Customer Reviews for

The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good!

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Want to feel great? Eat some "Starch."

Want to lose a few pounds in a couple weeks?
Read a diet book, ANY diet book.
Want to become healthy, lose weight and feel great for life?
Read The Starch Solution.

When a friend or patient asks "where do I begin" This book will be at the top of my recommended rea...
Want to lose a few pounds in a couple weeks?
Read a diet book, ANY diet book.
Want to become healthy, lose weight and feel great for life?
Read The Starch Solution.

When a friend or patient asks "where do I begin" This book will be at the top of my recommended reading list. I will tell them to begin their journey with The Starch Solution.

On a chance mountain bike ride, I met a physician that said he could only cure one condition, bacterial infections. The diseases that are so common to our world are only managed. However, he shared, that through nutritional counseling, he is beginning to help people heal themselves.

Rather than preach throughout our ride, he said, "Watch Forks over Knives and read The China Study."

I began there. Then I discovered Dr. McDougall and his wife, Mary. Soon the value of the words I was digesting became crystal clear. My mother was diagnosed with uterine cancer and patients, friends and family began sharing recent medical afflictions. In the four months that I have been on my journey, I have seen one friend die of bladder cancer, another has grade 4 pancreatic cancer.

I am committed to a Starch Solution lifestyle.My cholesterol has dropped 60 points, BMI is 24 and I feel great. The hills I climb on my bike seem shorter. This month I turn 55 and I am loving life.

I believe The Starch Solution is the book Dr. McDougall has always wanted to write. He pulls no punches, is direct, and presents a plain and simple argument for making changes that will promote health. He challenges you but includes enough footnotes and quoted research to satisfy the skeptics providing ammunition for those scientifically inclined. The personal tales of the "Stars" will make it real for those that want to let their heart guide them to an answer.

Rather than skirting the issue by saying we should eat a "plant strong," or "whole foods" diet that has a "Spectrum" of choices, this book is clear when it states:

"The diet that best prevents disease, best supports the body's innate healing mechanisms, and best promotes sustained weight loss is a low-fat diet based on starches, with added vegetables and fruits, and with no animal products or free oils.

A giant step toward health and spontaneous healing is yours for the taking."

Thank you Dr. John and Mary.

posted by MtnMikeCA on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

This book is basically vegan propaganda. The only "science

This book is basically vegan propaganda. The only "science" it contains is based around drawing strange conclusions from epidemiology.

posted by BluntInstrument on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Want to feel great? Eat some "Starch."

    Want to lose a few pounds in a couple weeks?
    Read a diet book, ANY diet book.
    Want to become healthy, lose weight and feel great for life?
    Read The Starch Solution.

    When a friend or patient asks "where do I begin" This book will be at the top of my recommended reading list. I will tell them to begin their journey with The Starch Solution.

    On a chance mountain bike ride, I met a physician that said he could only cure one condition, bacterial infections. The diseases that are so common to our world are only managed. However, he shared, that through nutritional counseling, he is beginning to help people heal themselves.

    Rather than preach throughout our ride, he said, "Watch Forks over Knives and read The China Study."

    I began there. Then I discovered Dr. McDougall and his wife, Mary. Soon the value of the words I was digesting became crystal clear. My mother was diagnosed with uterine cancer and patients, friends and family began sharing recent medical afflictions. In the four months that I have been on my journey, I have seen one friend die of bladder cancer, another has grade 4 pancreatic cancer.

    I am committed to a Starch Solution lifestyle.My cholesterol has dropped 60 points, BMI is 24 and I feel great. The hills I climb on my bike seem shorter. This month I turn 55 and I am loving life.

    I believe The Starch Solution is the book Dr. McDougall has always wanted to write. He pulls no punches, is direct, and presents a plain and simple argument for making changes that will promote health. He challenges you but includes enough footnotes and quoted research to satisfy the skeptics providing ammunition for those scientifically inclined. The personal tales of the "Stars" will make it real for those that want to let their heart guide them to an answer.

    Rather than skirting the issue by saying we should eat a "plant strong," or "whole foods" diet that has a "Spectrum" of choices, this book is clear when it states:

    "The diet that best prevents disease, best supports the body's innate healing mechanisms, and best promotes sustained weight loss is a low-fat diet based on starches, with added vegetables and fruits, and with no animal products or free oils.

    A giant step toward health and spontaneous healing is yours for the taking."

    Thank you Dr. John and Mary.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Dr McDougall has done it again!

    Great book - well written, well-researched, and well-documented with the research articles he refers to. Do not think he is referring to processed carbs. By the term "Starch" Dr McDougall refers to fiber-rich, whole, unprocessed (or very minimally processed) potatoes, sweet potatoes, whole grains (such as, brown rice, barley, whole wheat, oats, corn), and beans and lentils. This is NOT a diet based on whole wheat bread, cold cereals (even "whole grain" ones), white rice, pasta, etc., as those foods are processed. I eat a LOT of food and I am never hungry. I fill my plate with 1/2 whole starches and 1/2 raw or cooked green and yellow veggies (particularly greens like kale, spinach, swiss chard). I include one or two fruits with each meal. I eat half my veggies raw and half my veggies cooked. I've been to Dr. mcDougall's 5-day program; I follow his advice and it is working. I am losing weight (down 45 lbs so far), reversing my diabetes, and my arthritis pain is nearly all gone. My seasonal allergies are gone! This spring, while others around me are congested and sneezing, I can finally breathe freely! No more anti-histamines! No more sinus headaches. My rosacea has nearly completely cleared up. My family physician is very happy with my progress and enthusiastically supports this way of eating. He is satisfied that I am getting substantial nutrition, as long as I take a B-12 vitamin regularly. I take no other vitamins or supplements. I also recommend Dr. Joel Fuhrman's books called "Super Immunity" and "Eat to Live." 95% similar advice, also similar excellent results.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Best medicine from a caring doctor!

    I devoured this book this week. I asked to get it for Mother's Day and I finished reading it today! Not only is this bood packed FULL of wonderful medical nutrition information and life changing advice it is a lot of FUN to read! Interesting, personable and very real for today. I enjoy the personal Star McDougallar stories about people like me. I especially like chapter 10 - The Fat Vegan because that's me! Now I know what I've been doing wrong. I also like the research info on Salt and Sugar. You'll be suprised at what the medial world know and the USDA knows because its not what they show us on TV. I have already started practicing Dr. McDougall's advice and I know I'm on the road to better health!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Awesome book! Goes right along with Forks Over Knives. Love it!

    Awesome book! Goes right along with Forks Over Knives. Love it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Unapologetic truth

    Get this book. Its the truth. Its time to embrace our herbivorous ancestory.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    The truth is simple and therefore easy to understand. Eat more p

    The truth is simple and therefore easy to understand. Eat more plants and eat less (or better yet, no) animal and processed foods for optimal health, fitness and longevity. I had already been eating plant-based for years before reading The Starch Solution but learned a lot from this book, in particular the importance of keeping starch as the centerpiece of meal planning, something I'd never really thought about before. Needless to say, any irrational fears one may have about the supposed 'fattening' effects of eating bread and pasta will be put to rest after reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Wonderful read

    Thank you for walking the walk doc! I love the recipes and how easy a read this was, although i do not agree with everything 100% I do agree about eating a low fat high carb diet for true health and longevity. I think it would be helpful to discuss gluten allergy and avoiding gmos with more tips on how to substitute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Highly recommeded! You must check it out

    Highly recommended! Eat almost everything you always wanted and love weight and stay healthy. One of the most informative books on the market about eating healthfully!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1