Customer Reviews for

The Stars

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    This book makes simple changes to the typical way the constellations are drawn to make them easily identifiable in the night sky.

    This is not a typical star chart. The author gives helpful and interesting information about the stars and constellations. The stars in the constellations are drawn in a different way that makes them easy to visualize and remember. This books allows a whole new way to look at the night sky.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    USER FRIENDLY ASTRONOMY

    I have owned this book over the last 20 years and have purchased the updated versions 3 times.....that's how much I like it! (Updates for date sensitive charts) For the individual who just wants to enjoy the night sky. Accessible... Most other astronomy books, even ones for beginners, have lots of math and computations..... Rey shows you how to find a planet, just by looking for it in the area of a constellation. His "re-drawing" of traditional constellations, make them so much easier to find. Really good for parents to share with their childen on a summer or winter night. Lay down in the back yard on the grass, or make a snow angel and use the star charts to get to know the night sky. I have a row of books on astronomy in my bookcase, and this is the only one I use. I keep a copy in my car in case I want to stop while I am driving and take in the stars and planets.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    The Stars

    A wonderful approach to recognize the constellations! I'm excited to "see" and now know the stars with new eyes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Getting Back to the Basics

    This is an essential title for the naked-eye stargazer. It connects the dots in such a way that we can see how the constellations got their names, thousands of years ago, and it makes the patterns easy to remember. Basic celestial mechanics are also explained in terms that are easy to understand. This book has contributed greatly to my love affair with the night sky.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    The Rey's opened the universe to my eyes.  Before "The Star

    The Rey's opened the universe to my eyes.  Before "The Stars,...." the night sky was a confusing mess of abstract shapes.  Oh I had been looking at the starts with awe and tried to study what was what for quite a while before.  But one summer, when I was 17, I took the book with me in the backyard (in the city no less) and truly discovered the universe.  It was the Rey's that helped me discover the planets (Saturn) and when I trained my little telescope on it for the first time and saw it's rings, I was extraordinarily happy.  Thanks to the Rey's the Universe became ordered and regular.  Now the stars, planets and constellations are like my night time friends. A VERY high recommendation for anyone that truly wants to know 'what's out there' in the night sky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    BEST STAR-LOCATION BOOK ON THE MARKET.

    I used it to teach Naval Officers in a celestial navigation class. It is graphic and easy to understand. The cover can be used to construct a very clear star chart. It is particularly great for beginners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    One of the pivotal books in my life

    There are some things in life that are truly life-altering, life changing; this book was one of those for me. It captured my imagination at a young age and kindled a love of astronomy that has been going strong for over 36 years. I now own many books on astronomy, but this one remains my favorite, and is the one I always recommend to those getting started, young or old. I know of no better way to become familiar with the night sky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Excellent introduction to the constellations.

    My parents bought this book for me, along with a four inch telescope, when it first came out to help fuel my growing love of astronomy. I can't begin to tell you how many late nights I spent using this book to watch the sky. The Stars in on my "must have" list of books for when I have children of my own. I am pleased that it's still in print and plan to pick up a new copy soon. I hope I don't wear out this copy before I can pass it on :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    Best Astronomy Book: Easy Reading and Fun

    If you want to learn about the constelations and are looking for and easy-to-read and enjoyable book about astronomy, this book is for you. It was written more than a half of a century ago by the author of the "Curious George" episodes, and has withstood the test of time... Will those other books that are slanted for technogeeks and gadget-lovers be able to claim this in 50 years? Probably not! On the other hand, Rey's book is filled with information, illustrations, and tales about the the constelations that anybody can appreciate. Rey is down to earth: no big investments or fancy gadgets are required for stargazing... just your own interest in learning and an ability to look upwards on starry nights! Why spend all that cash on an expensive telescope that will accumulate dust behind your couch? Buy this book (cheap!) and cultivate a taste for what has already been given to you free! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Wonderful!

    I don't know why this is classified as a 'children's book!' It is the best book -- period -- for learning to identify the constellations and planets. H.A. Rey uses his illustrator ability, to provide superb connect-the-dots which you will always remember. If you buy but one book on star-gazing ... let this be the one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    EASY GUIDE TO LEARNING THE CONSTELLATIONS

    One of the best books EVER for learning the Constellations. Rey, author of the 'Curious George' books, presents the constellations in easy to learn stick figure images that resemble the characters for which the constellations are named. I've taught astronomy for 20 years and this is the one I always recommend for my students. John Land - Astronomy Club of Tulsa

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    Great place to start!

    HA Rey makes learning tricky star patterns and constellations simple. This was my first book about astronomy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    The Best!

    I originally got this book when I was a kid...and I can still appreciate at now almost thirty years later. Clear, concise...one of the best stargazing books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1