Customer Reviews for

The Spymasters (Men at War Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Story

Am a long time fan of Griffin. This book continues the mastery of the profession. While the storyline is essentially a continuation from prior series books, this book does a good stand-alone of the Spymasters story. A good read.

posted by pgfrench on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have been a regular reader of WEB Griffin's works over the yea

I have been a regular reader of WEB Griffin's works over the years and have read all his series multiple times. The Men at War series has been a very good read most of the time. This book was not one of his best. It moved along very slowly and did not deal with the m...
I have been a regular reader of WEB Griffin's works over the years and have read all his series multiple times. The Men at War series has been a very good read most of the time. This book was not one of his best. It moved along very slowly and did not deal with the multiple scenarios found in previous books in this series. When completed I was left with the feeling it was written more to set up coming releases than to be a good stand alone story. While I was a bit disappointed I hope the future releases will match other previous works.

posted by 330523 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Very Good Story

    Am a long time fan of Griffin. This book continues the mastery of the profession. While the storyline is essentially a continuation from prior series books, this book does a good stand-alone of the Spymasters story. A good read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I have been a regular reader of WEB Griffin's works over the yea

    I have been a regular reader of WEB Griffin's works over the years and have read all his series multiple times. The Men at War series has been a very good read most of the time. This book was not one of his best. It moved along very slowly and did not deal with the multiple scenarios found in previous books in this series. When completed I was left with the feeling it was written more to set up coming releases than to be a good stand alone story. While I was a bit disappointed I hope the future releases will match other previous works.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Nelson DeMille

    I am done reading the series written by Griffin and"son". I thought it was just my perception of these co-authored books, but after reading other reviews I think I'm right. I used to love his books and looked forward to them. Since the writing partnership started the quality of the books has sunk quickly. I wasn't going to read THE SPYMASTERS after the previous book, but I tried it. I got it from the library because I was didn't want to risk a bad purchase. I am glad I didn't buy it. Same formula of retelling old information from previous books, unneeded filler information, and thin plots that don't stack up to previous books written just by Griffin. I am sorry that the franchise is being turned over to the son. I don't think that the son will be asked to join as many legions or orders as his father if it is based on writing ability. I can hope that there is a grandchild out there with the ability to write well enough so that this franchise doesn't go under. Until then, I'm done with the DeMille series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I really didn't care for this book from WEB Griffin in that there was a lot of background going on a little of what was happening. I prefer his books where the characters are immersed in espionage or battling the enemy. I have read all of his series, and I just didn't think this one was up to snuff with the rest of his books. However, as much as I was disappointed in this particular book, I will still read his next book, regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Jt

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Ken

    Two. Il be there soon

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Cannidy strikes again

    As per usual for W.E.B. and son, a very good book with lots of obvious research. The only problem, for me anyway, is the complete in depth details. I end up getting lost in the details. Good continuing story of the OSS and other under cover agencies during WWII. Getting on in age but I hope the stories continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Another good one.

    Another very good book from Griffin, what you would expect from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    It's over! The fire is out!

    Like several successful authors, W.E.B. Griffin has fallen prey to the thought that it's OK to be paid by the pound. This is a shallow finish for the series that started with the "Brotherhood of War". It's clear that Griffin has run out of gas. I won't buy anymore books that are authored by xxxxxx x. xxxxxx and zzzzzzzz z. zzzzzz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    If you like Griffin you will love this.

    Another great book by Griffin. Leaves you wanting the next one right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Cannot recommend

    I have read every book that W. E. B. Griffin (aka William Butterworth) has written, including the very early Philadelphia police books. Griffin/Butterworth was an exceptional wordsmith. His dialogue between characterx was unmatatched. Unfortunately, his son does not have these same attributes and it has shown in each novel he has had his hand in since their collaboration began. It's a shame that the old man is turning more and more of the writing over to the son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Lousy

    Have read most of his books with pleasure, this one is obsolutely a disaster. Maybe fifty new characters in fifty pages, and no discernable storyline ..it,s a mess...it gets ,minus three stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    HISTORY AND INTRIGUE WITH A GOOD TOUCH OF REALISM

    I REALLY ENJOY GRIFFIN'S BOOKS. THIS ONE IS SET PRE-INVASION OF ITSLY AND IS STRICTLY AN OSS CAPER.ITS A BOOK WORTH YOUR TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Great read.

    Up to Griffins usual high standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Another Griffin Great

    Always enjoy W.E.B Griffin books. Read one, cant wait until another is available.


    AR1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Not happy at all with the direction WEB Griffin books are going

    This is just another example of how bad Griffin books have becomming. Whoever he is using to ghost wright them needs to read some of the books that he wrote.
    Just like the last 5 books released, this one has 1 page of action surrounded by 4 pages on both side of rambling background.
    It's truely a shame as he was one of the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Disappointing

    I have read and re-read WEB G for over 20 years, and this is a disappointment. Seems as Butterworth IV becomes more involved in the enterprise the work product is diluted by either plagerism from earlier volumnes or just poor plot development. Even the editorial work has declined as there are instances when characters are mixed in a paragraph or the story line is choppy and irregular. Not sure when/if I will give The Man and his offspring another try. I guess all good things must truely come to an end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    One More Time

    OK I'll try one more and hope WEB is still alive & Jr. Has gained some talent. If not I'm done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3