BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Story of Rose: A Man and His Dog

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Are you looking for a love story? How about one that speaks of

Are you looking for a love story? How about one that speaks of transformation and renewal? Trust? Then, this is the e-book for you.

Jon Katz's latest publication describes the beautiful relationshiip between two beings - one is human (Jon), the other canine (a bord...
Are you looking for a love story? How about one that speaks of transformation and renewal? Trust? Then, this is the e-book for you.

Jon Katz's latest publication describes the beautiful relationshiip between two beings - one is human (Jon), the other canine (a border collie named "Rose"). Rose possesses something quite special that Mr. Katz's cherishes and shares with his beautiful imagery that brings laughter and tears. The stories are ones of amazement and, in the end, gratitude.

Available in both standard and enhanced formats, I initially purchased the standard. Ten minutes later, I purchased the enhanced version because I wanted to meet this wonderful family. The photography is splendid. The videos allowed me to visit Bedlam Farm and "walk" with Jon as he narrates the pieces throughout the e-book. You need not be a dog-lover to appreciate the uniqueness of this bond. I adored this book. It's as simple as that. I believe you will, too!

posted by The_Daughter on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This story about Rosie is unbelievable. What an amazing dog! This writer was so fortunate to have had this beautiful expierence in his life. Dogs seem to have a sixth sense when it relates to people, they can tell the good from the bad. I write this from my own expi...
This story about Rosie is unbelievable. What an amazing dog! This writer was so fortunate to have had this beautiful expierence in his life. Dogs seem to have a sixth sense when it relates to people, they can tell the good from the bad. I write this from my own expierence with my dog.
If you are a dog lover, you will enjoy this book.

posted by 8429876 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Are you looking for a love story? How about one that speaks of

    Are you looking for a love story? How about one that speaks of transformation and renewal? Trust? Then, this is the e-book for you.

    Jon Katz's latest publication describes the beautiful relationshiip between two beings - one is human (Jon), the other canine (a border collie named "Rose"). Rose possesses something quite special that Mr. Katz's cherishes and shares with his beautiful imagery that brings laughter and tears. The stories are ones of amazement and, in the end, gratitude.

    Available in both standard and enhanced formats, I initially purchased the standard. Ten minutes later, I purchased the enhanced version because I wanted to meet this wonderful family. The photography is splendid. The videos allowed me to visit Bedlam Farm and "walk" with Jon as he narrates the pieces throughout the e-book. You need not be a dog-lover to appreciate the uniqueness of this bond. I adored this book. It's as simple as that. I believe you will, too!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Smart man: great dog

    As a dog rescuer, Jon Katz has always been one of my heros. He has the inate sense of what's right for the dog. No pity party, no excuses for inapporite behavior. Always what is best for the dogs who share his life.

    Rose was Rose, an exceptional dog.. but always a dog. Never considered a human in a fur coat.

    If more people had his dog insight.. considered the responsibilty that comes with owning, caring, and allowing a dog to be a dog. With training and understanding of what the dog needs, and not what, as humans, we need or expect from our dogs,there would be no need for shelters or rescues.

    No dog would be purchased on impulse, or be treated like an appliance that doesn't function as we expected, and discarded, as easily.

    Every dog that enters your life has something to teach you.. Not many people heed the lesson. Jon has shared what Rose taught. An incredible legacy for both Jon and Rose.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    highly recommended!

    Jon Katz captures the essence of his relationship with his border collie, Rose, in this original e-book written shortly after her death. It is truly a celebration of her life and the many contributions she made to his life and others'. It made me laugh, and cry, and feel better for having read it. Dog lovers everywhere will enjoy this inspiring story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    A must read

    This story is not just for dog lovers. A message for us all. Wonderful!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    This story about Rosie is unbelievable. What an amazing dog! This writer was so fortunate to have had this beautiful expierence in his life. Dogs seem to have a sixth sense when it relates to people, they can tell the good from the bad. I write this from my own expierence with my dog.
    If you are a dog lover, you will enjoy this book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Story of Rose

    Wonderful Jon Katz! What an Amazing Dog. Jon Katz is the best story teller ever. I have read all your books Jon and as always you deliver a great book. Following Rose ehen she was here was Amazing and now a book to remember a truly Great Dog!

