BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Stockholm Octavo

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Totally absorbing,on so many levels!! There are books for histor

    Totally absorbing,on so many levels!! There are books for historians, for lovers of mystery, for romantics, and for those intrigued by politics - this book has it all.  This novel invites the reader to savor the subtleties of life in Stockholm of the late 18th century and to explore the nuances of court life and the magic of the Octavo. The novel unfolds, layer by layer, and is best read while in a good reading chair, for time will fly in this absorbing story.  I loved it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    I highly recommend this book without reservation. It's a real pa

    I highly recommend this book without reservation. It's a real page turner with suspense, humor, intrigue and history. I appreciate Engelmann's way with words and found myself transported to another country during a different era. Look no further, if you're searching for a unique tale cleverly constructed by a true artist!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    The journey stops at the last page, but the imagination continue

    The journey stops at the last page, but the imagination continues to massage the ideas contained in this compelling story of intrigue, magic and romance.  I stopped frequently, because I wanted to savor the concepts of the Octavo, and because I did not want the book to end.  Sadly, the novel ended, but I can play the Octavo still, I can imagine the future for the characters, and I can dream of a sequel.  I treasure this story.  Thank you Karen Engelmann, for the gift.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    I savored every page of this beautifully written, many-layered s

    I savored every page of this beautifully written, many-layered story.  Engelmann expertly weaves the various story threads and characters into
    a solid, spellbinding tale of political intrigue, romance, revolution. sinister villains and mysterious heroes - all leading up to the assassination of King Gustav III of Sweden.  I was particularly fascinated by the Octavo itself - a spread of 8 cards that help people realize their dreams.
    Loved the way the author incorporated the language of fans and how, for purposes of this book, women used them to captivate...and kill. I found myself limiting the number of pages I would read each evening....just so I could make the book last.  The Stockholm Octavo is one of thosebooks that weaves a spell around the reader as they read - it is a matter of pure magic! Fabulous job, Ms. Engelmann.  I hope we get to see more of your work - soon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    I read scientific and technical writing voraciously. And most of

    I read scientific and technical writing voraciously. And most of why I do is to understand the "what", "how" and "why" of things. If you are curious, then this book is for you.

    The Octavo character development is amazing, written so that you feel and believe you are in the room with these characters from Gustavian Stockholm. And once drawn in, the book/story provides a fascinating tale of intrigue and human relationships. What drives ambition? How do people resist and/or use temptation for advancing their agenda? Why do people behave as they do?

    I realize this is written as a piece of fine literature, and perhaps the publisher and author don't realize it, but it is also a terrific study of human character and behavior. Don't start with a textbook, dig in here and you get those insights with some serious entertainment.

    Look forward to more enthralling insights from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    If you liked The Night Circus...

    I love 'not quite knowing' where the author is taking me while still being thoroughly engaged.
    The writing is uncluttered, imaginative and smart. It 'felt' similar in style to The Night Circus. Certainly if you enjoyed that, read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    So far, so good

    I'm only halfway through, but would definitely recommend this for anyone who likes historical novels. Lots of good cultural detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Writing was good but story unraveled and left me very dissatisfi

    Writing was good but story unraveled and left me very dissatisfied with ending. Midway through the book the characters simply fell apart. Not enough explanation of the Octavo or the parts. This could have and should have been an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Intriguing plot gets too tangled up.

    I was really looking forward to delving into some labyrinthine twists & turns of plot, with the subject of card divination being one that seemed rife with possibilities. I followed the twists & turns until the subject matter turned to a weird & stuffy obsession that these women of the upper class had with their fans. I was totally turned off to think that they had nothing better to do than to play cards & covet each others' elaborately decorated fans, even to the point of theft & murder. This left me hung up halfway through the book. Hate to not finish a book, but couldn't get past these self-centered, trivial & repulsive characters! Sorry. It seems the author has some genuine potential, given a more reader-friendly subject!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Wonderful Story

    You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    why is the Kindle ebook $11.99?

    why is the Kindle ebook $11.99?

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1