Customer Reviews for

The Story Factor: Inspiration, Influence, and Persuasion Through the Art of Storytelling

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    How to use 'once upon a time' all the time.

    Annette Simmons is thoroughly convincing in her assertion that the best way to influence and inspire others is to tell stories. Unfortunately, she is a bit heavy-handed on the 'why' of storytelling, which she explains in depth in every chapter, and a shade light regarding 'how' to accomplish her lofty goals. Simmons explains that telling people an engaging story is far more persuasive than reciting facts and figures, or showing a PowerPoint presentation. To illustrate her position, Simmons uses good stories and parables as examples. She describes the six categories of stories you can use to connect with and influence people, and she offers suggestions on how to become a prolific, entertaining storyteller. This is not a typical 'how-to' book with lists of things to do, but it is instructive and useful. We recommend it to anyone who is interested in the art of persuasion or who loves a good yarn.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    This is the single best book  out there on how storytelling can

    This is the single best book  out there on how storytelling can strengthen not just  any presentation but also our connections with other people and bring to light our common goals, interests and humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I will put this on my list of top ten books on personal developm

    I will put this on my list of top ten books on personal development. A how-to book on influencing others that begins with self-reflection and the integrity required to project authenticity and believability. This book is very well done, and I see how it earned its spot in the "100 Best Business Books of All Time."

    Much like Michael Jeffreys (who wrote Success Secrets of the Motivational Superstars) Annette Simmons is not a fan of technique. That is to say, she believes that only basic goodness, honesty, and strong character can produce influence. This book is not exactly a how-to book in the sense that it directs the reader on specific tips for becoming a better storyteller, but rather, encourages a new way of thinking – which is thinking non-linearly, from multiple perspectives, and away from facts.

    As author Annette Simmons notes, “People don’t want more information.  They are up to their eyeballs in information.  They want faith—faith in you, your goals, your success, in the story you tell.”

    Stories get past the rational, critical mind and mines deep down into our emotions at an unconscious level. A good story induces a state of trance whereby the critical conscious mind becomes engaged in the narrative, allowing the moral/meaning of the story to sink into the unconscious unchallenged. It then influences their perception, thoughts, feelings and behavior.

    I've had friends tell me they think storytelling is a strength of mine. After reading The Story Factor, I hope they are right. I know what I have to do to improve, anyway... and that is always a good thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    I have always liked this book; it is timely no matter if it's 19

    I have always liked this book; it is timely no matter if it's 1914 or 2014, stories have always been used
    as a teaching tool throughout the centuries.  This book jump starts the process and explains HOW to
    become a good story teller instead of merely giving vague clues as to how the average person can
    actually accomplish and succeed at getting a point across with a story.  Wish I could give a copy to my
    boss who cannot seem to motivate or connect with any of his employees!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    This is one of the must-have books for those who delve into busi

    This is one of the must-have books for those who delve into business, storytelling or both.  Simmons describes the six stories that we all need to make a difference in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    I recommend this book over and over and over-- to people applyin

    I recommend this book over and over and over-- to people applying for jobs to prepare for interviews, to managers and leaders, to parents teaching their children values, etc. A must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    This is a great book.  I have used it to teach storytelling, whe

    This is a great book.  I have used it to teach storytelling, when conducting workshops, and when I present information on the importance of story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Annette Simmons has written an informative book about using stor

    Annette Simmons has written an informative book about using storytelling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Brave and inspiring!

    Brave and inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    The Story Factor is not only a great read, but full of some of t

    The Story Factor is not only a great read, but full of some of the most powerful information you can get on how to influence any kind of conversation you are having, from the personal to mass engagement. I refer to this book often and consider it one of the best in my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    One of my favorite business books ever! And I've been reading th

    One of my favorite business books ever! And I've been reading them for 30 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Inspirational and fun to read!

    Inspirational and fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Don't buy from Barnes & Nobles

    I was under the mistaken impression that this came with an actual physical book, but it doesn't. And according to B&N policies there are no refunds on digital orders. Not only that it's more expensive than the Amazon version and DRMed so if you don't own a nook (which I don't) you can't put it on other devices and can only read it by going to the B&N website. Don't make the same mistake I did.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2