    P Teehee

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The only reason that I'm not giving this all 5 stars is that it

    The only reason that I'm not giving this all 5 stars is that it is too short. I would have loved 2x as many pages, much more detail of Rose and all her encounters, adventures and her life. Jon takes us right into their lives and you can practically hear, smell and see the sheep and pastures. The emotions will be very familiar to all of us who love dogs and live with them. His frank and forthright writing of his personal struggles and triumphs are a joy to read and you appreciate his common sense and no-nonsense approach to taking care of business.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Highly recommend to anyone who loves animals

    I very much enjoyed the story of Rose and Jon Katz. The story made me laugh several times and unfortunately cry also. Rose was quite a remarkable dog.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Wonderful book to read if you love dogs and you understand their

    Wonderful book to read if you love dogs and you understand their deep commitment to their person!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Beautiful

    This story was both moving and sad. Lovely tale of an honest and gentle bond between human and animal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Such a good book

    Very heart warming

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    As a huge fan of Jon Katz' writing I have been anxiously awaitin

    As a huge fan of Jon Katz' writing I have been anxiously awaiting the release of "The Story of Rose". I'm a Border Collie owner myself and Rose has always been one of my favorite characters in his books. Her intensity, work ethic and intelligence have endeared her to me and I have been looking forward to reading more stories about this wonderful dog. This book was well worth the wait as Katz tells a poignant and heartwarming tale of his bond with this little dog with a huge heart. My only regret is that I don't have the right hardware to view the videos in the enhanced edition. Yet another great book from Jon Katz!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    A must read for dog lovers!

    I have read and enjoyed four previous books by Jon Katz and fell in love with Rose in the process. Recently when I "liked" Jon Katz on Facebook, I discovered this wonderful e-book jewel and was able to continue reading about Rose's amazing life. Rose's ability to communicate and to care for all those in her "flock" unconditionally every hour of every day touched me deeply. And of course, Jon Katz brought these stories to life in such a beautiful way ... sometimes I laughed or smiled and sometimes I cried and I must have looked at the photos at least 10 times. Thanks, Jon Katz, for sharing your life so openly with your readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Okay...

    Yes, the author plugs his blog and other books. Still, he brings to you the real 'pastoral' farm life and dog relationship more of us should experience at least once before we die. I don't recall an author who uses such seemingly plain language to convey such powerful messages as Katz does. Good dog! Good author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    The Story of Rose

    Wonderful telling of a man quietly struggling with his failing marriage and attempting to find peace in his life with his faithful,loyal dog at his side. Love Rose and wish more people could be as devoted as she was.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay

    Not what I was expecting. Thinking it was more of a story rather than a biography. Didn't finish it as it did not hold my attention. Would read if there was nothing else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Great read for every dog lover!

    Isn't it funny that Jon KATZ writes so extraordinarily well about DOGS...he captures the drive, eye, intelligence and beauty of a working border collie with perfection. Anyone considering bringing a border collie into his life should read this book to understand what the potential is. Anyone with a border collie already in his life will recognize at least some of the characteristics of his dog and understand the source. But in the meantime, Rose's story is wonderful, funny, and very touching, so a box of tissues will be in order while you read.
    I read this book on my Nook, and the pictures included with the text added to the story -- a real advantage of an electronic book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A great book for dog lovers

    Rose was a special dog that would do anything for her owner, no matter what the job was. This was written not only for Rose, but for the owner and finding himself, and learning the many lessons that dogs can teach us without our knowledge until later on in life. A great book to read and to help all of us find the real value of a dogs love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    the story of rose

    i am a dog lover and loved this book........it was a charming story of love and devotion of a man and his dog that he depended on. i highly recommend it for a change of pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Love it!

    This book is soooo very fasctinating! It is very interesting too. It has a lot of detail about the dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5