Customer Reviews for

The Spymistress: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Spymistress by  Jennifer Chiaverini First:  I especially a

 The Spymistress
by 
Jennifer Chiaverini

First: 
I especially appreciated Jennifer Chiaverini's writing style, a style that fits the period in history when her characters lived. When you read old letters and journals and books from former times, you find a certain arti...
 The Spymistress
by 
Jennifer Chiaverini

First: 
I especially appreciated Jennifer Chiaverini's writing style, a style that fits the period in history when her characters lived. When you read old letters and journals and books from former times, you find a certain articulate reservation to their thoughts and speech, which is preserved here in the prose of this novel. When I find a historical fiction author whose writing fits the time she's writing about, I cheer.
It shows that they have immersed themselves in research, so that you can immerse yourself in story.

Reading The Spymistress lets you feel like you're living right in the turmoil of Richmond with Lizzie and her family. 
And what a family it is! There are enough different characters, each seeing the world through their own eyes, that the reader is allowed to experience the war through
 multiple nuanced perspectives. 

A few of those perspectives include: 
Mary Jane, the young woman whose incredible intelligence and near-photographic memory is ignored because her skin is a beautiful coffee color. 
Mary Jane is like a younger sister to Lizzie.

John, Lizzie's brother. 
Union loyal but wed to Mary, who supports the Confederacy. 
The tension is palpable as John tries to aid the sister he loves and at the same time live out his vows to the woman who stands for everything they're striving against. 

And Lizzie herself. 
Our protagonist is a woman who all girls should be introduced to. Lizzie fears...but she pushes herself on through the fear, living the true definition of courage. She knows that she does not act in her own strength, but in God's through Christ. She is a person like the rest of us, who finds pockets of love and happiness even in the middle of great struggle. She mourns the love she lost years before that left her a spinster, but her heart is open and giving, and her family means the world to her. She is indeed a heroine who we can admire and learn from. 

This is a novel of suspense, of espionage, of war. 
This is first of all a novel of humanity. 
Human love and loyalty, human choices and human emotion shine from these pages. 
Whoever professed that history is boring needs to meet Jennifer Chiaverini and The Spymistress. 
Now to read Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker! 

posted by Theophilusfamily on October 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Moments of Interest, But Slow.

Moments of Interest, But Slow. I really wanted to like this more than I did; the subject matter--Lizzie Van Lew's ingenious methods of spying for the Union during the Civil War--is fasci...
Moments of Interest, But Slow. I really wanted to like this more than I did; the subject matter--Lizzie Van Lew's ingenious methods of spying for the Union during the Civil War--is fascinating. Her family issues are also engaging; however, this drags in many places. I often felt the plot bogged down with unnecessarily at times with extra details we did not need, background info on characters who, ultimately, did not play a big enough role to warrant all the "stuff." Be advised there are MANY characters to keep track of: Lizzie's spy ring grows larger as the novel progresses, along with the many Confederate military, politicians, etc she also deals with. Finally, I could not help feeling the depictions of the two sides were terribly generalized and simplistic--Rebels are almost uniformly brutal and unreasonable, while all Union soldiers and/or sympathizers appear almost saintly. While perhaps this was the author's way of showing us Lizzie's view, it did not work for me. Everyone knows that in the Civil War--in any war--atrocities are tragically committed on both sides; there are many 'shades of gray' to both sides. Those shades were just lost for me here. I may come from a long line of Yankees, but in depth Civil War history shows the complex, often cruel and brutal truth of what happened on both sides. I felt this was just a bit too glossed over.

posted by irishclaireKG on October 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2013

     The Spymistress by  Jennifer Chiaverini First:  I especially a

     The Spymistress
    by 
    Jennifer Chiaverini

    First: 
    I especially appreciated Jennifer Chiaverini's writing style, a style that fits the period in history when her characters lived. When you read old letters and journals and books from former times, you find a certain articulate reservation to their thoughts and speech, which is preserved here in the prose of this novel. When I find a historical fiction author whose writing fits the time she's writing about, I cheer.
    It shows that they have immersed themselves in research, so that you can immerse yourself in story.

    Reading The Spymistress lets you feel like you're living right in the turmoil of Richmond with Lizzie and her family. 
    And what a family it is! There are enough different characters, each seeing the world through their own eyes, that the reader is allowed to experience the war through
     multiple nuanced perspectives. 

    A few of those perspectives include: 
    Mary Jane, the young woman whose incredible intelligence and near-photographic memory is ignored because her skin is a beautiful coffee color. 
    Mary Jane is like a younger sister to Lizzie.

    John, Lizzie's brother. 
    Union loyal but wed to Mary, who supports the Confederacy. 
    The tension is palpable as John tries to aid the sister he loves and at the same time live out his vows to the woman who stands for everything they're striving against. 

