Customer Reviews for

The Story

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Her Best Album Thus Far!

    I only just listened through this whole entire album only after I had listened all the way through her newest album, Give Up The Ghost. I had only ever heard select songs from this one before, because my ex/still great friend has the CD, and she would listen to some of it every now and then. Well, I had liked what I heard, and finally I downloaded it for my iPod. I loved it! This is a great album all the way through! Like it's follow up album, this is a great one for just driving down the highway, chilling, or just hanging out playing cards or a board game or something. Give Up The Ghost is great too, but this one is her best though so far I think, though I have not ever heard her debut album before, so I can't say for sure there, but of what I have heard, this one is by far my favorite so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Poets and Musicians

    The instrumentals are very good, but the lyrics are excellent. It reminds me of the Old Simon and Garfunkle days when, in addition to enjoying the music, you were meant to think about the words. Great stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy Brandi Right Now

    This is not for the lover of mainstream music but if you are into talented writing this will be one of the cd's that you can't get enough of. The music and lyrics reach right into your soul. I would say that this is a mix between Jewel, the Indigo Girls and Alanis but that is just my opinion. I know that the second song (The Story) brought tears to my eyes. It just touches a raw emotion in me and I think anyone could relate to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is Not Mainstream!

    In April 2006, I was on my honeymoon in Boston, and thought I was in luck when I found out Train was at the Orpheum. Brandi Carlile opened and I could not believe my ears. She was fantastic! I later bought THE STORY and am so glad that I did. Every one of the tracks is great, although I have my favorites. If you're looking for mainstream, this is not for you. When you listen, you can tell that this is a great team of songwriters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I have loved this album from the first note of Late Morning Lullaby. The songwriting is refreshing in a world of overproduced music. Her songs have touched me and will touch you too. Along with the twins she's unstoppable. I can't wait to see her in October.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy her CD - but see her live!

    I am a photographer who very luckily heard "the Story" just before Brandi was appearing in Boston on August 12th 2007. I had never heard that range of singing before. So I went to the concert to take pictures of her and her band, and I left TOTALLY amazed at her voice. I've been to many concerts, but seeing Brandi Carlile live is one of those rare moments you will never forget! Oh, I also got great pictures to complete the perfect experience. Since then, every person that I have had listen to her became instant fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    i guess she's talented. but she sounds like so many other people. i don't hear anything original in her. and the songs on this cd are just......average. and good lord, when she yodels, my ears want to fly off. in a bad way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Carlile's Vocal's would have astounded Roy Orbison

    CD Review: In an age which seems to display a notion that music is more about image over vocal strengths, Brandi Carlile is more than a breath of fresh air. Each song is a showcase of dynamic musicianship, from exceptional melodies to perfect harmonies. Her sound is smooth, confident, powerful,and achingly perfect. She exhibits dynamic musical instincts to punctuate the intended mood of her lyrics- smooth tones swooping notes heart-felt pitches emotionally pure vocal somersaults raw edges and an occasional soft vibrato. Carlile always seemed to nail it! Lending itself to Carlile's credibility as a noteworthy vocalist, is decison to reject Protool plug ins while recording her music. These plug ins are widely used in the music industry to correct the vocal faux pas and sour notes of today's most famous singers. Carlile chose to demonstrate her voice in an unusual straight-to-tape recording, keeping authenticity to the collection. What you hear IS exactly how it was delivered in the studio, without computer trickery. This pure method of recording provided the timeless feel, that Carlile strived to maintain. Still early in her career, Carlile's vocal dexterity already extends beyond most seasoned vocal icons. "The Story" is a shining example of her organic musical vision, and it has resulted in a herculean outcome. The CDs many strengths should swiftly propel Carlile among the finest in her genre. She has abundantly displayed her worth as a singer, musician, and lyricist. Most importantly, she has assumed a position as being "credible" and "authentic" among her peers in the music industry, and by those who know her work. ____________________________ Song Review: "Today Again". Don't underestimate this song! It has some of the disc's most vocally honest moments. The track begins as if the listener could be hearing Carlile's personal reflections, she asks "It's words that hurt the most, now , isn't it?" . Can one detect faint sarcasm? Onward, Carlile's vocal acrobats demonstrate a haunting poignancy, as she ponders "Whose going to break my fall, when the spinning starts?" It is her vocal splits and beautiful falsettos that superbly color these forlorn words, and would have left Roy Orbison feeling awe-struck. Each verse progresses, with a subtle tip-toeing crescendo...as if Carlile is leading you down the "path of least resistance" along with her...but don't be fooled. The climacting moment is an emphatically delivered protest "Not today...Not today!!!" ___________________________________ Additonal Songs: "Josephine" and "The Story". I was interested to learn that bandmates did not realize "Josephine" was being recorded, as they practiced the song in one microphone. It is that actual one time delivery that made it to the CD...perfectly sung in one take, from the first note to the very last. Harmonies were spot-on, and "the twins" proved their harmonic aptitude. The title song "The Story" speaks for itself. The song builds in strength to what many consider to be among the best highlights of the entire CD...the final chorus where Brandi's voice cracks. Despite the slip, Brandi pushed forward and belted out the remaining lyrics. She made the decison to keep it genuine, thus the technicality would stay. She validated the decison by describing the vocal mishap as "technically wrong, but emotionally right". Others have referred to it as song's "beautiful mistake". The nuances in this CD, is what contributes to this very fabulous and authentic collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Her voice will blow you away!

    I can't stop playing this CD. Brandi's voice is so pure and beautiful that I can't get enough of it. She's truely one of the best singer/songwriter's out today and I highly recommend this wonderful CD. Seeing her live is an even bigger joy, from the first note her voice has you captured. She's such a beautiful soul and a very gifted artist. Buy "The Story" today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Good Artistic Progression

    Carlile shows progression as a folk-rock artist on this second full-length album, with more complex song structures and a more mature sound. There are more electric guitars and more instrumentation on this record, giving it more of a band feel than her previous album, which was more acoustic and folk-oriented. At first listen this will not resonate as quickly as her last record, but listen to it a few more times and pay close attention to the lyrics and emotion of the songs, and you will learn to love it as much as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1