Customer Reviews for

The Storyteller

Average Rating 4.5
( 421 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

At times intense and disturbing. A story that challenges your th

At times intense and disturbing. A story that challenges your thoughts about good and evil and the mix of both in everyone. Is everyone worthy of redemption or do some go so far that they are unworthy of any level of compassion? Can you feel compassion and still hold pe...
At times intense and disturbing. A story that challenges your thoughts about good and evil and the mix of both in everyone. Is everyone worthy of redemption or do some go so far that they are unworthy of any level of compassion? Can you feel compassion and still hold people accountible for their actions? Can you see both the monster and the human - or by becoming a monster do you loose all pieces of your soul? Interesting characters - complex personalities where past and present meet. I've read a few reviews that express disappointment at the ending. I didn't feel that way - although I can see their point. I find the main character's final actions completely in line with who she is and her inner conflicts. However you feel about the ending, the story will stay with you and leave you thinking and -to me - that's a sign of a well written novel.

posted by anne_reads on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Perfect till the ending!

Jodi once again has written a book which demands a great deal of research! As I was reading, I was so entranced by the details of the time and how she integrated each characters story to allow the reader access to the characters point of view! Brilliantly written and as...
Jodi once again has written a book which demands a great deal of research! As I was reading, I was so entranced by the details of the time and how she integrated each characters story to allow the reader access to the characters point of view! Brilliantly written and as usual your biliary to put me in the scene was such a success as I could actually smell the bread baking! Nothing better than that smll!

Then it was as if someone else came along and took over writing the end of this book! I don't know if you were on a deadline and had to just put something down to finish, etc. however, after investing so much into this heartfelt story.....I was left with feeling as my time had been wasted. The ending is so rushed, gives zero indication why she would comply with Josef request! Why would she sneak out and make his wish come true is just preposterous!! Why would she jeopardize her relationship with Leo! I am not buying that the woman we got to know over the course of the story....would do this!
So back to my original question/observation....why was the ending of this book so rushed and nonsensical? I feel cheated! What started out as your best ever book...ended with a thud! Why?

posted by 4924260 on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Perfect till the ending!

    Jodi once again has written a book which demands a great deal of research! As I was reading, I was so entranced by the details of the time and how she integrated each characters story to allow the reader access to the characters point of view! Brilliantly written and as usual your biliary to put me in the scene was such a success as I could actually smell the bread baking! Nothing better than that smll!

    Then it was as if someone else came along and took over writing the end of this book! I don't know if you were on a deadline and had to just put something down to finish, etc. however, after investing so much into this heartfelt story.....I was left with feeling as my time had been wasted. The ending is so rushed, gives zero indication why she would comply with Josef request! Why would she sneak out and make his wish come true is just preposterous!! Why would she jeopardize her relationship with Leo! I am not buying that the woman we got to know over the course of the story....would do this!
    So back to my original question/observation....why was the ending of this book so rushed and nonsensical? I feel cheated! What started out as your best ever book...ended with a thud! Why?

    37 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    At times intense and disturbing. A story that challenges your th

    At times intense and disturbing. A story that challenges your thoughts about good and evil and the mix of both in everyone. Is everyone worthy of redemption or do some go so far that they are unworthy of any level of compassion? Can you feel compassion and still hold people accountible for their actions? Can you see both the monster and the human - or by becoming a monster do you loose all pieces of your soul? Interesting characters - complex personalities where past and present meet. I've read a few reviews that express disappointment at the ending. I didn't feel that way - although I can see their point. I find the main character's final actions completely in line with who she is and her inner conflicts. However you feel about the ending, the story will stay with you and leave you thinking and -to me - that's a sign of a well written novel.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I have been a faithful buyer of Jodi's books and have always enj

    I have been a faithful buyer of Jodi's books and have always enjoyed them on the Nook, however, this book is $2.53 cheaper on the Amazon Kindle. I will now be buying far less on the nook.

    14 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    This is not only the best book by Jodi Picoult, but one of the b

    This is not only the best book by Jodi Picoult, but one of the best books I have read period. In pure Picoult style, the twists and turns never end. Do not expect to be happy when reading a book on such a tragedy. This is a story that has to be told and is a do not miss if you are a fan of Picoult and Historical Fiction.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Brillant!

    I love all of Picoult's novels and The Storyteller is no exception. Jodi uses real life problems and executes them into brilliant novels. The holocaust should never be forgotten, nor should the victims. I could not put the book down! Once again, Bravo Jodi. Another great read!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    My favorite Picoult book yet!