    And Lizzie herself. 
    Our protagonist is a woman who all girls should be introduced to. Lizzie fears...but she pushes herself on through the fear, living the true definition of courage. She knows that she does not act in her own strength, but in God's through Christ. She is a person like the rest of us, who finds pockets of love and happiness even in the middle of great struggle. She mourns the love she lost years before that left her a spinster, but her heart is open and giving, and her family means the world to her. She is indeed a heroine who we can admire and learn from. 

    This is a novel of suspense, of espionage, of war. 
    This is first of all a novel of humanity. 
    Human love and loyalty, human choices and human emotion shine from these pages. 
    Whoever professed that history is boring needs to meet Jennifer Chiaverini and The Spymistress. 
    Now to read Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker! 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    Excellent!

    I enjoyed this book, along with the others written by Jennifer Chiaverini, that highlighted the contributions of women during the Civil War. By far, this novel highlighted the conviction and derring-do of a woman to act for the Union, while living in Richmond, Virginia. I think this would be a wonderful book to be read by young women while taking a Civil War history/American history class. Too many times, the narrative is about the war, battles, men, and the politics of the period, without regard for the women who lived through the same events and without the same rights and privileges the men enjoyed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Absolutely Loved It!

    Ms Chiaverini continues to amaze me with her research and story spun around history. The Spymistress follows suit and is a wonderful read. Look forward to the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great book - definitely recommended

    Have always enjoyed Jennifer Chiaverini's books. Delighted to find she is writing historical novels about women whose names aren't as familiar to us but who have played a definite part in our history. This book is well written. I definitely recommend it especially to those who enjoy history. Looking forward to her next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks! So if you have read my review

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!

    So if you have read my reviews before, you will know I am a bit of history lover.  I am fascinated by the Civil War between the North and the South of America and this book just so happens to be the focal point of a non fictional character that braved the odds, fought for what she believed in and put her life on the line to make whatever difference she could in this war.

    The Spymistress by Jennifer Chiaverini is a page turning, compelling historical fiction based on the efforts of real life Elizabeth Van Lew.  I enjoyed this read so much, that I actually researched more about this incredible woman. I was pleasantly surprised to find Jennifer write this piece of fiction around facts and true life historical events and kept Elizabeth as precise as she could.  I have much respect for an author who can make a piece of real history come to life and make it completely believable!  WELL DONE JENNIFER CHIAVERINI!

    Ok, let's get on with the review!

    This book opens just as Richmond, Virginia has voted on seceding with the South in 1861.  Elizabeth's family is aristocratic and slave owners but her mother and her have come to believe that is no longer the future.  Legally blocked by her father's will, the Van Lew family are not allowed to free their slaves, but they sure make life bearable by granting them papers to live as free as they can (the slaves have to check in for legal purposes).  Absolutely disgusted with the state of Virginia and the people who have flipped in agreement with secession (they realize that nothing but bloodshed and angst will come if war is declared ... and they were right), they decide to do what little they can to fight against their own confederate army.

    Throughout this novel, Elizabeth (Lizzie) and her band of ladies (my personal nickname for them ..lol) Mary Jane Bowser (her coloured friend who gives up her freedom to serve as a servant and spy in Confederate leader Davis's home), Eliza Van Lew (Lizzie's beautiful hearted mother) and Eliza Carrington (a family friend who is as brave as Lizzie) work together as Union sympathizer's.  Realizing they are being watched and potentially cast as traitor's, these woman take it upon themselves to outwardly show support for the Confederacy while internally they are spying for and supporting the union.  They visit underground and aid Northerner's in escaping, visit prisons and use the guise of being humanitarian to receive and pass on messages that aid the Northerner's to success and go as far as hiding people in their own home.  All of this is done right under the nose of the confederate army and at any time they can be caught and killed for espionage and treason.

    Of course there are many other supporting characters and major events on both sides, men and women, North and South, that contribute to all the emotions you will experience while reading this book.  So many in fact that I could easily write a four page review.  LOL!  I will not spoil anything, especially if you are not familiar with this part of history.  Know however, that Jennifer Chiaverini writes all her characters with so many complex layers that they become clearly believable.  Not many characters are written black and white, but very much shades of grey.  You read many internal struggles and I can only imagine how hard it had to be to pick a side you believe in when outside influence greatly affects your way quality of life or even if you will live that life.

    An absolutely fantastic book by a wonderful author.  I am anticipating reading more of her books that follow this genre.  If you are a history buff and/or this era is interesting to you, please have a read of The Spymistress.  It most certainly has it all, from mystery, suspense, page turning anticipation, heart, and character.

    HAPPY READING! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1