Customer Reviews for

The Start Here Diet: Three Simple Steps That Helped Me Transition from Fat to Slim . . . for Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Just picked this up today. I was leafing through it at Barnes an

Just picked this up today. I was leafing through it at Barnes and Noble and I fell in love with the meal plan. I have already lost 15 pounds using another dieting solution and I really want to keep things going. 

posted by 10456056 on December 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I'm no stranger to Tosca Reno. I've been reading Clean Eating an

I'm no stranger to Tosca Reno. I've been reading Clean Eating and Oxygen magazines for three years and have read a few of Reno's earlier books. I was hoping for something motivational to start out the new year but ended up feeling underwhelmed by this book, so back it w...
I'm no stranger to Tosca Reno. I've been reading Clean Eating and Oxygen magazines for three years and have read a few of Reno's earlier books. I was hoping for something motivational to start out the new year but ended up feeling underwhelmed by this book, so back it went.

I appreciated reading a bit of her personal history but the rest of the book was just reinventing the wheel. There's a lot of basics about nutrition that might appeal to someone new to the "Eat-Clean" diet/food philosophy. The fitness portion was geared to those who don't usually hit the gym or do workout videos. Not what I was looking for but definitely useful to someone just getting into a fitness routine.

posted by 274832 on January 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Just picked this up today. I was leafing through it at Barnes an

    Just picked this up today. I was leafing through it at Barnes and Noble and I fell in love with the meal plan. I have already lost 15 pounds using another dieting solution and I really want to keep things going. 

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    I'm no stranger to Tosca Reno. I've been reading Clean Eating an

    I'm no stranger to Tosca Reno. I've been reading Clean Eating and Oxygen magazines for three years and have read a few of Reno's earlier books. I was hoping for something motivational to start out the new year but ended up feeling underwhelmed by this book, so back it went.

    I appreciated reading a bit of her personal history but the rest of the book was just reinventing the wheel. There's a lot of basics about nutrition that might appeal to someone new to the "Eat-Clean" diet/food philosophy. The fitness portion was geared to those who don't usually hit the gym or do workout videos. Not what I was looking for but definitely useful to someone just getting into a fitness routine.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5/5 Well, we're already into the second month of 2014. Did yo

    3.5/5 Well, we're already into the second month of 2014. Did you make resolutions for this year? Were they health related? And how's that going?

    Personally I don't like the word resolution - I like the word change instead. And yes, I did start making some changes. I've had Tosca Reno's newest book - The Start Here Diet - for a month now. It's taken me that long to get to the final pages. Not because I haven't enjoyed it, but because I've been reading some chapters over and over again before I move on the next section.

    Reno gives us much more than a diet plan or a list of foods to eat. Her own journey is detailed in the introduction. Reno (mom to four) lost seventy pounds after age forty and shares her knowledge in this book.

    "I hope that sharing my experience and my journey to a healthy weight will inspire you to travel the same road - the road to happiness with the way you look and feel..."

    From the first pages, she asks the reader to take a real look at why they overeat. In depth, personal and perhaps uncomfortable. But "...to be truly successful in reshaping yourself is to find the why first. " These are the chapters that I read more than once.

    And then down to concrete information.

    How about this question? What is the one food that you can't live without?" Or think you can't live without or in moderation. Chances are it is fatty, salty, starchy or sweet. Oh, yes I have one. Tosca offers us ways to change that 'go-to' food into something healthier.

    Move a little. Those New Year's resolutions are often quite extreme. Join a gym. You might have done that - but are you still going? How about working up to it slowly? I loved these suggestions. They "incorporate movement into activities you already do - just do them smarter." There are three lists - 25 everyday activities, 25 five easy movements and 25 sport like activities. The idea is to go from not moving to moving a little and so on. It was pretty easy to work these into everyday life.

    Reading labels, shopping tips and list, Reno's meal plans, recipes and suggestions on how to stay on course comprise the second half of the book. I've not read any of Reno's books before and I'm now curious about the Eat Clean Diet as well.

    For me the biggest takeaway of The Start Here Diet was the first half - taking a good hard look at yourself, your life and your eating habits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    recommend

    Love Tosca, can totally relate to her journey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    This book has changed my life! I have read it two times in the p

    This book has changed my life! I have read it two times in the past 3 weeks and have now started a "Clean Eating" pattern and have lost 7#. I feel so much better both physically & mentally. I don't count calories, points etc. It is just so simple....I would highly recommend this book, it is changing my life for the better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Lionflame

    Can i join one of you guys clans?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Featherflight

    She nosed the she cat. "It's alright. Breath." To Willowpaw, she mewed, "Get me some raspberry leaves."

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Willowpaw

    Picked up the she. She felt a warm, fuzzy feeling inside. Is this what it feels like to be a mother? She wondered as she padded to winter lakes result two

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    To below

    Of course. Come to RainClan at winter lakes res two. ~Bluesoul

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Bloodheart

    Pads in

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Res 2

    Rosekit

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    DeathScar

    He waits for BloodHeart.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1