    My favorite Picoult book yet!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    I have been reading down the bestseller list since I was a teen.

    I have been reading down the bestseller list since I was a teen. This is one of the best books I have ever read. It should be required reading in schools. I have read all of this author's books, and this is, by far, her best. Read it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The Storyteller

    Loved it. Worried why it wasn't more highly rated but I see as more time goes by, it's sneaking up there. Once again, Jodi has not let us down. I enjoyed this book, thoroughly. I highly recommend it. I really cannot understand why I read in another review that they had to stop to look up translations for German words. She was consistent with putting the English meaning for most, if not all, either by translation or they were implied (or described) in the sentences that followed. Fantastic read! Thanks, Jodi!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I agree with the review about perfect till the ending. There wer

    I agree with the review about perfect till the ending. There were several clues that led me to believe who Josef was before the end. Just a few more pages about Sage and Leo would have made me like this book better. It was a letdown.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Loved it

    Another great book by Jodi Picoult. I loved that this one was historical fiction and the first of hers that I can recall with no court battle at the end. Would love it if Picoult wrote more like this one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good read

    A good book but possibly another chapter or epilouge at the end would have been better!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The Storyteller

    What a powerful and amazing book! I am a huge Jodi Picoult fan and once again she did not dissappoint. Loved the ending! Highly recommend!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Interesting - Very good, but not great

    Hm. I'm trying to put my finger on what, exactly, kept me from loving this book.

    It wasn't the subject matter. I'm no stranger to books written about the Holocaust - whether they are historical fiction, biography, or written in the history vein. It wasn't the characters, either. I had my favorites (Minka and Leo, for sure), and the remaining characters were interesting enough - if sometimes slightly annoying and obtuse - on their own. It wasn't even the alternating story lines, which I sometimes struggle with, depending on the book. I actually loved the way each character's story wove together seamlessly with the other stories in the book, and was totally smitten by the story-within-the-story.

    So, what was it? I wish I knew. I honestly do. I really did like the story. There were a couple surprising moments that I didn't necessarily see coming (though I wouldn't be honest if I didn't say that I did see them coming right before they happened...) The characters were complex enough to be interesting, and to keep me from becoming frustrated by some of the things they said or did, or how they reacted.

    The things that Sage had to work her way through were enormous on their own - forgiveness, empathy, judgment, religion and hypocrisy - not to mention the ugly side of love and understanding yourself. I don't know that I was that strong or wise or ballsy at 25. Hell, I don't think I'm that strong or wise or ballsy at cough,cough!

    I don't know. Like I said, I did really like the story. It was different and written in a voice that made me hurt right along with the characters, which is something I always strive to find in a good book. It had me guessing, it made me think - how would I react to Josef? To Minka? To Adam or Leo? - and it made me ponder things that I've learned, or heard, or read.

    So, yes. It should be a five star review. And yet...it isn't. And I just don't know why.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great story!

    First, the subject matter of this book is certainly a dark one. Reading some of it brought tears to my eyes. I have always enjoyed Jodi's books for her spin on tough situations and her dedication to the research. I feel she did a great job relaying the horror of the holocaust and creating relatable characters. That being said, I just couldn't give this book a full 5 stars for two reasons. First, part 2 was exceptional and definitelty essential. However, by the time we came back to the main story in part 3 it seemed like so long since we were there that it felt disjointed. Secondly, the ending did seem rushed to me. I wish there had been more to it. Overall, however, a remarkable book and I would certainly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I could not stop reading this book.

    This book was well written and stayed with me long after i finished. Minka's story was hearbreaking and horrifying. And in her usual style the twist enng was shocking. I highly recommend his book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great read

    Coouldnt put it dowm! One of her best

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Love love love! Probably one of my favorites from Jodi. Couldn't

    Love love love! Probably one of my favorites from Jodi. Couldn't put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Holy Cow..This was so great !!

    You have got to read this book. I couldn't put it down,read it in 4 days. Thank you so much...I also loved the history..Thank you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Not a Jodi fan, but found this book to have certain aspects of g

    Not a Jodi fan, but found this book to have certain aspects of great story telling. There is evidence of intensive research which plays out in the story of Minka. Not crazy about the continuing thread of story telling of Minka's imaginary tale but it does all come together in the very rushed end. This is an ok read if you follow Picoult.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This was an amazing book. Jodi Picoult never lets you down. To hear the details of the Holocaust and all that they went through, was beyond belief.
    Very well written.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22