BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Star Trek Encyclopedia

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Finaly, an ebook version!

    I may have a hard-copy, but it's way to big to fit in my rack on a ship when I'm deployed. Not a bad price, but it would be nice to have a newer update to include up to the newest Star Trek movie. Five stars, however, for its insightful info into the hystory of my favorite series of shows and movies.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    To Q

    Hi im spock

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MUST HAVE FOR ANY STAR TREK FAN

    While there are many compilations for each series - and I for one believe they are essential for "behind the scenes" information and invaluable to understanding the particular series written about - THIS is THE definitive tie-it-all-together book for the TV SHOWS & MOVIES.

    BE CAREFUL to make sure to get the most recent edition, as there are at least THREE versions of this book that I know of, as new series came on the air and were added to the book. Talk about dedication - the OKUDOS far outdid themselves! OH, btw, this is also available on DVD-ROM, tho I personally love real-paper books!

    This is wondeful as a cross reference to each show, each character, the plots, ships, planets - absolutely INCREDIBLE detail is includes on just about anything you might want to know about the shows (I mention "the shows" again, as there is NOT one of these for THE BOOKS of ST - sadly, but would be almost impossible to do, as so many are written each year).

    If you are a die-hard Star Trek fan, this is something that needs to be on your self! I've had many occassions in various discussions on ST where this came in handy - run to bookcase, grab it, look up info, and continue with online chat or discussion.

    Instant Expert - and fast gratification when looking for that certain piece of information about what planet had the Horta, who WAS the "salt monster," or when did J.T.KIRK graduate from SF Academy! :0)

    ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    The best Trek information book there is!

    This book covers just about anything! You can find anything in this book and I would highly recomend it to any trekkie (trekker)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Revised and Expanded - And Much Better

    The new edition of The Star Trek Encyclopedia is excellent. Newer, larger entries, more pictures, and now the Encyclopedia is in full color. A very helpful reference book for anyone who watches any of the Star Trek series and wants to know more about what they see. I use it all the time, and love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    A true source for Trekkers!

    I found this book to be VERY helpful. You can look up any character or anything from all four of the past shows and find some sort of information on it. I also write Star Trek stories and I found this book to be a very helpful reference guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    Star Trek Encyclopedia: The future textbook for Trek 101

    I find this book to be a very informative resource for star trek enthusiasts, starfleet officers, and sci fi buffs of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    The Best For All Star Trek Fans

    This book covers it all. From the TV shows to the movies it covers it all. I like this book a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1