book is it's not long enough. Former sheriff and Walt's mentor, Lucian, takes a prominent position in this story containing the usual mixture of drama and comedy found in a Walt Longmire story. I will say I shed a few tears as well. Like I said, the only complaint is it wasn't nearly long enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Walt's World Continues To Fascinate

    Short, yes.. compelling, yes. Sometimes predictable but thoroughly enjoyable. I felt like a voyeur on the flight. Another page-turner by Craig Johnson and a real education on the quirks and abilities of the old VB-25.. 'Steamboat' is Fascinating stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Love it

    All of his books are my favorites.....love the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Holiday Novella

    If you’re looking for a short story to get you ready for the coming holiday season, then author Craig Johnson’s latest release, SPIRIT OF STEAMBOAT, is just the ticket. This holiday novella will have you laughing, crying and holding your breath as Sheriff Walt Longmire recalls his first Christmas Eve as sheriff. The walk down memory lane begins when a mysterious young woman arrives at Longmire’s office on Christmas Eve. She appears to know him, but he can’t remember her and she isn’t telling. She asks about his predecessor, Lucian Connally, while avoiding his questions. Carrying a garment bag, she says she has something to give Connally and asks for Longmire’s assistance to see him. Longmire takes her to the Durant Home for Assisted Living where Connally, already enjoying the holiday spirit, claims he doesn’t know her either. With the whisper of ‘Steamboat’ the young woman sets in motion memories from Christmas Eve 1988 when three people were killed in a terrible crash and a young girl hung on for dear life all during a record-breaking blizzard. It was Longmire’s first year as sheriff, the roads were closed due to the blizzard and the helicopter couldn’t get the child to Denver, her only hope of surviving. It came down to Longmire, a couple of friends, and a whiskey-soaked Connolly who had flown the only thing that could get the child to Denver - a decommissioned plane from his World War II days as a pilot. Their hair-rising ride to Denver is a heart-pounding adventure. It will hold you spellbound as the troubled plane makes its way through the blizzard with the crew trying to hold it together. Johnson once again brings the story to life with his vivid details and dialogue. His rich narrative will have you shivering from the cold of the blizzard and smiling from the determination of the group hell bent on getting the girl to the hospital. SPIRIT OF STEAMBOAT is a standalone read that will become a holiday favorite to enjoy again and again. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    More LONGMIRE!

    Really, a great story woven with hints of A Christmas Carol, Doolittle's Raiders, and the resident gang of Absaroka County (sp). A quick read, as a novella, but every page is filled with characters
    that we know and a basic good plot. I read the first 80 pages of the 129 total in an hour. Good fun. Looking forward to rereading during the first snowfall here in NYC.

    Sparky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    ¿Dude, this is my second free Craig Johnson book.¿ ¿What the fr

    “Dude, this is my second free Craig Johnson book.”

    “What the frick, man?”

    “I know, right. I must be one Lucky Bastard.”

    “Now you’re referencing a review of one author within the review of another author. Just how big of a pimp, are you?”

    “I have a fedora, white bowling shoes with black tips, a cane with a gold handle, a purple vest, and a neon green trench coat.”

    “Are you showing up at the Playboy mansion later with an armful of strippers?”

    “No way, my wife would bury my body in the backyard next to the scorpions and the lizards with the turquoise tails. And she might even toss a black widow spider into the plastic bag along with me to keep me company.”

    “That’s the thing. I thought your wife was going with you--”

    “She’s not big on pimped out parties caked with artificial breasts, string bikinis, and copious amounts of alcohol.”

    “You lost me at string bikinis. What were we talking about again?”

    “Get your head out of the gutter. This is a Christmas novel for crying out loud.”

    “It’s not actually a novel. It’s a novella.”

    “Oh, are you some kind of expert now?”

    “I live inside your head. I must have some vague notion of what’s going on in the publishing industry, otherwise you and I should have parted ways more than 10 years ago.” Brief pause. “But back to the task at hand…what did you actually think of SPIRIT OF STEAMBOAT?”

    “It was entertaining…”

    “There’s a but coming on, isn’t there? And we’re not talking about the ones at the Playboy mansion.”

    “I saw the road signs, and followed the detour, but it didn’t take me to the Promised Land. Wyoming has become a bit of a second home for me, with the lush scenery and painted landscapes, but I spent most of this tale in an airplane that has seen better days. And while I appreciated the additional details about Lucian, he’s one crusty old curmudgeon, even in his younger days.” I tilt my head and stare at ceiling tiles. “And I guess I didn’t realize how much I missed a good Walt Longmire mystery.”

    “You sure weren’t missing those mysteries too much when you downed all those erotica novels.”

    My back stiffens. “True, but Craig Johnson and mysteries go together about as well as PB&J. While Julie Luehrman more than held her own in this tale, what I really wanted was some Vic Moretti with a mouth that matches her cup size and the sage advice of Henry Standing Bear.”

    “Aside from the breast reference, you really are a sentimental bastard.”

    “Yeah, I guess I am.”

    I received this book for free through NetGalley.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2